We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

InterContinental Athenaeum

Show Prices
#25 of 334 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
InterContinental Athenaeum
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,013 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Athenaeum
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,645: English reviews
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Another amazing stay at the Intercontinental Athens where the rooms are beautifully furnished and with all expected amenities. Excellent service, a great roof top bar and a lovely pool! I can only recommend this hotel and location for your next Athens visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andre S
marthapallis, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review

Dear Andre S, Thank you for your patronage to the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for sharing your feedback. As a regular guest, it is truly a pleasure to learn that our accommodation, facilities and staff service are to your satisfaction. Moreover, that our location is convenient for your needs. We thank you again for your kind comments and look forward...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in the InterContinental Athens for 4 nights for a business trip. When I checked in, I knew my company had two agreed 2 different rates for 2 nights for me (1 reduced, 1 "normal" ), so I asked if I needed to change the room. The reception told me that I didnt and that they would make sure...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MilaVar
marthapallis, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review

Dear MilaVar, Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental on your recent business trip to Athens and for taking the time to share your feedback. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you faced during your stay. We have investigated your comments and would like to explain that...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the hotel during our visit to Athens, we forgot the ipad in the room and the hotel offered to mail it to us (at our expense of course), but the item never got delivered and the hotel just said sorry for the disappointment!!!! I have never had such bad customer service from a 5 stars hotel!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lara s
marthapallis, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review

Dear lara s, Thank you for having stayed at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for taking the time to share your feedback. Once again, we are very sorry for the disappointment you have experienced due to the fact that you did not receive your I-Pad. As explained through our recent correspondence, it is our practice with all guests who may...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Here in a large work conference. Hotel is bright clean and friendly. Rooms are excellent. I stayed in 918 and had a lovely view of the Parthenon. Food was mainly buffet as was catering for large numbers so can't comment on the menu but the buffet options were numerous and of good quality. Very expensive to drink in the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uktraveller990
marthapallis, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review

Dear Uktraveller990, Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental whilst attending a conference in Athens and for taking the time to write a review. It pleases us greatly to read that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms, our staff service as well as food quality. We thank you again for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming...

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I stayed at the Intercontinental Athenaeum for a Sales Conference at the beginning of 2017. The hotel has excellent conference and event facilities, accommodating very large groups easily. The service at the hotel was excellent - in every area, from check in, bar staff, waiters and waitresses, event hosts and concierge. The food we had at the hotel at breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ljones2017
marthapallis, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review

Dear ljones2017, Thank you for having stayed at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for taking the time to write a review. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that your stay with us met with your expectations. In particular, that you enjoyed our conference facilities, staff service and food quality. We thank you again for...

Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Very satisfied by the service. Very friendly staff. Especially Mrs Fofo at the restaurant was extremely professional. Also housekeeping staff very polite. Not far from the town centre. There is also a complementary shuttle bus almost every half an hour going to the centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew7p
marthapallis, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review

Dear Andrew7p, Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for writing a review about your experience. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the level of service from our staff as well as the convenience of our complimentary daily shuttle bus service to Syntagma square. We thank you once more for your kind comments and...

New Zealand
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Chose this hotel as I am an elite ihg member. Not a great choice. In residential area no quick access to metro with little around apart from a great little coffee shop(Taia) down a street running away from the front of entrance of the intercontinental. Taia's breakfast was 6€ a godsend when after the hotel tried to charge us 72€...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Restless7
marthapallis, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review

Dear Restless7, Thank you for selecting the Athenaeum InterContinental for your visit to Athens this month and for taking the time to write a review. As a valued Elite IHG Rewards Club member, your feedback is truly valued and we are sorry to learn that your stay with us did not meet with your expectations. We have taken note of...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

A very grand looking hotel set off a main road. The surrounding area is not much to look at but the inside makes up for the area. The hotel has a huge grand reception area. You can lost definitely tell this is the reception of a good hotel. I stayed in a twin room on the 7th floor and The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tartytriptips
marthapallis, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review

Dear Tartytriptips, Thank for having chosen the Athenaeum InterContinental for your trip to Athens this month and for taking the time to write a detailed review. As a business traveler, it is truly a pleasure to learn that our staff service, accommodations and breakfast selection met with your expectations. With regard to our location, may we take this opportunity to...

princeton, nj
Reviewed 6 January 2017

The best part of this hotel is the breakfast the worst, its location. In my numerous travels abroad to historical cities, I have generally preferred hotels which are centrally located and within walking distance of monuments/sights. This one is definitely not like one of those. Taxi or public transport is needed to go anywhere. Metro is not closeby. So cab...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanjiv J
marthapallis, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review

Dear Sanjiv J, We truly thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for taking the time to share your comments. With regard to your comment on our location we regret learning that it was not to your convenience, though, may we take the opportunity to inform you that our hotel provides a shuttle bus service that runs...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The hotel is well located in the business district and gives you easy access if you are driving down to the coast. They have a nice pool and the club lounge has a great view over the town. The lounge also has a good evening drinks and food offering. Parking is easy as it is underground on the side of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrPhileasF
marthapallis, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Athenaeum, responded to this review

Dear MrPhileasF, Thank you for staying at the Athenaeum InterContinental Athens and for writing a review about your experience. Guest satisfaction is what we strive for and we are pleased to learn that our Club InterContinental facilities as well as the convenience of our location contributed towards a memorable stay. We thank you for your feedback and look forward to...

1,817 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (969)
Viewed
Dining (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (228)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (176)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Other (356)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (731)
Viewed
Amenities (95)
Viewed
Club Room (39)
Viewed
Deluxe Club Suite (72)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (37)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (63)
Viewed
Family Room (35)
Viewed
Junior Suite (42)
Viewed
Junior Suite on Deluxe Floor (49)
Viewed
Renovated Deluxe Suite (58)
Viewed
Dining (135)
Viewed
Superior Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (117)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Other (53)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#17 of 334 in Athens
3,305 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 334 in Athens
2,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Caravel Hotel
#45 of 334 in Athens
1,172 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Premiere Restaurant & Lounge Bar
Premiere Restaurant & Lounge Bar
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
No wonder the Athenaeum InterContinental has been named Greece s leading hotel time and again. Athens largest guestrooms, award winning fine dining venues and a central location appeal to business and leisure travellers alike. Within a few kilometres are the Acropolis, the Parthenon, the Temple of Apollo and the Pláka. Metro and tram stations are also nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Athenaeum

Address: 89 - 93 Syngrou Ave, Athens 11745, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Price Range: ₹ 9,586 - ₹ 18,769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Athenaeum 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Athenaeum Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athens
Intercontinental Hotel Athenaeum
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athens
#15 Business Hotel in Athens
#17 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#17 Family Hotel in Athens
#19 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Athenaeum staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Athenaeum staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay at the front away from the road, some rooms have view on Acropolis”
 of 5 bubbles IAPA-TRAVELER, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms are smoking so be sure you ask for non-smoking unless you are a smoker”
 of 5 bubbles Delijoe, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If possible get a room with Acropolis view”
 of 5 bubbles Dodonian, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor has refurbished rooms”
 of 5 bubbles ljones2017, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A high floor has the best views”
 of 5 bubbles MrPhileasF, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5