Vila Gale Collection Braga

Vila Gale Collection Braga

Largo Carlos Amarante, Braga 4700-308 Portugal
Family palace room
Traveller (523)
Vila Gale Collection Braga
Room & Suite (107)
Pool & Beach (41)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 29 hotels in Braga
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Descubra por que tantas pessoas escolhem se hospedar na Vila Gale Collection Braga ao visitar Braga. Com uma combinação ideal de preço bom, conforto e conveniência, o hotel oferece um ambiente badalado com várias comodidades projetadas para viajantes como você. Perto de alguns pontos turísticos famosos de Braga, como Rua do Souto (0,1 km) e Igreja da Misericórdia de Braga (1,8 km), a Vila Gale Collection Braga é um ótimo destino para turistas. Os quartos da Vila Gale Collection Braga contam com ar-condicionado, e acessar a internet é fácil com o wi-fi gratuito. Além disso, a Vila Gale Collection Braga oferece piscina e café da manhã, o que vai tornar sua viagem a Braga ainda mais gratificante. Se você gosta de comida mediterrânea, a Vila Gale Collection Braga fica convenientemente perto de Tábuas, copos & outras cenas, Tia Isabel e Centurium Restaurante. Braga também é uma cidade conhecida por grandes obras arquitetônicas, como Palácio do Raio, Igreja de Santa Cruz e Casa Rolão, que não ficam longe da Vila Gale Collection Braga. Seu conforto e satisfação vêm em primeiro lugar na Vila Gale Collection Braga, que espera acolher você calorosamente em Braga.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Classic
Languages Spoken
French, Spanish, Portuguese

Location

Largo Carlos Amarante, Braga 4700-308 Portugal
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Porto Airport
39.8 km
See all flights
Vila Real Airport
62.7 km
See all flights
309Reviews8Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 186
  • 82
  • 26
  • 8
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
southerntraveller49 wrote a review Oct 2022
Andalucia, Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This singular hotel is located in a monumental historical building, I think it formerly used to be a hospital and a convent. So it´s really nice outside and impressive inside with its beautiful courtyard, high ceilings, Portuguese tiles, long corridors... As it´s been recently revamped as a hotel, the internal layout is a bit complicated, I guess they had to adapt to the former structure. My room was located in a modern wing and everything was ok: it was clean, modern and with very comfortable beds, but the views were nothing to write home about. There are an indoor swimming-pool, a gym, and an outdoor swimming-pool, being the latter not very big, but enough for a dip. The garage is located in a winding side street, once you pass beyond the curve, you´ll see the gate on your left. The big square in front of the hotel is a pedestrianised area: you can only leave your car there for a few minutes. The breakfast was average in my opinion, but I´ve heard the restaurant is quite good. Staff was really excellent: very professional, accurate, friendly, always on the ball. One of the main advantages of this hotel is its central location. For those who don´t know yet, Braga is a really beautiful city and not too touristy yet. Besides its most popular landmark (Bom Jesus Sanctuary), and its new districts, the city centre is really outstanding: an old European city, dotted with monumental churches and old palaces everywhere, most of them in Neoclassical style, nice gardens and most of it looks very well kept and clean, with many pedestrianised areas. You can´t miss it if you are into this type of cities.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MarG wrote a review Jun 2024
Tbilisi, Georgia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This Hotel must have been rated a five star at least! Have booked this wonderful Hotel for our family of two adults and two children for two days.
The Hotel is located in the middle of historic Braga in a historic and beautiful building with almost 200 year old marvelous facade.
Everything a visitor needs to see in central Braga is just next to this Hotel.
The check in was smooth and quick. We were given an upgrade to family palace room thanks to the courtesy of receptionist Barbara who shined with professionalism and outstanding skills! All the reception team was very enthusiastic and helpful. I would also name Anna for her help in guiding us in the Hotel.
The Hotel is really amazing with its nice historic setting and decor, at the same time with modern look and high quality management.
The room was quite modern with a double bed and a sofa that easily accommodated two kids. Those areas were separated by wooden sliding doors. Air conditioning system was modern and integrated. Sleeping quality was fine and service superior.
There are three restaurants inside the Hotel, two outdoor pools and an indoor heated pool.
We had half board and both breakfasts and dinners were just perfect. We had an a la carte menu for dinner, which also had a separate kids menu.
Overall this Hotel offered a great online price for such a quality stay, especially when you become a Vila Gale member.
Thanks to the management for excellent operation of this nice Hotel. Would visit again if GOD wills!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vila Galé Hotéis, Marketing at Vila Gale Collection Braga
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear 912marh, Thank you very much for your detailed and glowing review of the Hotel Vila Galé Collection Braga. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful stay with us. It is especially gratifying to know that you appreciated the historical charm and modern amenities of our hotel. We are proud of our beautiful, nearly 200-year-old building and its prime location in the heart of historic Braga. Your kind words about the smooth check-in process and the upgrade to the family palace room are greatly appreciated. We are delighted to hear that Bárbara and Anna, along with the rest of our reception team, provided you with outstanding service. We will make sure to pass along your compliments to them. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed the room's layout, the air conditioning, and the overall sleeping quality. We are also glad that our dining options, including the à la carte dinner menu and the separate kids' menu, met your expectations. We strive to offer exceptional value and are pleased that you found our pricing and membership benefits to be worthwhile. Thank you for recognizing our high-quality management and the efforts of our entire team. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel in the future, if God wills! Best regards, Ricardo Teixeira, Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mariana P wrote a review Oct 2020
Lisbon, Portugal
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Vila Gale´s location is perfect, right in the middle of the old town. Beautiful building, surrounded by other beautiful sights. Plenty to see around the hotel, within walking distance. Parking available. Friendly, very professional staff. Clean rooms, comfortable beds and good internet. Our bathroom was very small but thoroughly clean. Social distancing fully complied with and hand sanitizer available throughout the hotel. Breakfast was very tasty with plenty to choose from. Looking forward to going back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dotty003 wrote a review Mar 2022
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 2 nights. Receptionist at check in was very friendly & welcoming. Our room was a suite, very large but comfortable. The bed was comfortable & pillows too. The dark colours in the room were a little depressing.
Breakfast was excellent. There were 2 coffee pods only per day in our room & we had to request milk which was eventually delivered in a jug.
The location of the hotel is very good.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Degustapr wrote a review Apr 2022
San Juan, Puerto Rico
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is beautiful everywhere you look! The service was great! I was hesitant to stay here because of a couple bad reviews about the room being dark. I don’t know how anyone can get in such a beautiful place. The breakfast was excellent and so was the dinner buffet. The employees really go out of the way to make sure you are being taken care of. I didn’t have to raise my hand for anything. Also, the massage therapist is a healer! I travel a lot and the service here was the best in Portugal!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TRYLNERR wrote a review May 2023
Eugene, Oregon
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an amazing hotel, located at the heart of Braga and close to dining, shops, attractions, but also historically rich, dating back to 1508, and renovated from an old hospital and hermitage. The rooms are shockingly spacious, either overlooking the courtyard (quieter), or with balconies that overlook the city streets. We loved the plentiful breakfast, the wonderful water pressure and heat in the showers, the ability to wander around the old building and discover lounge rooms and artifacts, the ample space on the bathroom countertops, the spa/massage, the two outdoor pools (cool water, one shallow with slides for kids) and one heated indoor pool, and the kid play space.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Have to call down to front desk to regulate the temperature of the room - the only inconvenience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vila Galé Hotéis, Marketing at Vila Gale Collection Braga
Responded 2 May 2023
Dear Trylnerr We kindly, thank you for your preference, when staying at Hotel Vila Galé Collection Braga. Grateful for your reference to our historical building and our facilities and looking forward to receiving you, in a next opportunity, we offer our best regards. Ricardo Teixeira Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bubble177 wrote a review Apr 2024
Geneva, Switzerland
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is beautiful from the outside but that is where the good news ends.
