We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Scandic Europa Gothenburg

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

985 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Scandic Europa Gothenburg
See the most recent reviews
Showing 352: English reviews
Arad, Romania
Reviewed 29 April 2014

First the location of this hotel pays everything - everything is on reach - train station, a bit of walk in the city... The hotel is clean and well equipped - the rooms are with modern furniture. Breakfast is also with a big variety of choices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RalM_1979
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello RaIM_1979 Thank you very much for your feedback, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you left the hotel with a positive experience. Please make sure to visit us again to experience our new restaurant & bar that is due to open in october, i promise it will be an even better...

Fredrikstad, Norway
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Spent some days here during easterholliday. Nice room,very Nice staff and great location. One step out the door and you are in Nordstad mall. Here u can find anything u wanna shop. Only thing i missed in the room was either a coffee maker or a waterheater coz u have to buy yr coffee in the reception if u want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnjaHelene
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Hello AnjaHelene Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Scandic Europa and the we met your expectations. I hope that you are planning to return within the coming months to experience the new Scandic Europa, the entire renovation is finished in October, however, there's plenty of exciting things...

Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Great location opposite Central Station & adjacent to a Mall with stores & fast food places but easy to get further afield. Clean on arrival but housekeeping very lax. No vacuuming or clean mugs for our entire 3 night say. The only service was emptying bin & clean towels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lellycancan
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Dear Lellycancan Thank you very much for the time taken to review your stay at Scandic Europa. I am pleased that you find the location ideal, however it is apparent that we have failed in delivering an adequate service in regards to the cleaning of your room during your stay. I will look into this matter and discuss with my...

Zadar, Croatia
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel is on good Location. Thay have category 4* but this hotel is Just good 3* hotel. Thay dont have bar, thay dont have mini bar In the room. I Travel a lot but this is first time that i dont have towel to put on the floor In bathroom. This is my first and the last time In this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TOMISLAV F
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Dear Tomislav Thank you very much for your time taken to revert to us with feedback regarding your last stay with us. It is apparent that have failed to meet your expectations which is highly unfortunate. We will bring your valuable comments with us as areas of improvement and hope to be able to welcome you back to Scandic Europa...

Reviewed 4 February 2014

If you want to be close to the mall and dont need public transportation to go to main restaurants, this is a good option. The lobby and restaurant needs some updates, since it is quite old. SOme of the rooms (I dont know if all) had been improved/renewed. Breakfast with many options

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eromir
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your views about Scandic Europa. With regards to the restaurant and lobby area I am pleased to inform that we will unveil the new Scandic Europa shortly that will most definetely contribute to a very positive impresison once you return. I hope that you have continued faith in our hotel...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I booked this hotel for a 1 night stay in Gothenburg on Expedia, based on the hotel and flights being £150 (my budget), the reviews were all ok for it, but based on it being at the lower end of the price range I did not really have very high expectations. It was opposite the train terminal (which I did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review of Scandic Europa. It is always a pleasure to receive encouraging feedback which we proudly take with us for the future. I am sure that you will be even more positively surprised when you return and experience the new and refurbished Scandic Europa. Kind regards.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Nice hotel with a good location close to the central train station and inside the heart of Gothenburg. I hotel is being renovated in parts although this did not really cause an issue and I feel the hotel looked after the guests well during this time. The room was a good size with everything you need. I felt the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eblac
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback and time taken to highlight some obvious mistakes on our part. It is unfortunate to read that we have been lacking in attention with regards to the cleanliness. However, i am pleased to also learn that you found the hotel pleasant from other perspectives. Nevertheless, we have adressed the issues and are following...

Villefranche-sur-Saone, France
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Strange room cleaning. Glasses not change, tower not well put on the support again, bed badly redo. I have alerted the reception but they explain it was the new standard. Never see that in an hotel. The good point is that the Quality responsible has wrote me and will discuss with the direction about this new standard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurentnathalie
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Thank you very much for highlighting the issues during your last stay with us. It appears as if we have faulted in our communication regarding the cleaning standards, kindly rest assured that our procedures are according to Scandic policies. I apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us and i hope to be able to welcome you back...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This place is excellent located in the heart of Gothenburg, the service was nice, and the rooms were very good. However, there are two main concerns. First of all there were quite a large amount of old Cheese doodles under my bed and one of the chairs in my room. Then, this is why I have to give this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very grateful that you have pointed out two instances where we have failed din our service delivery. I bring this with me for the future and will look into our routines. Constructive feedback like yours helps us in evaluating how we are performing, I hope to be able to welcome you...

Reviewed 30 November 2013

The hotel is smack on top of a large shopping mall, opposite the central station of Gothenburg, which makes it ideal if you're arriving late or leaving early. Rooms are clean, though perhaps 15-20 years behind modern decoration trends. My room had an enormously boring office view, even though it was on the top floor. The staff was efficient, very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dhmacher
Jakob W, Manager at Scandic Europa Gothenburg, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Scandic Europa. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel and our services and we also hope to be able to welcome you back within the near future. We are continuously working on improving our services and matching our guests expectations, therefore we are grateful...

427 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (165)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Pool and Sauna (27)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Standard King Room (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.0 km away
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
#35 of 68 in Gothenburg
760 reviews
0.4 km away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#31 of 68 in Gothenburg
783 reviews
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#20 of 68 in Gothenburg
197 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Eggers
Hotel Eggers
#30 of 68 in Gothenburg
181 reviews
0.2 km away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#9 of 68 in Gothenburg
2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Scandic Europa Gothenburg

Address: 21 Nils Ericsonsgatan, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Price Range: ₹ 7,693 - ₹ 15,791 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Europa Gothenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Europa Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Europa Gothenburg Hotel Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Hotel Gothenburg
Gothenburg Scandic Europa Hotel
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#31 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Europa Gothenburg staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Europa Gothenburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are well kept and maintained.”
 of 5 bubbles Marlyn_Deleon, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Mid - High floor facing facing the front and not backing onto the offices.”
 of 5 bubbles 696JOHNTHOMAS, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at another hotel ;)”
  • Who doesn't like dirty grease and earlier guest's hair in their bathroom?
  • Nice spots like these were found on all shiny surfaces in the bathroom.
  • No light for you! NEXT!
  • Where's the mini bar?
 of 5 bubbles mindinconflict, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with street view, if you like a view. Might be car noice, but chose that then back side with offices looking into the room.”
  • Room 374
  • Room 374
  • Room 374
  • Room 374
  • Room 374
  • Room 374
  • Room 374
  • Room 374
 of 5 bubbles Aksel, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 401 is a Superior Extra”
  • Room 401 - Superior Extra
  • Room 401 - Superior Extra
  • Room 401 - Superior Extra
  • Room 401 - Superior Extra
  • Room 401 - Superior Extra
 of 5 bubbles SilverFang13, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay