We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scandic Malmen

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scandic Malmen
Scandic Malmen
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Scandic Malmen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 456: English reviews
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 22 May 2012

When staying at Scandic you always get safe OK value stay and great breakfast. Location just by the undergroud station is handy, but sometimes area can be little bit restless. Really buzy at breakfasts so it was difficult to find a free table. Good value for money if I manage to get low fare (Early Bird).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susannaka
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review and welcome back to us! Best Regards Elin Roquet Hotel Manager

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 20 May 2012

+ Nice location 100 meters from the subway, and in a vibrant part of the city +/- Average breakfast, neither good or bad - My room was in need of a renovation. Old TV, old furniture and really dated interior in the bathroom* - The room was cleaned, but some of the dirt seemed to have been there quite a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Oslolosen
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all thank you so much for taking the time writing the review! You are absolutely right, we are in fact renovating a large number of rooms, when we are done with our renovation the oldest rooms in the hotel will be from 2006. I hope you will visit us again so you can get the opportunity...

Reviewed 18 May 2012

I was staying there 2 weeks and i have never been so tired after busines trip! Bass is pumping alldaylong and sleeping is just impossible! Even in breakfast when i would like to sit down in peace, have my breakfast and hear nothing there was somethin playing all the time! Dont get me wrong, i like music, and specially dancemusic...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Heikki B
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Deat guest, I am so sorry to hear about your experience here at Scandic Malmen but also happy to hear that you liked our staff and the location of the hotel. We do have other cathegories of rooms, some of them are quite small but we also have superior rooms and junior suites that are larger. If you would come...

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2012

As a business traveller spending many nights per year in hotels I generally put up with most things but this was the first time I've ever had to move hotel. Very hot rooms with no a/c and if you open the window you are deafened by the noise from the street. I changed room three times. The final change was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 881swf
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are truly sorry to read about your experience here and that we did not meet your standards and expectations. We are currently finishing up a large room renovation and have had some issues with our hot water, my sincere apologies, however this has now been resolved. I do hope that...

Utrecht
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Although the check-in at the hotel was fast and friendly, the hotel is not worth the price they quoted me. Room and bathroom were small. The bathroom had an awkward smell. For single use the bed was made for one person even though it was a double bed. Only a small 'window' could be opened. It is one of those...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Malloten
Malmen2011, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review. I am sorry to hear that you didn't like our rooms, our hotel will soon be completely renovated as we are finishing up a renovation of 178 rooms (!). We constantly strive to improve our service here at Scandic Malmen and I am happy to hear that you had a fast...

Oslo
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Paid 5400 Swedish kroner for 4 nights at Scandic Malmen in April 2012. I had room 304 on 3rd floor with a window towards a quiet backyard. I was in advance promised a room at 5th or 6th floor on the phone, but at check-in, of course, they had selective amnesia. Really disappointing.The room was decorated in contemporary style and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CreamKat
Malmen2011, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Dear sir, Thank you so much for your review and your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you didn't get your room on the floor requested and I have forwarded your comments regaring changes of linen in your room to our housekeeping departement. Welcome back to Scandic Malmen! Elin Roquet, Hotel Manager

Nurmijarvi, Finland
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel lobby, restaurant and bar were nicely decorated. So was the superior room. For being superior room the room size was very small. It was okay for one night stay, but for longer stay it would have been too small. The bathroom was very small too. And there was no view because the windows were towards the inner ward....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cadhlan
Malmen2011, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to give us some feedback. I am happy to read that you had a good stay with us and that you liked our rooms and the location of the hotel. We also have junior suites and family rooms in the same style as the superior rooms so for next visit if...

Reviewed 18 March 2012

If you like Bass and drums till 2 o'clock in the morning, you're at the right place. There's a club at ground floor.If Not- look for another hotel!noice at First Floor is terrible!!!!!!!! Upgraded rooms are nice but small. Great surroundings. Breakfast is ok for the price. Staff is medium friendly, a Bit arrogant maybe.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hbmitt
Malmen2011, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. I am so sorry that we haven't replied to your feedback earlier! Scandic Malmen with its two bars is a very popular location not only for hotel guests but also for people living in Stockholm. This is somenthing we are very happy about, however I am...

London, UK
Reviewed 10 March 2012

First the ROOM. We had a room on the fifth, facing into the internal space of the hotel. No issues noise whatsoever. The room is small but bijou, small and elegant. Good TV, good and free wifi and small but functional shower room. The bed is not the size of an african state, but is more than adequate unless you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drringring
Malmen2011, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your feedback, my sincere apologies not having written a reply earlier!! I am happy that you had a good stay with us and that you liked Scandic Malmen and yes, we know and agree, Stockholm is quite expensive... Welcome back! Elin Roquet, Hotel Manager

Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The hotel makes a trendy and modern impression; the room we got was big enough and clean, and everything looked modern and new. The area itself in Stockholm isn't that attractive, but it's very easy to reach the old city center: the subway station is beneath the hotel and Gamla Stan is just three stops away. Very nice breakfast (though...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davidoffski
Malmen2011, Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your feedback, I am so sorry that we haven't written a reply to you earlier. I am happy that you like Scandic Malmen and our rooms. I hope that I will get the opportunity to welcome you back to us! Best Regards Elin Roquet, Hotel Manager

501 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (69)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (292)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Junior Suite (44)
Viewed
King Superior Extra Room (30)
Viewed
King Superior Room (26)
Viewed
Queen Cabin Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Single Cabin Room (24)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (25)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (27)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Slussen
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
#73 of 157 in Stockholm
638 reviews
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#90 of 157 in Stockholm
217 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
BEST WESTERN Premier Collection NOFO Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#45 of 157 in Stockholm
2,558 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#108 of 157 in Stockholm
72 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#48 of 157 in Stockholm
2,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in SoFo & Medborgarplatsen

Neighbourhood Profile
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Throughout the last decades these neighborhoods transformed from a rather quiet residential area into the birthplace of Swedish hipsterism and became Sweden’s main hub for new fashion labels, independent coffee shops and innovative gastropub concepts. Despite their extreme transformation, SoFo (South of Folkungagatan) & Medborgarplatsen managed to hold on to their residential charm and quietness and became one of the most sought-after places to live among young people in Stockholm. This neighborhood is also home to Sweden’s highest student hall, Skrapan, which used to be the head office of the tax authorities and now combines a mix of student hall and shopping mall with a bar on top.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Scandic Malmen
Scandic Malmen
Cuisines: European, Bar, International, Pub, Swedish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Scandic Malmen - town life, musical experiences and a feeling of home in the heart of Södermalm.Here you can dine, drink, meet and sleep. And loads of other fun things, such as enjoying free concerts for example. When you stay with us in one of our 332 rooms, you will live in a 50th century building in the middle of the metropolitan pulse. You will also have great access to other parts of the city by metro, train, boat or bus. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Malmen

Address: 49 - 51 Goetgatan, Stockholm 116 21, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Price Range: ₹ 7,320 - ₹ 14,251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Malmen 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Malmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Malmen Stockholm
Scandic Malmen Hotel Stockholm
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Malmen staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
7 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Malmen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on lower levels have no windows. Windows in rooms on higher floors don't appear to open anyway, so this may not be so much a problem.”
Mrs_Quill, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room off the main road as the church bells chime every hour from 9am, not good if you fancy a lie in.”
michellemK6577AB, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Standard rooms are located in the basement and do not have any windows. Therefore, I highly recommend booking superior rooms.”
magdal92, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“To avoid the traffic noise at night, prefer rooms which are not facing the main streets.”
FredDee87, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a window”
jesperlehrmann, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5