I had written an email to find out about the parking and received a short response telling me that it was not reservable. When we arrived it’s a busy street so difficult to stop and the hotel have put up barriers on the only place that we could have stopped! Anyway walk into the reception to find out where the parking is and ask for help with the luggage. Was told there was no help for luggage and that I should bring it in before going to park the car. So here am I struggling to open the door with my suitcases and the four people at the reception who had no clients couldn’t even be bothered to help me with the door! So after parking the car came back for check in where a very unfriendly receptionist gave us the rules. She didn’t bother with a map (had to ask) and when we asked her what she recommended visited she circled a large area around the map and said all this is within walking distance. Taken up to the room by a young guy who stood at the end of the corridor and pointed to our door and said that’s your room down there!
We then decided to go for dinner and were told the there was no room for hotel guests. The assistant manager proposed a table at 21h30!! Wouldn’t it have been nice if the reception staff had bothered to ask us if we wanted to eat in the hotel and warned us that it was full.
Breakfast was ok, friendly staff (apart from the sergent major at the reception). Coffee was invariably cold but at least served with a smile.
So all in all I would not recommend this hotel. Looks great but badly staffed
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vila Galé Hotéis, Marketing at Vila Gale Collection Braga
Responded 19 Apr 2024
Dear Guest, We greatly appreciate you sharing your experience with us at the Hotel Vila Galé Collection Braga. It is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast and the hospitality of our team in the restaurant. However, we sincerely regret that your experience with the reception service was not entirely satisfactory and that our outdoor parking was full during your stay. We would like to take this opportunity to clarify that parking is complimentary for our guests but is subject to availability. We will do our best to improve communication on this matter to avoid any future inconvenience. Regarding the reception service, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. Rest assured that we are reviewing our procedures to ensure a more efficient and welcoming service for all our guests. We want to assure you that our staff is committed to providing the best possible experience to all our guests. If there is anything else we can do to improve your experience or if you wish to discuss your comments in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future and to exceed your expectations. Best regards, Ricardo Teixeira, Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bigvol wrote a review Apr 2023
TN
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros
Location.
Nice historic areas at front of the property.
Check in staff was very nice.

Cons
Housekeeping never replaced the waters or coffee pods. We had 2 people on the booking and they left 1 regular coffee pod and one decaf. Really?
Breakfast buffet was a zoo.
Loud construction next door, don't plan to sleep in.
Loud noise from meeting/party rooms below our room. Bring earplugs or be ready with some white noise.
Poor maintenance in the bathroom as the faucet shot a stream of water onto the counter and the toilet ran every 20 min or so.
We tried to get an after drink on a friday night around 9:30 pm. The bar was "open" with one patron in yhe corner and no visible staff. We gave up and left after 5-10 minutes. No surprise it was empty on a Friday night with that level of service.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vila Galé Hotéis, Marketing at Vila Gale Collection Braga
Responded 6 Apr 2023
Dear Bigvol We kindly, thank you for your preference, when staying at Hotel Vila Galé Collection Braga. Following your kind contribution and suggestions for improvement, regarding our services, which we thank in advance, we guarantee that we will evaluate them with the utmost consideration. It is gratifying for our team, to work according to our customers satisfaction, seeking to exceed their expectations. Grateful for your reference to the friendliness and helpfulness of our team and looking forward to receiving you, in a next opportunity, we offer our best regards. Ricardo Teixeira Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
terbang wrote a review May 2023
Walldorf, Germany
1.0 of 5 bubbles
In most civilized countries it’s common sense to have proper doors between the toilet and the bedroom. That is, to be explicit, because sometimes you don’t want smells from the toilet in your bedroom. In this hotel toilet doors reach only up to a foot or two below the ceiling and there is absolutely no ventilation at all. Moreover, bed sheets are mede of plastic. The sort of stuff you would expect to find in nursing home and not in a four star hotel! I would not expect this standard at hostel at a fraction of the price. I’ll certainly avoid hotels of this chain in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vila Galé Hotéis, Marketing at Vila Gale Collection Braga
Responded 17 May 2023
Dear Terbang We kindly, thank you for your preference, when staying at Hotel Vila Galé Collection Braga. Following your kind contribution and suggestions for improvement, regarding our services, which we thank in advance, we guarantee that we will evaluate them with the utmost consideration. It is gratifying for our team, to work according to our customers satisfaction, seeking to exceed their expectations. We would like to inform you that we do not have bed sheets made of plastic. We have a waterproof mattress protector. Looking forward to receiving you, in a next opportunity, we offer our best regards. Ricardo teixeira Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Premal R wrote a review Jun 2024
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is not suitable for families with babies/young children. It is not very accessible to use a push chair and the rooms have got quite a few hazards. Our daughter nearly choked on a door stop that was laying around instead of being fixed into the wall. Food is very sub par and staff couldn’t care less.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vila Galé Hotéis, Marketing at Vila Gale Collection Braga
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Premal R, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We deeply regret to hear about the issues you encountered during your visit, especially concerning the safety and well-being of your family. Your comments about the accessibility challenges for pushchairs and the safety hazards in the room, such as the doorstop, are very concerning. We take such matters seriously and will immediately review our safety protocols to ensure all fixtures are securely in place and our rooms are safe for all guests, particularly young children. We also apologize for the quality of the food and the service you experienced. We strive to provide a high standard of service and dining options, and it is disappointing to learn that we fell short during your stay. We will address these issues with our team to prevent future occurrences. Your feedback is invaluable as it helps us improve our services and facilities. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a better experience. Should you decide to return, please contact us directly so we can ensure a more comfortable and enjoyable stay for your family. Thank you once again for your candid review. Sincerely, Ricardo Teixeira Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
guillermo asked a question Jul 2022
Maliano, Spain6 contributions10 helpful votes
Hola me gustaría saber que habitaciones tienen balcón y como reservarla. Gracias
guillermo asked a question Jul 2022
Maliano, Spain6 contributions10 helpful votes
Hola me gustaría saber que habitaciones tienen balcón y como reservarla. Gracias
Answer from AMP2008London
Greater London, United Kingdom162 contributions130 helpful votes
Yes. To be honest there is not much to look out at, but rooms will have very different views as it is quite a large hotel.
Answer from Hugo Jepsen
Porto, Portugal20 contributions5 helpful votes
Yes, it's very close by and, no, few racists, but they'll zoom at you if you look a bit different from them.
evaristova asked a question Sept 2019
La Coruna, Spain52 contributions47 helpful votes
Los niños pueden acceder a la pisicina interior? Y en que horario?
Answer from margaruiz8
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Sí No sé el horario concreto.
RichardfromNZ wrote a tip May 2024
Oneroa, New Zealand73 contributions59 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"When booking online it offered us to join their loyalty club (it’s free) and we got a further 10% discount."
Read full review
Kevin P wrote a tip May 2024
Derry, United Kingdom14 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Finding a decent place to eat was a little bit difficult. My wife’s prawn salad had only four prawns, which was a little bit disappointing."
Read full review
recklessweimie wrote a tip Mar 2024
portland, me72 contributions76 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"I wouldn’t choose to stay here again. I definitely wouldn’t eat here. "
Read full review
2Travelnuts101 wrote a tip Jul 2023
Dublin, California274 contributions179 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the rooms in the modern part"
Read full review
Bellbag62 wrote a tip Jun 2023
West Mersea, United Kingdom89 contributions71 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking on site."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Braga area.
PRICE RANGE
₹12,444 - ₹16,369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PortugalNorthern PortugalBraga DistrictBragaSão José de São Lázaro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
123
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VILA GALE COLLECTION BRAGA - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Vila Gale Collection Braga
Which popular attractions are close to Vila Gale Collection Braga?
Nearby attractions include Jardim de Santa Bárbara (0.3 km), Sé de Braga (0.3 km), and Praça da República (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Vila Gale Collection Braga?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Vila Gale Collection Braga?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Vila Gale Collection Braga?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Vila Gale Collection Braga?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Vila Gale Collection Braga?
Conveniently located restaurants include INATO Bistrô, pPlace® - Restaurant & Cocktail Bar, and O Filho da Mãe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vila Gale Collection Braga?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Vila Gale Collection Braga located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Braga.
Are any cleaning services offered at Vila Gale Collection Braga?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Vila Gale Collection Braga offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Vila Gale Collection Braga?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Spanish, French, and Portuguese.
All Braga HotelsBraga Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BragaHotels near Vila Gale Collection Braga
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire