We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa

Save
Share
Nordatlanten 100, Gothenburg 418 34 Sweden
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$132
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
$126
View deal
Booking.com
Priceline
Arken Hotel$144
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (279)
Dining (39)
Room & Suite (34)

About

#40 of 59 hotels in Gothenburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Gothenburg, Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its charming environment and proximity to great attractions, Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa makes it easy to enjoy the best of Gothenburg.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer air conditioning, and you can stay connected during your stay as Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa offers guests free wifi.

The hotel features 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and room service. Plus, Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa offers a pool and free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

While in Gothenburg be sure to experience local lobster favourites at Restaurang Sjomagasinet.

During your visit, be sure to check out popular attractions like Southern Goteborg Archipelago (0.8 mi) and Alvsborgs Nya Fastning (0.6 mi), which are all within walking distance of the hotel.

Whether you’re travelling for business, pleasure or both, Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa is sure to make your visit to Gothenburg one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Billiards
Books, DVDs, music for children
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Light therapy
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Steam room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Hair dryer
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese and 1 more
569Reviews3Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 154
  • 183
  • 128
  • 70
  • 34
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Amir M wrote a review Jun 2022
Gothenburg, Sweden3 contributions3 helpful votes
Risk of rubbery. A dangerous place to be. We were in the Spa and we have been asked to put our mobile and other stuff in the locker but the thieves stole our stuff. This happened in the mid-May and reported to police. The staff were not responsible while they forced us to put our phones in the lockers. No one from Hotel helped us to ease our pain. Such a terrible and horrific experience
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Håkan Sedbo, General Manager at Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa
Responded 10 Jun 2022
Hi Amir! I have to start to say that I am really sad and sorry that we had this experience with the thief, who the police caught later that day. I know and understand that this situation was stressful and has created many problems for you but I must say that I am feeling a bit provoked when I read what you have wrote. First of all, this is not a dangerous place to be, far from it. We had the bad luck that the thief chosen this hotel this time and the next time it will be another one, sorry to say but that is the ugly truth now a days. Second of all, is that you wrote that no one from the hotel had helped you. You and I have been spoken to each other several of times and your money for that package you bought has been resent to you. Håkan Sedbo General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
F-R wrote a review Dec 2021
Auckland, New Zealand116 contributions53 helpful votes
Beautiful few hours in the spa, outdoor jacuzzi, steam room, stone sauna, ice sauna, light therapy room, dark therapy room . Great to chill out and unwind. Lunch included in the package which was great, light and full of flavour. Very enjoyable
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Håkan Sedbo, General Manager at Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa
Responded 27 Feb 2022
Hi and thank you for your lovely review! We hope that we will have you as guests again in i near future. BR Håkan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ove S wrote a review Jul 2021
Jerusalem, Israel605 contributions213 helpful votes
Stayed 2 nights and in general we enjoyed ourselves. HOWEVER we didn't sleep a minute as our rooms were like a sauna. We knew it was a spa hotel but didn't realize that this included the rooms as well...... ;( It was extremely warm outside and the sun made sure to heat our rooms until late evening. Amazing that a hotel in "the civilization" in 2021 still does not have AC as standard in the rooms. For what we paid it should be expected......
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Boteus, General Manager at Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa
Responded 29 Jul 2021
hello Ove S, Thank you for sharing your experience from your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the spa and your stay in general. It has been extremely warm in Sweden the last couple of weeks with temperatures above 28 degrees and that is a bit difficult for our ventilation to handle. I hope you despite this will visit us again in the future. Best regards, Maria Botéus
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Felix C wrote a review Jul 2021
Kristianstad, Sweden2 contributions
Called 2 days in advance when I saw there was no Spa included. No answer then called 1 day in advance but no answer. Was trying to book dinner and spa but no answer. At the reception there was no understanding of the problems more than that "many calls" So no spa and a rushed dinner because of only short time to eat.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The hotel is out of the city and if your not eating or getting any spa i would not go.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Boteus, General Manager at Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa
Responded 30 Jul 2021
Hello 735felixc, Thank you for your review, if you make a reservation through a 3:rd party such as Booking.com etc it is only for the accomodation and not the spa. We have a hectical summer with many telephone calls all the time, so that is why you couldnt reach us by telephone probably. However it is always possible to email as well. I hope you will try in us again in the future, and then with a package that includes spa and dinner as well. Best regards, Maria Botéus
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tim wrote a review Feb 2020
33 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Great place to relax for a few days. The spa is great and the food is good. The staff is friendly and the WiFi is free. The Rooms are not that big and the view from the spa is not the best. The gym is decent but very small.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Almira T wrote a review Jan 2020
Gothenburg, Sweden85 contributions7 helpful votes
We had spa brunch on Sunday and it was packed! The food slot we received 13:30 and they started removing the some of the food at 14:00. It was very crowded. It was impossible to use any of the stations other than the pools. Even the pools were crowded. The food was burnt. If you are looking for a relaxing spa, do not go here. This is an excellent spa for hotel guests who can shower in their own room. The showers are few for us non-hotel visitors. The changing rooms are anxiety inducing and claustrophobic. There is barely any room for even a small bag in the lockers. There was a queue to the calm rooms, the dark room and basically everything else. That is the worse thing to experience at a spa. The plus: despite being loud and crowded, it was clean and beautiful setting.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Brian F wrote a review Jan 2020
Randers, Denmark419 contributions149 helpful votes
Location is in an industrial area. Didn’t mean that much to me, in this business trip. However, the small room was claustrophobic.. but with tv and coffee facilities. Nice reception area is nice with great atmosphere. So is the restaurant and menu. Try the Röksmörgäs. Breakfast area and the Quality is fine. Didn’t try the spa.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
SlingerJansen wrote a review Jan 2020
Boston, Massachusetts43 contributions25 helpful votes
Contrary to what its pictures suggest, this hotel is slap dash right in the middle of a harbor area. We booked Arken as a romantic getaway, where we could walk around in nature, visit the spa, and have a good time. However, upon arrival you discover that the hotel is located in an industry area, has tiny rooms, and overall is of an unattractiveness that I've only seen in more industry areas in Asia. Also, the service was not great. I've had to walk back to my room (which was very far from the reception) several times to check things online that the hotel offered, which turned out to be wrongly told by the reception personnel. After one noisy night we decided to stay in the city. The fact that there is Virtual Yoga also surprised us. No real yoga teacher, just a youtube playing on a big screen in a nice room in the spa. A lot of facade, but not a nice hotel for couples.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
MikkelKuster wrote a review Dec 2019
Copenhagen, Denmark4 contributions
Conference hotel and NOT the cosy boutique hotel they would like to be! The spa is nice, nothing fantastic, but nice and clean. Restaurant is fine, nothing special, but good service and decent food. The hotel is a study in itself - I would call it a mix between a Motel and a Conference Center. In some places they have tried to make it cosy with soft furnitures "boutique style" but it doesn't make it a Boutique Hotel! Bad stuff -Average/bad service -A little to cold (cold wind from the central heating system) in the common areas -Expensive food and drinks -To much noice from to many people from conferences - in common areas and lobby -Rooms are VERY small (we booked a "Small" room though) - first room we got was without heating, second room was not cleaned properly and had dirty towels -Location is in the middle of an industrial port area Good stuff -Spa was okay -Breakfast was okay
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The "Small" rooms are VERY small if you are two persons
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Connollryanc wrote a review Nov 2019
3 contributions
The hotel is set in an industrial areas (The main port) where it is nestled into the rock (not the tranquile setting you think when you look out of your pool at ships) The receptions could do with a bit of customer service training as they were so unhelpful it was like you dragged them from bed to do there job. Note to the wise because customer service wont tell you this. We booked an evening spa session (because the 2 pool spa was fully booked out the next day - Yes just because you are a guest in the hotel doens't mean you actully have any rights to using the facilities you pay through the nose for) when we did we told the reception we have just traveled for 4 hours to get her and were peckish, if the resturant was open for food. She told us yes but you have to hurray as they are
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Suites are big but the bathrooms are rubbish the shower curtain is straigh out of a camp site
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$129 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
BEST WESTERN Arken Hotell & Konferenscenter
LOCATION
SwedenWest CoastVastra Gotaland CountyGothenburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
149
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARKEN HOTEL & ART GARDEN SPA (Gothenburg) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa?
Nearby attractions include Southern Gothenburg Archipelago (6.8 km), Gothenburg Escape Game (7.8 km), and Botanical Garden (7.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Daawat, Bord 27, and Indian Masala - Indisk Restaurang Goteborg.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, and Swedish.