We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Scandic Hotel Opalen

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Scandic Hotel Opalen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

837 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Scandic Hotel Opalen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 243: English reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Very nice place fronting cinema. Can reach any place as buses and trams are nearby. Calm and comfortable area. Nice reception. Apples available on reception. Rooms tidy and spacy. Good services. Staff with smile and cooperative. Helping and guiding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mohammad I
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

A day in Radical Collaboration learning. An excellent spot and really good conference rooms. Good service with nice breakfast buffet and in between snacks. The lunchroom and lunch buffet with choices of fish, meat or vegetarian food was lovely. A well sorted salad buffet is also included and followed with a wide choice of pudding tea and coffee. Well worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KessSmitten
Borlange, Sweden
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Stayed one night, 18-19th of august in a economy room. - Perfect location in the centre of Gothenburg with lots of entertainment around the corner and within walking distance. Parking available but quite expensive at about 250SEK per night. - Reception staff was friendly and helpful. - Room was perfectly fine with two beds and an armchair bed along with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jocke H
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Prices for hotels in Gothenburg in general were not cheap, this cost us around £120 for one night... the check-in was designated at 1400, but the room wasn't ready until 40 minutes later, not a big deal, but there were four other groups of guests with the same problem... an apology would have sufficed but the receptionist just lie and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlexandeCameron
OpalenGuestRelations, Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hi AlexandeCameron, thank you for taking your time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. I´m sad to hear that your latest stay was such a disappointment. I can however give you the great news that we are about to renovate our hotel during 2017 so I hope that you in the future want to come back to us again....

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 16 August 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 691alfa
Mariestad, Sweden
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Have tried other Scandic and this one was very dissapointing. The room was so small, felt old and almost dirty. The room had permanent lights that made sleeping hard. The breakfast was very good, fresh and had a lot of options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elifood
OpalenGuestRelations, Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hi Elifood, thank you for taking your time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. I´m sad to hear that your latest stay was such a disappointment. I can however give you the great news that we are about to renovate our hotel during 2017 so I hope that you in the future want to come back to us again....

Warszawa
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We spent 4 nights in Scandic Opalen, in superior plus room. Hotel is quite OK, however, there were some minor issues. Hotel is conveniently located, in the middle of the entertainment district of Gothenburg, next to Avenyn, Liseberg and Scandinavium. It is a plus, but also a minus, because the hotel lobby is like a railway station – all day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marek79
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

I normally spend 30-40 nights per year on various Scandic hotels in Scandinavia. This was a so called "free night" using loyalty points. We were passing through Gothenburg on our final days of our holidays and our anniversary.To go out for dinner, do some shopping etc. Arriving we first get a double room with a queen size bed. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keja60
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Having not booked a hotel until we landed we picked this hotel up for around £70 a night. The hotel manager was willing to match the price we found online for us to book directly with him. The reception staff were very friendly and even helped us write a wedding card in Swedish. The room was clean and comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jobisagoodone
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Friendly from desk. Not as good quality in regards to my room compared to Scandic Continental in Stockholm - I probably cost me more😰. This hotel nearby a movie theater and if your watching a football a big event here it 7min walking distance. Gothenburg overall you can bike all over the city, train accessibility if also there, walking best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raysixtus
OpalenGuestRelations, Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hi Raysixtus, thank you for taking your time to give us a review on Tripadvisor and for your description of our location. I´m sad to hear that your latest stay was such a disappointment. I can however give you the great news that we are about to renovate our hotel during 2017 so I hope that you in the future...

187 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (149)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.5 km away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#28 of 68 in Gothenburg
750 reviews
0.8 km away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#32 of 68 in Gothenburg
786 reviews
0.5 km away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#22 of 68 in Gothenburg
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#14 of 68 in Gothenburg
3,547 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Lorensberg
Hotel Lorensberg
#41 of 68 in Gothenburg
157 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#10 of 68 in Gothenburg
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Price Range: ₹ 5,926 - ₹ 13,145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#28 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Hotel Opalen staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Toledo, Ohio
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Hotel Opalen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Premium/VIP rooms are not much more expensive and get you a room on the top floor with bigger windows.”
  • View from 13th floor room (north)
  • View from 13th floor room (north)
 of 5 bubbles dhmacher, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The higher up the better views you get”
 of 5 bubbles jockeh2015, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on floors 9-13 are new and have panoramic views.”
  • Panoramic view from room 1226
  • Panoramic view from room 1226
  • Gothenburg by night
 of 5 bubbles Marek79, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not near elevators”
 of 5 bubbles Miketapio, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I go for higher rooms for peace and quiet but no other advantages”
 of 5 bubbles madhatterWales, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay