We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Bull at Great Totham

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Bull at Great Totham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Bull at Great Totham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 141: English reviews
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Can you PLEASE inform your staff when producing the bill that they state to the customer that there is a service charge. Lunch get together was ruined by paying a tip for the food and not being told there was already a service charge. The elderly Gentleman paying the bill did not see this and kindly added a £17.00 tip....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 986Richard
David M, Owner at The Bull at Great Totham, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, we very clearly mark on the menu that a service charge will be added for tables of 8 or more, this is clear and if you wish it to be removed then all you need to do is mention it.

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Stopped her by chance about a week ago now. Three for dinner, including a lively toddler. The service was lovely and the toddler was well looked after. The food was exceptional. I had fish and it was perfect. The wife had a burger and it was incredible. The toddler had fish and it was spot on. The venue is beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teddy B
Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Enjoyed a refreshing 3 course vegetarian meal from the a la carte menu in the Willow Room at this pub on a summer's evening in August. Waitresses attentive and friendly. Service as good. Good choice of food on the menu.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandaparker377
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Unfriendly welcome food really good and value for money plenty of places for. outside seating gardens nice we sat in the front on the patio views are stunning plenty of car parking .won't be rushing back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pam w
David M, Owner at The Bull at Great Totham, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, firstly I am pleased you though our food was good value for money, I am very upset that the welcome you say you were given was not a warming one. We do try very hard to welcome all of our guests and I would very much appreciate it if you could call me to...

Reviewed 21 July 2016

My (new) wife and I recently celebrated our marriage reception at The Bull and Willow Room and it is a superb venue. The 3 course meal was delicious, service first class and layout of the dining room was very stylish. The customer service is excellent - every member of staff went out of their way to help us and meet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M C
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Called in for a late lunch, sign outside said food served all day. Went in and were told they had stopped serving food! Why have a sign advertising 'food served all day' when they don't serve food all day. Very disappointing, so if you are passing beware food may not be available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
David M, Owner at The Bull at Great Totham, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am somewhat surprised by your review as we do serve food all day, however some times when we have a very large party in the evening s we do close the kitchen for an hour or so to ensure that all is prepared in the evening, the Saturday in question we had a wedding...

Maldon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Went with friends on a groupon voucher.Great value for money, lovely food and very polite staff.Had a lovely evening catching up with friends and will be back.All had three courses and a glass of prosecco on the deal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angus7274
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

My husband was cycling from London to Amsterdam with around 200 other people for Prostate cancer and this was one of the lunch stops. The food they provided was excellent, very nutritious and hot. Considering that the cyclists were all arriving in small groups at different times the buffet was 1st class.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ktktktball
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Yet again we cannot fault David, Umesh & the team. We held a post wedding celebration lunch for our niece and her new Husband The food and service was second to none. Nothing was too much trouble and the Bride and Groom were made to feel very special. Thanks guys!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corvene
Witham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

I recently had my 40 th at the bull using there willow function room, right from the start the organisation and care was great. We put alot of effort into the party and used there rod stewart tribute act who plays there on there themed nights. We had excellent food and service and it was all overseen by there manager...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simon1009h

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Totham
5.3 km away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
166 reviews
4.2 km away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
188 reviews
7.7 km away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Rivenhall Hotel
Rivenhall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Witham
339 reviews
15.2 km away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
363 reviews
21.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 13 in Chelmsford
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Bull at Great Totham

Address: 2 Maldon Road, Great Totham CM9 8NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Totham
Price Range: ₹ 7,492 - ₹ 7,696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull at Great Totham 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Bull at Great Totham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bull at Great Totham staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bull at Great Totham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pre book table and ask for what you want!”
 of 5 bubbles bigjohn981, 29 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room upstairs. I was on the ground floor. The folk above were from a travelling Circus, the Elephant section!”
 of 5 bubbles alanmm2013, 27 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The Wickham was our room and would recommend highly. On first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles HARDBATTLE, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Avoid ground floor rooms and Cabaret nights (unless attending).”
 of 5 bubbles MikeBerwick, 24 Nov 2014 | Read review
“I think there are only 4 rooms, 2 upstairs and 2 downstairs. There are wooden floors so try and get an upstairs room.”
 of 5 bubbles MrsBumblebee, 7 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay