We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
25 Lilla Nygatan, Stockholm 111 28 Sweden
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$153
View deal
Hotels.com$156
Booking.com$153
Travelocity$156
ScandicHotels.com$171
Priceline$174
Tripadvisor$153
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (274)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (379)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#29 of 160 hotels in Stockholm
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Stay in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's oldest and cosiest district. Hotel Scandic Gamla Stan is located in a charming 17th century building with a medieval atmosphere. Within walking distance of most of what Stockholm has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Green
Languages Spoken
English

Location

100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
212Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
96Attractionswithin 0.5 km
972Reviews11Q+A84Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 372
  • 429
  • 127
  • 30
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Amicatua wrote a review 11 Jan
Stockholm8 contributions3 helpful votes
The breakfast was very nice and our room was clean and okay. What I missed was that the staff could have said something more than just this is you're room, here is your key. No " Have a nice stay!" or "Hope you had a nice stay!" It should be a basic phrase even if you dont mean it. I work in service myself and if worked at an hotel that would be a basic phrase. It felt sad that they didn't seem intrested in us as guests.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shirin Mojabi, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Gamla Stan
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, I am sorry for the lack of courtesy on our behalf during your stay. This is basic as your say. Again, our apologies for this and we need to work on this of course.. Glad to hear that you otherwise enjoyed other aspects of your stay as the room and our breakfast. Best regards, Magnus, Service Team Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alan L wrote a review 1 Jan
Buenos Aires, Argentina189 contributions102 helpful votes
My stay at Scandic Gamla Stan was fabulous. The area is amazing, the style of the hotel is lovely, and the beautifulest was the way in which the staff threated myself: Elena and Shirin in the reception, Oscar in breakfast, people working in the kitchen during breakfast and housekeeping staff... TACK SÄ MYCKET! To improve? A small fridge in the room, and also where too much things on the desk: I absolutely gave big value in the welcome presents, but was too much papers there. And let me know close saying that having the chance to stay in this kind of palaces for a fantastisc price is a HUGE benefit for workers. I am totally happy! For a wonderful 2023 =)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shirin Mojabi, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Gamla Stan
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guest, Thank you for writing such an elaborate feedback after your staay with us. This is much appreciated. Great to heat you had a good stay with us and we sure hope to see you again. Happy New Year ! Best Wishes, Magnus, Service Team Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Angela K wrote a review Dec 2022
24 contributions14 helpful votes
Lovely hotel in Gamla Stan, perfect for sightseeing, stopovers, winter trips. Couldn't get enough of the beautiful surrounding! Cosy rooms in a 16th century building, definitely something special! Super friendly staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shirin Mojabi, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Gamla Stan
Responded 26 Dec 2022
Dear Angela, We thnk you for giving us such positive feedback and rating after your stay. Very much appreciated. We are happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us and we hopa to see you again in the future ! Happy New Year and Best Wishes Magnus, Service Team Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mikael F wrote a review Dec 2022
Helsinki, Finland29113 contributions1990 helpful votes
+1
This charming old hotel is located near Gamla Stan metro station. However, we had a 1½-km walk from Arlanda Express station. We stayed in a superior room which felt much more spacious than the 12-16 m² said in the room description. Maybe the whole floor space is not calculated because of the vaulted ceiling. Our room had a sitting group for five. The bathroom felt recently renovated. Overall, the room was surprisingly practical considering the age of the hotel. The breakfast is served in a quite small breakfast room. Luckily, on Monday morning it was not so busy. The buffet was kept in immaculate condition by the friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shirin Mojabi, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Gamla Stan
Responded 21 Dec 2022
Dear Mikael, Thanks for the lovely review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
smorga122585 wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
Visiting Stockholm in December was something we had been meaning to do for years and it didn’t disappoint. I would stay in the Scandic Gamla Stan again if I revisited as its in the middle of everything.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shirin Mojabi, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Gamla Stan
Responded 23 Dec 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for rating us and providing such nice feedback after your stay. Much appreciated and we hope to see you again perhaps in the summer time when Stockholm is a very different city compared to winter. Best regards Magnus, Service Team manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lucy002022 wrote a review Nov 2022
Stockholm, Sweden1 contribution
I stayed in a Superior room and I did mange to get an hour early check in as well as a bathtub by asking a day ahead. Staff was all around friendly. The room it self was nice and I liked the amot of space we got. I have previously stayed in a standard room at the same hotell and even those rooms were fine. Now, it is an old building so I can't see it being wheelchair friendly and sadly could not recommended to anyone how is not able to walk. Due to it being old the rooms and environment have a tendency to look a little musty but not necessarily dirty. You can however tell that everything is old. The bathroom was nice and felt very fresh compared to the rest of the room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shirin Mojabi, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Gamla Stan
Responded 7 Nov 2022
Dear Lucy, thank you for the extensive feedback. We appreciate this a lot. We are happy that overall it was perfectly fine. We hope too see you again a third time ! Best regards, Magnus, Service Team Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tourdest wrote a review Sep 2022
Toronto, Canada248 contributions179 helpful votes
Pros: 1. I was permitted an early check in and my room was clean and spacious by Scandinavian standards. 2. Location is fantastic- accessible to all the major landmarks and a 2 minute walk to the metro 3. The bed is very comfortable - had a great nights sleep 4. The breakfast times have to be stated in advance as the breakfast room is small to fit all, but there was always plenty of seats during my 3 night stay 5. There’s always one staff member in the kitchen/breakfast room who’s polite and greets everyone every morning. Cons: 1. Guests have to specify if they want housekeeping in advance. So I asked well in advance for one day at a specific timeslot and on that very same day, the cleaning staff decided to turn up 4 hours after the requested timeslot. I was fatigued after hours of walking/touring, leaving me a tad annoyed at their lack of punctuality and consideration. I ended up having to leave the hotel again! For your guests on holiday who want to put their feet up, please be more attentive! 2. The bathroom floor was perpetually wet after every use. There is no sealant at the bottom of the shower doors and I ended up using multiple towels to mop up the water 3. A kettle/mugs in the room would be ideal for those of us that want to unwind with a cup of tea in the room. 4. Wifi is sporadic- good connection on the first night and on/off access on the remaining nights despite following the instructions
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shirin Mojabi, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Gamla Stan
Responded 3 Oct 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for the extensive feedback , both good and the not so good. Valid points regarding cons. and we will certainly look into how we may improve on these. We are happy that there was enough good points. Again, thank you for your notes and advice. Best regards, Magnus, Service Team Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lshear925156 wrote a review Sep 2022
Brighouse, United Kingdom1 contribution
Good location friendly staff and the beds are so comfortable breakfast was very nice plenty of choice would there stay again and it is near shops plenty of bars and restaurants close to the hotel lots of thing to do
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shirin Mojabi, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Gamla Stan
Responded 22 Sep 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for the very warm feedback and positive rating after your recent stay. We are thrilled that you had such a good stan with us and hope you would like to come back in the future. Best regards, Magnus, Service Team Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynn VCA wrote a review Sep 2022
Lake Barrington, Illinois2 contributions3 helpful votes
We have loved our stay here: Magnus, Kamil (sp?), and all the staff go above and beyond to be helpful. The shower in our room is, no kidding, the best I’ve used in my 64 yrs. Our first morning, we anticipated a basic continental breakfast. Instead we got love: Chef and his staff prepare a buffet with eggs cooked in marvelous ways, meats, cheeses, yogurts, cereals, vegetables, fruits — and more than I can recall now — plus many delicious options for every kind of eater (regular, vegan, gluten-free, sugar-free, dairy-free). With such a good start, you can easily go without eating again until supper, giving you more time, feeling great, to see and do everything you want. Our room is small by US standards, but it has and does everything we need. We can exercise, get work done, and have slept beautifully. Everything important for a beautiful stay is in this historic building, located IN Gamla Stan and modernized enough to be squeaky clean and efficient.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shirin Mojabi, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Gamla Stan
Responded 11 Sep 2022
Dear Lynn, Thank you so much for thee splendid review. Much appreciated and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay so much. All the best and we hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Magnus, Service team manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carla wrote a review Aug 2022
Oxford, United Kingdom5 contributions
An excellent hotel. Location couldn’t be better, right in Gamla Stan and only 1 minute walk from the Metro. The rooms are quite dated but the bathrooms are modern. The hotel breakfast is one of the best I have ever had, the chefs are outstanding. Highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shirin Mojabi, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Gamla Stan
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Dear guest Thank you for the positive feedbck and rating, We are happy you enjoyed the breakfast so much ! Hope to see you again in the future. Best rwgards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$124 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rica hotel stockholm
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Rica Hotel Gamla Stan
LOCATION
SwedenStockholm CountyStockholmGamla Stan & Riddarholmen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SCANDIC GAMLA STAN (Stockholm) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Scandic Gamla Stan
Which popular attractions are close to Scandic Gamla Stan?
Nearby attractions include Stockholm Old Town (0.2 km), 100 Point Challenge Stockholm (0.2 km), and Stockholm Pub Crawl (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Scandic Gamla Stan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Scandic Gamla Stan?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Scandic Gamla Stan?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stockholms Gastabud, Corvina Enoteca, and Oummi.
Is Scandic Gamla Stan located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Stockholm.
Are any cleaning services offered at Scandic Gamla Stan?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Scandic Gamla Stan?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Scandic Gamla Stan?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kungliga Djurgården (2.5 km), Skogskyrkogården (5.1 km), and Storkyrkan (0.3 km).