We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

ProfilHotels Hotel Opera

TripAdvisorUS$ 118*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 134*
US$ 118*
Great Deal
US$ 126*
US$ 126*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

869 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 322: English reviews
Start your review of ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
 Click to rate
England
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stated here for 3 nights over Gothenburgs busiest weekend , that if the Varvet or half marathon . The hotel was full , our room was clean and comfortable and staff friendly and welcoming . There was a sign in the lift advising guests the hotel was full and pointing out the busy times for breakfast . Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulWilliamson
hamburg.germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel, centrally located, great breakfast, nice amenities (like free coffee) - recommended. Absolutely downside of the Hotel are the Standard Rooms. Today it is no more acceptable, in this category and for the price paid, to offer rooms without hairdryer, minibar, safe and airconditioning. - like the cheapest budget hotels. Also mouldy, outdated bathrooms are not acceptable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaykayham
Johan S, Hotelldirektör at ProfilHotels Hotel Opera, responded to this review

Dear Jay, Nice to see that you enjoyed our location and the breakfast. Sorry however to hear taht you did not like the room. The standard rooms are well equipped and are all located in the Modern part of the hotel. You had instead booked a room in our Classic part of the hotel where the standard is a little...

Lake Forest, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not at all a 4 star hotel. The creepy dark hallway to my room smelled horrible. It smelled like a mixture of bleach, ammonia, and nail polish remover. It was so strong, it overpowered you the second you got out of the tiny elevator. The smell came into my room which was horrible. So glad i was only there for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bir52292
Johan S, Hotelldirektör at ProfilHotels Hotel Opera, responded to this review

Hi, Sorry that we did not reach your expectations. You had booked one of our cheapest rooms and it is unfortunately so that when you pay less you receive less. I would love to see you as our guest again but then in our Modern part of the hotel where all rooms are equipped with fridge, safe and coffee/tea making...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is an ok choice for a central location. Nothing special, though. The breakfast is very good. Gym very small and dark in cellar felt a bit creapy for a woman alone and I decided not to go there after one time using it. Too bad the spa was so small and so expensive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T6595NBemilys
Johan S, Hotelldirektör at ProfilHotels Hotel Opera, responded to this review

Dear Emily, Thank you for your feedback. Nice to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and location. The Wellness area is free of charge when you book your room directly to the hotel. Kind regards Johan Sandström, General Manager

Paris, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent staff great service, location was perfect for my needs and most personnel were friendly. I highly recommend this hotel for short stays in Gothenburg. This was the completion of a two month journey through Europe and my stay here leaves good memories

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn V
Johan S, Hotelldirektör at ProfilHotels Hotel Opera, responded to this review

Dear Glenn, I´m so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Opera. Hope to see you here soon again. Kind regards Johan Sandström, General Manager

Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Very easy and quick access to the Hotel from the Central Station and the Central Bus Station. The staff was very friendly and willing to help. Only the room was a little bit small as well as the bed, but we stayed only one night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KostasDachau
Johan S, Hotelldirektör at ProfilHotels Hotel Opera, responded to this review

Dear Kostas, Thank you for staying at Hotel Opera. Great to see that you liked our location and friendly staff. Sorry for the small room but if you return we have plenty of rooms that are larger. Kind regards Johan Sandström, General Manager

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We opted for this hotel as we had an early morning ferry to take the next day. We had a cosy room where we were able to get a good nights sleep. Great transport links and a good breakfast. Friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sinbad02
Johan S, Hotelldirektör at ProfilHotels Hotel Opera, responded to this review

Dear Sinbad, Thank you for staying at Hotel Opera and it´s great to see that you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back Johan Sandström, General Manager

Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

My room was really small with the view on the wall of the hotel next door. The bathroom was horrible (see pictures). The restaurant room and the breakfast were nice but the tables were always tidy (full of crambles, without any tablecloth). I have spent there 5 days and the staff serving breakfast was always wearing dirty kitchen aprons. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M B
Johan S, Hotelldirektör at ProfilHotels Hotel Opera, responded to this review

Dear M B, Sorry to hear that we did not reach your expectations. You had booked a room in our Classic part of the hotel witch has lower standard then the rooms in the Modern part but the rooms are also 300 SEK cheaper. These bathrooms will be refurbished during 2017 but the rooms are refurbished only 4 years ago....

warwick, new york
Reviewed 1 April 2017

I was pleasantly surprised to be checked in early as I arrived by Ferry and thought I would have to store my bags a while. The ferry is a 150 SEK trip by taxi.The staff is the hotels greatest asset. They are friendly and will spend time drawing maps and giving you directions. The bartender was a good conversationalist and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joe s
Johan S, Hotelldirektör at ProfilHotels Hotel Opera, responded to this review

Dear Joe, Thank you for staying at Hotel Opera and it´s nice to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and in Gothenburg.. Welcome back. Kind regards Johan Sandström, General Manager

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel has a good location with friendly staff but it is nothing too special. The pool and spa area was very small and it was complicated to have to get a key and it did not work every time. Nice vibe in general though

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
Johan S, Hotelldirektör at ProfilHotels Hotel Opera, responded to this review

Dear Joe, Thank you for your feedback. Nice to see that you liked our friendly staff and that the vibe in general was nice. Kind regards Johan Sandström, General Manager

181 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (162)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 km away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,178 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Eggers
Hotel Eggers
#28 of 67 in Gothenburg
236 reviews
0.2 km away
First Hotel G
First Hotel G
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.2 km away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
227 reviews
0.6 km away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 star hotel in the heart of Gothenburg. The hotel features a lobby bar and lounge, a wellness area with jacuzzi, steam bath and sauna. Wireless internet free of charge. The business, superior and deluxe rooms are located in the new building. The hotel also has a 3-star older part with comfortable accommodation at discounted rates. Public car-parking at reduced rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about ProfilHotels Hotel Opera

Address: 23 Nils Ericsonsgatan, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Price Range: ₹ 7,752 - ₹ 18,410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ProfilHotels Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your ProfilHotels Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Gothenburg
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ProfilHotels Hotel Opera staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Oslo, Norway

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from ProfilHotels Hotel Opera staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Please ask for Bigger Beds”
KostasDachau, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I was offered quiet or noisy room”
320MikeB320, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“fresh and rich breakfasts”
STARZTelavi, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front can be noisy with the trams, but have the view. Rooms at the back are quieter”
C5518DTandyc, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check size of room before booking. We paid about £100 pn and got small room. We asked for a quiet room which we definitely got.”
P2374CRmarys, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 118* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$ 126
Hotwire.comUS$ 126
CancelonUS$ 134
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates