We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castanea Old Town Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Castanea Old Town Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 155: English reviews
Start your review of Castanea Old Town Hostel
 Click to rate
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located in Gamla Stan, the old town of Stockholm, which is perfect. It is a very clean but small hotel so our private room is very tiny. The staffs are nice and friendly. By the way, you will have to arrive to check in only between 15.00-18.00 to avoid the extra cost for the entrance code that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chonla
Cecilia S, Ägare at Castanea Old Town Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! Yes you need to contact us to get a door code if you want to arrive after 18:00 (no extra cost though, but maybe you mean for the phone call). And yes you pay for sheets and towels at most hostels in the Nordic countries. It's a way for the guests who want to...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The location and staff were great. There are posted signs to be quiet after 23:00, but 2 of 3 nights, guest were playing drinking games and talking loudly way past midnight. Luckily, I packed ear plugs. Try not to get rooms (4,5,6,7) near the common area if you want some peace. Everything was clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gyotaku
Cecilia S, Ägare at Castanea Old Town Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your high rating! I am sorry you were disturbed by other guests, wish you had let us know when staying. The restriction in the common room areas after 23:00 is to make it possible to have a good night sleep and mostly this works fine. You are warmly welcome back!

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well, this was my first time ever travelling on my own so I was fairly picky on where to stay. To reviews for Castanea looked very promising so it only felt right to book! I absolutely LOVED my stay there. All the staff were very welcoming and made me feel very comfortable throughout my stay. Being my first time travelling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeanneReddish
Cecilia S, Ägare at Castanea Old Town Hostel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you! Thank you for the amazing review! We are so happy you had a good time and felt welcoming and comfortable. Perfect to suggest walking shoes :) Glad if we get the chance to welcome you here again!

Reviewed 9 March 2017

My favourite part of this hostel has to be the people. They were so lovely and professional. They had answers to all my questions and were eager to help. I felt very safe in the area and the hostel. They had ample ways for me to keep my things secure and I was impressed by the facilities. The only complaint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marisa M
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Location is really great! It's in the middle of Gamla Stan, the old town, right next to the iconic square Stortorget and just a few minutes to Royal Palace and other main attractions. You can also take a nice walk (approx. 30 minutes) to the island of Djurgården where many museum can be found, especially Skansen or Vasa museum. In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomáš J
Cecilia S, Ägare at Castanea Old Town Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for stay and we are glad you found our location perfect! Yes unfortunately a strong Swedish krona make it expensive for some international guests, but we hope it was not too surprising for you and that you had a wonderful stay in Stockholm!

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

I loved everything about this hostel! Situated in beautiful Gamla Stan in one of the stunning old stone buildings. Bed, sheets, interior, kitchen, showers, check-in, staff... All top notch!! Highly recommended. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anni H
Cecilia S, Receptionschef at Castanea Old Town Hostel, responded to this review

Kiitos Anni for your excellent review! Happy you liked it here so much :) Welcome back to Castanea when you are in Stockholm again!

Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

The staffs are all friendly and nice. Especially when I had trouble to print my train ticket, the staff was extremely helpful n sweet. We stayed in a 4ppl room for two night, all visitors were very thoughtful and with respect to each other. The kitchen is not big but fully equipped, you can make very good dishes there or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celine C
Cecilia S, Receptionschef at Castanea Old Town Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to help any time you give us the chance ;) We try to make this feel like home to everyone and are happy to see our guest get along so well together! It is true the cobble stone streets are bit of a challenge when you are carrying heavy luggage. But...

Izegem, Belgium
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Really loved it!! Nice building, kept very clean, very friendly staff, warm sphere, privacy is respected by ever visitor and it has an ideal location in the middle of the old Gamla Stan, a very beautiful old neigbourhood in Stockholm. Just SUPER!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank antonlesage
Cecilia S, Receptionschef at Castanea Old Town Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and kind words! Happy guests make it even more easy and fun to work at this place :)

Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Yes, it is not a hotel - just a hostel. Yes, it was a small room for 2 persons with a common toilette and shower. But the hostel is very-very clean, the staff is polite, helpful and friendly, and what is most important - it is in the center of Stockholm. We had only 2 days for all Stokholm, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angel-kiev
Cecilia S, Receptionschef at Castanea Old Town Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time and writing such a kind review about Castanea! Hope to see you here again for an other short stay!

Perth
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

What a great time we had at Castanea Old Town Hostel. Set in the heart of Old Town it is the perfect location to see Stockholm with so many attractions close by. ABBA museum is a short 30 mins walk and everything else within arms length. The hostel its self was very clean and well run. We never needed to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kiel H
Cecilia S, Receptionschef at Castanea Old Town Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for writing such a nice review! Glad to hear everything went so smoothly during your stay here!

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#7 of 155 in Stockholm
555 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#55 of 155 in Stockholm
1,240 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#24 of 155 in Stockholm
451 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#51 of 155 in Stockholm
631 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 155 in Stockholm
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen

Neighbourhood Profile
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Gamla Stan is Stockholm’s historic old town and home to the Swedish Royal Palace. It’s the most central island of Stockholm and accompanied by the small island of Riddarholmen, mainly known for its famous Riddarholm Church. Gamla Stan tends to be a bit touristy at times but is definitely worth visiting: take a stroll past the well-preserved buildings and through the small (and also Sweden’s narrowest) alleys, which will make you feel like you’ve travelled back in time. This neighborhood offers a great combination of historical buildings and traditional Swedish restaurants.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Castanea is a small cosy hostel. Located in the Old Town - the very center of Stockholm. Here you stay in private room or dormitory. All rooms have big windows, some with the view of the chestnut three outside. Guest kitchen for your own cooking. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castanea Old Town Hostel

Address: 1 Kindstugatan | Old Town, Stockholm 111 31, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Price Range: ₹ 1,955 - ₹ 11,153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Castanea Old Town Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castanea Old Town Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Castanea Old Town Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“City center”
Angel-kiev, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If the off-season, gamble on the 16-bed room. It was never more then 50% occupied.”
MattE276, 25 Jan 2015 | Read review
“bring your own sheets if you don't want to pay extra”
Kimmo18, 8 Jan 2015 | Read review
“If you choose the dorm you can save money and get to know your fellow travelers!”
T1327DPjasonc, 14 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Private room facing courtyard is quiet, but tenants use that courtyard as a smoking area and the smoke will come into your room all night. It's a problem.”
JaneS161, 26 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Hostelworld.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates