We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel

Show Prices
#33 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 932: English reviews
Leeds
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I travelled with Jet2 Holidays to the Pestana Bay for a week with my elderly mother. When we arrived at the hotel we were allocated room 1009 on the ground floor. I was initially slightly disappointed that we were so low down but it worked out really well as there were a few steps out of reception and then only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gemma1
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very good hotel .Friendly efficient staff. Very clean. Lovely comfortable beds bedding and towels. The food could have been hotter and there was always a crowd around the coffee machines at breakfast. From a personal point of view I would have liked some chairs in the swimming pool area..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank johnandmargotsmith
PestanaBay, Gestor at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Pestana Ocean Bay All Inclusive Hotel. We were delighted to learn you had a very enjoyable time with us! Looking forward to welcoming you back, Warm regards, The hotel Management More 

Brighton
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent an enjoyable week at this hotel on our first ever bridge holiday. The rooms/apartments are of decent size, clean, comfortable and well equipped (with a full kitchenette, which would seem OTT for an all inclusive resort). Each room has a balcony and full south facing sea view. An unexpected bonus for us was that the hotel completed the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Westwinds3
PestanaBay, Gestor at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Pestana Ocean Bay All Inclusive Hotel. We are delighted to hear you had a great time with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back, Sincerely, The hotel Management More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went for dinner. it was an all you can eat buffet with an open bar. all went well until it was time to pay. The staff didn't know who took the money the reception sent us to the restraint staff they asked at the bar. One staff member who seamed embarrassed that she couldn't told me who would know... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gln865
PestanaBay, Gestor at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback and we hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you. Sincerely, The hotel Management More 

Fredensborg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pestana Ocean View All Inclusive Hotel has good service, delicious food, great spacious apartments, and a friendly professionel staff. It is siuated on the beach with a fantastic ocean view from the balcony and restaurant.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank dan_toke
PestanaBay, Gerente at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your kind comments were shared with all the staff members, who were happy to know of your satisfaction. Looking forward to welcoming you back, Kindest regards, The hotel Management More 

Hoersholm, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel for two weeks and we were very content with our stay. From the check in to the check out we only met very nice people. The junior suite was very tidy and clean, the food was fine and the bar was very good with polite and fast bar-men. Here you get value... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank erik16a
PestanaBay, Gerente at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Pestana Ocean Bay All Inclusive Hotel. We are delighted to hear you had a great time with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back, Sincerely, The hotel Management More 

Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location. Hotel has a lovely atmosphere and the food was enjoyable. Hotel quite dated old fashioned tv's and we did have a family of ants but we moved rooms so not a issue. Staff while efficient seemed quite miserable though which was a shame. Too far away from Funchal so whilst we had a lovely break next time will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
PestanaBay, Gerente at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Pestana Bay Hotel for your holidays and for your review on TripAdvisor, which deserves our best attention. We are very glad to acknowledge your satisfaction. Thank you for the opportunity given. Hope we have the chance to meet again. With our best regards, The Management More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Bridge break with club friends. Room fine, good size, especially balcony, sea facing, sun most of the day. Good size fridge, kettle, etc All inclusive and very good value. However, this year no room service unless you are ill - I always like a continental brekkie in my room. I don't drink alcohol but food fine. A little unadventurous and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Angelaswlondon
PestanaBay, Gerente at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Bay Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Looking forward to welcome you in Madeira in a near future, Sincerely, The hotel Management More 

Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

summer even in November,we stayed only for a week but got a real summer holiday.the hotel is a bit far from the Funchal centrum but the courtesy bus is splendid and when you feel like it you can just relax by the pool. The room in annex 3 was spacious and had been newly redecorated,it was very nice.has agood time,thanks... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tytti152
PestanaBay, Gestor at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your preference and for your review on TripAdvisor, which deserves our best attention. We are very happy to know that you had a lovely stay in our company. Thank you for allowing us to provide you a memorable stay. Hope we have the chance to meet again in a near future! With our best regards,... More 

Bourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

The service throughout Pestana Beach was outstanding. All staff carried out their duties in a friendly, polite manner and displayed a pride in their work. Our room was very comfortable. It had a balcony with a sea view. The maid came in at appropriate times each day and refreshed towels and sheets as and when requested. Our room was quiet... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alanpR992SJ
PestanaBay, Gestor at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your preference and for submiting in TripAdvisor with your past experience. We are happy to acknowledge your satisfaction while staying with us. Thank you for allowing us to provide you pleasant holidays and for your recommendation to future guests. Hope we have the chance to welcome you back! With our best regards, The Management More 

1,031 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (800)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (181)
Viewed
View from Room (108)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (94)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (307)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (220)
Viewed
Amenities (34)
Viewed
Beach (10)
Viewed
Junior Suite (36)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Studio (26)
Viewed
Suite (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
2.0 km away
Enotel Lido Madeira
Enotel Lido Madeira
#24 of 86 in Funchal
2,086 reviews
1.2 km away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,683 reviews
3.3 km away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 4 in Santa Cruz
907 reviews
2.9 km away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 86 in Funchal
2,008 reviews
22.4 km away
Savoy Calheta Beach
Savoy Calheta Beach
#2 of 8 in Calheta
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel

Address: Praia Formosa, Funchal, Madeira 9000-247, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: ₹ 7,477 - ₹ 16,623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Hotel Madeira
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel Funchal, Madeira
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#22 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Family Hotel in Funchal
#31 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#36 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
155 questions
Ask a question
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (155)

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms face the sea and have sun for much of the day. I was on 6th floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Angelaswlondon, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room was more than adequate for our needs, and clean and tidy”
 of 5 bubbles 393justinh, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on level 1 have wifi ”
 of 5 bubbles Denisecorfu, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All lovely ocean views”
 of 5 bubbles davidwC8440SJ, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher the better ”
 of 5 bubbles GumpFamily, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay