We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Birka Hostel

Hotels.comUS$ 73*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 76*
US$ 73*
US$ 76*
US$ 76*
US$ 73*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Birka Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Birka Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 111: English reviews
Brno, Czech Republic
Reviewed 8 May 2016

I stayed in Birka Hostel only for two days, but as far as I know I can say that it was really nice hostel. Shared rooms are comfortable and they offer privacy as well. Breakfast was good, enough options to choose > suitable for vegetarians and vegans.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kuna_Nese_Nanuk
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Staff was nice and friendly. They even had room ready as per my travel time. So thanks a lot for that. Room and linen was clean. Nice window room just the way I thought. Breakfast was bad. Some dirty eggs and breads. Some muffins and fruits would have been sight better if am paying for the breakfast. Also the noise...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vandana K
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Paid 17 euro for a bed in a four bedroom. Clean and pretty comfortable beds with clean sheets, towel is not included. Aprox 10 minute walk from the central station. Quality of your sleep is could be influenced by snoring habits from roommates.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jos S
Parsha M, Guest Relations Manager at Birka Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for writing us a positive review! We really enjoyed reading that you liked the central location and the beds! Sorry to hear about the snoring though... We hope to see you again next time you are in Stockholm. Best regards from Birka Hostel.

Prague
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Positive: 1) location was perfect 2) bfast was fine (was paid extra, but kinda worth it) Negative: 1) lockers are only in few of the rooms, so when you have something valuable there is no way to save it and the staff is not being very helpful about it. I would give an advice to the manager to get extra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nekoocz
Hong Kong
Reviewed 12 March 2016

In this expensive city cheap hostel rooms usually have no windows, so this conveniently located hostel above ground level with windows is a good choice. Being a female travelling alone, I prefer safety and sense of security so I booked a single room with ensuite bathroom. The room is super basic with a single bed, towels, a small bedside cupboard,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peonie414
San Jose, California
Reviewed 11 March 2016

I stayed here in January 2016, and it was pretty average; I'd say giving it 3.5 stars is fair. The beds aren't the most comfortable, and the beds get assigned. I stayed in a 4-bed dorm room, and there were 2 other people there but they left really early the next day so I basically had the room to myself...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 5 February 2016

Every room was packed with beds, but it was clean and I got enough space to feel comfortable. They provide you with linens which is nice, but BRING YOUR OWN TOWEL! You can rent for 35, but that seemed like a bit much for me. The rooms come with a bench in the middle so you can work in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a_br0ad_abr0ad
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

We only stayed one night while passing through Stockholm but we were happy with this hostel. Our room was simple, spacious and clean with an excellent shower. More than comfortable. Good location close to many restaurants and about a kilometre walk from central station. The wifi was cutting in and out a bit in our room but otherwise a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christie B
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 22 December 2015

The location is really good, staff is nice and there is nothing to complain about the breakfast either. There is very interesting Urban Deli shop next door and you can also cook yourself in the kitchen. Room and all the area is hostel were clean. I will come back some day I guess :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenniPenni8000
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 13 December 2015

Stayed 2 nights in Single Room with Private Bathroom at SEK 493 per night. Very small room with just enough room for a single bed and somewhere to put your bag but the bed was comfortable, it was warm and it was clean and modern. Bathroom also small but functional. Room situated on ground floor. Wifi worked at times in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MJS1966

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Best Western & Hotel
Best Western & Hotel
#34 of 155 in Stockholm
337 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel With Urban Deli
Hotel With Urban Deli
#43 of 155 in Stockholm
171 reviews
Norrmalm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
#8 of 64 in Stockholm
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
City Backpackers Hostel
City Backpackers Hostel
#1 of 64 in Stockholm
1,115 reviews
Vasastan
Hostel Dalagatan
Hostel Dalagatan
#6 of 64 in Stockholm
570 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Castanea Old Town Hostel
#11 of 64 in Stockholm
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Norrmalm

Neighbourhood Profile
Norrmalm
Norrmalm is Stockholm’s most central and busiest neighborhood. It’s home to the main shopping street, Drottninggatan, and to Stockholm icons like the Sergels Torg glass obelisk, the famous Hay Market with its Carl Milles sculptures, and the Hötorget Skyscrapers, a sight on every other Stockholm postcard. Norrmalm is also home to Sweden’s most traditional department stores Nordiska Kompaniet and Åhléns City juxtaposed with Stockholm’s most modern shopping mall, Mood Stockholm. Visitors to this area get to experience the unique Swedish philosophy of protecting cultural heritage while also staying on top of fashion innovation and modern architecture.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern hostel in the Capital of Scandinavia for those who seek a good rate and a comfortable stay. Vi offer private rooms and dormitories. Vi also offer a dormitory for only women. We offer free Wi-Fi in all rooms and common areas. We have a common and a fully equipped kitchen and a friendly social room were you can cook, meet new people or prepare for your adventures in the city. All of us att Birka Hostel value the security and safety of our guests and as such all the common areas are protected by cameras and also all rooms and common areas are equipped with the latest sprinkler systems which are connected to Stockholms emergency services. Coffe, tea and pasta is always free and available in the kitchen Laundry service is offered at a fee. Breakfast is served daily for an additional fee. Monday - Friday 7:30 - 10:00 Saturday - Sunday 8:00 - 10:00 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Birka Hostel

Address: 14-16 Luntmakargatan, Stockholm 111 37, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Price Range: ₹ 1,615 - ₹ 8,590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Birka Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Birka Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Birka Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Birka Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't stay here at all you can find better”
X4313TQdanielat, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“no room at all will be the best choice for you, since they will give no beds to you anyways”
evabU2347NA, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid this place.”
andycarlin, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were on the first floor where most of the rooms were double. At the end of the corridor it was all very quiet.”
MikkP_12, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a middle bed. There are three per stack, the bottom one might as well be on the floor and the top is too high.”
a_br0ad_abr0ad, 5 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 73* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$ 76
Hotwire.comUS$ 73
Booking.comUS$ 76
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates