We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Show Prices
#14 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

448 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 304: English reviews
Start your review of Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Just spent 10 lovely days at the pestana palms Very relaxing hotel in a great position. Only drawback is that the pool bar food and drinks are rediculously expensive and you have to pay for a parasol around the pool ( what's that about ?). But all in all highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We just returned from our first visit to beautiful Madeira and stayed on the 8th floor of the Pestana's aparthotel. Although it is in need of updating, we had a lovely sea view and were able to leave the door open at night to hear the waves. The room itself was large and quite clean with good service. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Pleasant location though the grounds are not extensive, the staff generally were not very attentive, information was not easy to come by though when assistance was sought it was available. The Tuesday buffet was a low point, having paid the set charge for the meal it transpires that everything else, not just the wine, were extras, so water as well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D C
surrey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from staying at the Pestana Palms Hotel/Apartment. We were moved there after being given a dreadful apartment at the Grand - totally unfit for purpose. We stayed in the Tower and were pleasantly surprised by the nice large apartment looking out over the pool and sea. The room was large clean with bathrobes and slippers. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Slappers3
Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have owned at Pestana Palms for over 15 years and stay for several weeks each year. In addition to the timeshare there is a hotel section which is very popular. Situated on the edge of the Ocean with beautiful gardens, 2 restaurants and a club house with bar, library and quiet lounges this small resort is ideal for visitors...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brenda S
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Brenda S, Thank you very much for your recent stay at Pestana Palms. We would also like to thank you for sharing your experience on this website and hope to welcome you for many more years at our resort. Best regards, Rubina Campos - Guest Relations

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a studio apartment and was clean with balcony and maid service every day. Like most hotels its by the sea so you do have to walk up cardiac hill onto the main road although there are restaurants and a supermarket close by and not up hill!!! There are taxis outside the hotel all of the time so you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JulieJohnson15
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Julie Johnson, Thank you very much for your recent stay at Pestana Palms and also for posting your detailed feedback on this website. We do regret that we did not meet your expectations regarding the Madeira evening. We hope to welcome you among us in a near future. Best regards, Rubina Campos - Guest Relations

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for two nights then five nights in one of the timeshare apartments. Great location on the sea front, breakfast in the hotel was excellent. Hotel room was spacious and modern with small basic cooking area. Timeshare apartment was also spacious and beds extremely comfortable, but the apartment was slightly dated. Nothing crucial but small windows so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank colin g
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Colin G, Thank you very much for your recent stay at Pestana Palms and also for posting your positive and detailed feedback about our hotel on this website. We were glad to understand that you have relaxed in our spa with a massage and that you have enjoyed your stay both in Pestana Palms and in our hotel....

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Good sized rooms, and comfortable beds/fittings. Nice pool area and pool, and a small gym plus steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. Good deal for Happy Hour with all drinks at 40% off, and also good restaurant deals, such as Fish & Chips every Wednesday in Poolside Bar, and 2 course menu for €19 in restaurant on Monday and Thursday is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MaryBarryJackson
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Mary Barry Jackson, Thank you very much for your recent stay at Pestana Palms and also for posting your positive and detailed feedback about our hotel and services on this website. We hope to welcome you among us in a near future. Best regards, Rubina Campos - Guest Relations

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Very nice hotel lovely staff , supermarket in front of the hotel lovely island, very peacefull Breakfast at the hotel whith many diferent brad and fruit Sauna ,steam bath ,massage(very bad from ukrainian lady,very agressive didin't ask me about the pressure and left me Whith purple shoulders marks,and pain )defenitly don't recommend. The restaurant as amazing tipical food, lovely

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _viviane_housoon
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Viviane Housoon, Thank you very much for your recent stay at Pestana Palms and also for posting your positive feedback on this website. Regarding the massage, we do regret that we did not meet your expectations, and we do apologize for causing you insatisfactions and pain. We have informed our therapist aso that further situations shall not occur...

Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017

This was our first visit to Madeira and chose the Pestana Palms based on its location and reviews. We were not disappointed. Check in was smooth and the porter took our cases to our room. He told us he had worked there for 25 years. A good recommendation. Our room was on the 3rd floor of the round building directly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colin D
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Colin D., Thank you very much for your recent stay at Pestana Palms and also for posting your positive and detailed feedback about our hotel, services and staff on this website. We were really glad to understand that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you will not hesitate to visit us again. We hope to...

601 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (227)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (334)
Viewed
Amenities (64)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (30)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (71)
Viewed
Studio (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,670 reviews
1.3 km away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
1,774 reviews
0.9 km away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 87 in Funchal
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
1,308 reviews
0.3 km away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
1,926 reviews
0.3 km away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Address: Rua Gorgulho 15-17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: ₹ 5,890 - ₹ 10,798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal, Madeira
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do ask for a sea view and you will be accommodated. Our room was very quiet.”
  • View toward Funchal from our room
 of 5 bubbles X9182ZSnancyb, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a sea view its amazing and to good to miss”
 of 5 bubbles W4731XTdianem, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Apartments on the west side have the sun most of the day”
  • Sunset
 of 5 bubbles rogercR9411WR, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room 815 for fantastic sea view.”
  • View from room 1412
 of 5 bubbles ValerieT541, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“most rooms have a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles PatM282, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5