We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Ångkraftsvägen 14, Västerås 721 31 Sweden
Lowest prices for your stay
$194
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$194
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Booking.com
Priceline
Agoda.com$250
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1476)
Dining (233)
Room & Suite (162)

About

#1 of 15 hotels in Västerås
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A 100 year old steam power plant turned hotel destination and spa. Welcome to The Steam Hotel in Westeros just by beautiful lake Mälaren, 55 minutes from Stockholm.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid public parking on-site
Street parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Rooftop bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Swedish
3966Reviews8Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,479
  • 960
  • 338
  • 133
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Emerson G wrote a review Oct 2022
Jundiai, SP802 contributions486 helpful votes
Great hotel with nice environment from the reception to the last floor bar. The architects did a great job merging the old steam plant into a very pleasant hotel. Room and bed very nice ( hard cushion, which I like ..) breakfast buffet is also well displayed and prepared The bar in the last floor was a great surprise which few but nice food and local beer.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
WPHansson wrote a review Sep 2022
Stockholm, Sverige9 contributions
Good: The staff at the restaurant at ground level was pleasant and nice, both in the evening and in the morning. Great work! The beds were ok. The "mood-staff", that are there only for helping the guests out are fabulous. Bad · We've never been so fooled during check-in at a hotel that we thought had aspiration. We had bought the most premium room available (it wasn't the best room in the house, but the best available - a Premium Room with a city view), and we really needed this one evening night break from hard work. During checkin we were however "upgraded" to a corner room. Off course we were pleased with the offer of "a bigger corner room", and especially at one of the top floors. Everyone who travels for at least a little bit, normally thinks that a corner room at least has windows to both directions (what's the purpose of a corner room otherwise :) ), and I guess the most of us imagine having a view of this corner. We didn't have any view at all! Our "upgrade" had one tiny small window directly at the entrance, and no windows at all in the actual room! We visited this hotel when it was brand new, and it was a true pleasure. The staff was in general so professional and welcoming, and we've given the hotel so many recommendations after that. It's sad to see how the hotel has lost it's way, and lost it's ambitions. To be balanced, in general everyone is really trying to be nice (except for the person that "upgraded us", but the hotel need to find it's way back in terms of service. In the picture you can see the upgraded "corner room" on floor 16.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask if there are windows, and where the windows are located
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Steam Hotel
Responded 20 Sep 2022
Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback, we really appreciate it and we strive to give our guests the best experience here at steam hotel. I apologize what happened to you regarding the room, our intention was only kindness but the outcome did not land right here. We really hope to see you here again and when it’s time for your next visit you are welcome to contact me directly at gem@steamhotel.se so I can help out with choosing a room that has a different view. Best regards Steam hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Frida Ringblom wrote a review Aug 2022
Stockholm, Sweden913 contributions143 helpful votes
+1
Our second time visiting The Steam Hotel and this time we booked the experience The View. We were happily surprised with the concept and the check in process was one of the smoothest I have ever experienced. We got to go up to the sky bar, got a drink and then the staff came by and checked us in. Had a really nice and spacious room, the bed was quite hard but we slept so good. The pool club is nice but it is very crowded and some even had trouble finding somewhere to sit. The menu available did not have much to offer, would like to see an update on that. Dinner at the sky bar with different starters, such as Shrimp taco, tuna tartar, steak tartar. Main as Bao Buns and dessert. The entire staff were super friendly during our entire stay. Tasty drinks. Breakfast was also served in the sky bar, loved the concept of á la carte, getting to choose different options and not have to deal with the buffét. Would gladly book the package again. No complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Recommend you choose a room with a view facing the water, very calming and beautiful.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Martin J wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
My girlfriend surprised me with one night stay and dinner at Steam and oh my god it was amazing! We had so much fun and we relaxed so hard we felt like we had to move our legs and be adventurous so we went for karaoke and drinks! Our 7 course meal was spot on and our waitress Tamara was next level professional but made it feel like she was our friend. Can’t wait for our next visit!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tavakoli wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Great hotel, child friendly with many different activities. High quality food and service. Lovely ocean view. Close to the big attraction ”actionbad” a waterplace with different attractions such as VR dive etc.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Farzan wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Amazing place to relax and have fun, I would recommend everyone to get the view package. Staff on the 18th floor and ground floor are very friendly, social and professional. One area that I felt lacked service was the pool area, I felt like their body language and facial expressions Ruined my pool experience. The girl behind the counter was so grumpy and didn’t want answer our questions. But except the pool area, the staff are amazing! A big thank you to Omid on the ground floor, to Clara at the front desk, to Caroline and Fidelie on the 18th floor, and the rest off the staff who made our stay a wonderful experience. Let me add that the Hotel is great, but it’s the staff that makes the hotel and the experience an amazing one.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Emilen E wrote a review Feb 2022
Vancouver, Canada31 contributions9 helpful votes
Love the aesthetics of this hotel, but if you like to arrive on time, make sure to give yourself an extra 5-10mins for waiting time if you leave your room. Would’ve given it a 5 otherwise. This was my second stay here on a weekend and the same inconveniences still applied: If you’re checking in, expect to line up. And then expect another long wait at the elevator to head up your room. If you arrive to breakfast at your reserved time, expect to line up before getting seated. If you plan to use the elevator, expect to wait longer than you’d ever anticipate waiting for a hotel elevator. Took the stairs on a few occasions because 3 elevators passed that were totally full. I’ve been to spa hotels before but the inefficiency here is not what I anticipated. They know the wait such so they serve drinks in line at check-in.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Steam Hotel
Responded 16 Feb 2022
Hi, Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay! I understand that you are disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations I am sorry to read that you had to stay in line wherever you would go, even though you had your breakfast time reserved. You are very welcome to contact us at servicemanager@steamhotel.se if you would like to take your feedback further. Best regards, Emma
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
quxa wrote a review Feb 2022
Stockholm, Sweden110 contributions79 helpful votes
A nice hotel room with cool furnishing. The spa area was decent but rather small and crowded. The drinks were very very expensive. The asian fusion dinner was excellent and tasty. The breakfast however wasn't so good unless you like smoothies and juices. Small portions of the real food (good that there was a mcdonalds nearby).
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
dawit kid wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Very disappointed. This the first time to write recession because i feel discriminated. This happen 15 jan, around 19.40pm. A door guard working for Steam Hotel wouldn't let me in if i didn't show my ID card and I explain to her kindly that I was there not to drink and she insisted to to see my ID. And I know why after while and it was cause of my race and cause i was black. I asked there were people going before me(who doesn't look like me) not been asked there ID and why. but she keep saying she need ID. I dont know about the law but since when does anyone show ID to go in a Hotel. I have been other hotels better hotels and non has asked me for ID. The funny thing the hotel is close where i live and I have been there several times and spend lots of money. But not i will never go back. I try to talk to someone who has higher rank and ask him why did she only ask me for ID he said she made her own judgement and What is the judemgent is it cause i am black ..... . I dont have time to write bad reviews but for this I have.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Steam Hotel
Responded 16 Feb 2022
It makes me really sad to read this and I'm very sorry that you felt discriminated. I want to know more about this and would really appreciate if you could write this to us at servicemanager@steamhotel.se and we can talk further about this. Thank you! Best regards, Emma
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John P wrote a review Dec 2021
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution
I had dinner in East restaurant last night with my family and it was fabulous our server Laoise was so helpful and recommended the loveliest combination of food and drink. We will definitely be back thanks again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$186 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwedenVastmanland CountyVästerås
NUMBER OF ROOMS
227
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE STEAM HOTEL (Västerås) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Steam Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Steam Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Västmanlands läns museum (0.9 km), Kokpunkten Water park (0.02 km), and Prison Island (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Steam Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at The Steam Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Steam Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Steam Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Steam Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Locavore, Limone Ristorante Italiano, and Kajplats 9.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Steam Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Steam Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Steam Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Steam Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.