We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (45)
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (45)
Pool & Beach (12)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good31%
  • Average15%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible0%
Surf Motel is a unique, rustic seaside getaway only meters from Umdloti beach. Affordable self-catering accommodation whether it’s one person or a group of up to 22 people. The property has 7 chalets, each with its own ensuite and kitchenette. There is a TV with DStv in each chalet. Linen and towels are provided and the rooms are serviced daily. There is a communal braai & seating area for guests to use and a single parking bay available for each chalet. It’s a 150m walk to the local shops, restaurants and bars so you never have to drive anywhere during your stay.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Paid Internet
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Paid Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Air Conditioning
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Louis Botha Airport7 km
Pietermaritzburg Airport69 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
4
3
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
4
3
2
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Surf Motel is a perfect setting, just a few minutes drive from King Shaka airport. Literally a stones throw from the Indian ocean. I stayed in Chalet #5, a small rondawel type room. the room had all you expect - TV, fridge, microwave and basic...More

Thank christarry
Reviewed 4 July 2018

As the name suggests, this is a proper surf motel. A two-hour flight from CPT and a quick 12-minute drive from King Shaka Airport and you're paddling out into warm waters and quick hollow peaks. I checked in while on business and stayed a few...More

Thank cityguyworldwide
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Very nice and peaceful accomadation Air Conditioned and clean chalets Well equipped kitchens Safe parking Short walk across the road to the beach Nice and very friendly staff Nice place to switch off and just relax

Thank Megandran N
Reviewed 13 June 2018

We have stayed over after the Comrades. The bed is comfortable and the linen neat and clean. Facilities were impeccably clean though basic. Separate chalets ensure no neighbourly noise. It is not private though as the doors exit accross each other. (Chalet 1B)LOVELY VERANDAH and...More

Thank LaFemmeduVoyage
Reviewed 7 January 2018

The accommodation is of an extremely poor standard and way over priced for what is offered As a self catering facility the cooking and kitchen facilities were ridiculous and to wash your plates in the bathroom The accommodation for 4 people was extra beds in...More

Thank HelenaM1619
Response from Matt H, Director of Sales at Surf MotelResponded 24 January 2018

Hi Helena Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I will however have to dispute that our pictures on Booking.com, which you booked through, show that the extra 2 single beds are in the...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Surf Motel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Be aware this is poor value for money this should be a back packers lodge nothing more"
HelenaM1619
7 Jan 2018
Read review
"at the front ,room with outside balcony"
mickknap
20 Nov 2017
Read review
"Keep windows closed otherwise the moneys will raid you room."
Bleu966
1 Jun 2016
Read review
"The unit on the top sleeps 6, has a lovely veranda for coffee in the morning and a large barbeque area...."
Tusabrat
14 May 2013
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$ 65 - US$ 177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Umdloti Milkwood
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalUmdloti
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing