We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Expedia.comUS$ 157*
View Deal
#15 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
19/05/2017 20/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 312: English reviews
Start your review of Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
 Click to rate
Hertfordshire
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good size rooms, good location, Restaurants within walking distance and short bus ride to old town. Wifi works well, nice breakfast, didn't have any other meals there as so many good restaurants nearby. But good base to explore Madeira.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyBetty
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest AndyBetty, Thank you very much for your recent stay at Pestana Palms and also for posting your feedback on this website. We were very glad to understand that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you in a near future in Pestana Palms and also in the beautiful Madeira Island. Best regards, Rubina Campos...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Diss, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

As a member of Pestana Guest I have visited this hotel on 7 occasions. We have always found it of good quality, hence the returns. However, this year we were very disappointed. Most of the staff are very friendly and helpful and work hard to keep the clients happy. Breakfasts are satisfactory and the pool area remains clean and attractive....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CAS242
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest CAS242, Thank you for your recent stay with us and also for posting your feedback on this website. We sincerely regret not having fulfilled your expectations during your last stay, for which we would like to apologize. We would also like to tell you that you should have informed about the deficiencies during your stay so that we...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to Madeira once before and stayed at the Pestana Grand which was excellent, so were really looking forward to our visit at the Palms. We were not disappointed. Everything from the check in, room and setting was ideal. The only thing that for us let it down was the hot food in the buffet on the Madeira...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mandedin
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing the Pestana Palms for your recent visit to Madeira Island. Secondly, we would like to thank you for taking your time to post your feedback on this website. We were very glad to understand that you have enjoyed your stay with us, however we do regret that...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Some might think the rooms are dated but really they have character. Lovely views to the ocean and gardens. Staff are extremely friendly and welcoming with no scowls. Apartments are cleaned each day. Bus stop nearby for local and airport buses.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 13bobby
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your recent stay with us and also for taking the time to post your positive feedback on this website. We hope to welcome you in a near future at Pestana Palms. Best regards, Rubina Campos - Guest Relations

Lancashire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived about 9pm and as Vacation Club members we always request twin beds for health reasons, which has never been a problem. However, the beds were made up as a double. We went down to reception immediately and explained, politely, our problem and were curtly told, "it's late, the hotel is full nothing can be done until morning". We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank njohnsey1944
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. N Johnsey 1944, We would like to thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking your time to post your feedback on this website. Regarding your comments about the service at reception upon arrival, we would like to apologize for the misunderstanding about the double bed and also for the attitute at check-in. It is...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for a week to clear some time from our timeshare bank so it only cost us a few points. Access for cars is awkward as you have to park near the gate then get out of the car to press the intercom to open them. Parking is very tight with only about 25 spaces and not much room to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T G
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your recent stay with us and also for taking the time to post your feedback on this website. Reading your comments, I would like to inform you that, regarding the car park, you could have asked for a remote control to open the gate at the reception desk. It is free...

Dornoch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I do not prioritise interior décor, but agree with some comments I have seen about rooms being a little dated. However, more important to me our studio apartment was clean, well equipped for our needs, the bed was comfortable and we had a sea view. It would have been nice if we had been provided, as other guests in hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John D
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. John D., First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at our resort and for taking the time to share your experience with us on this website. Indeed, our hotel is almost 24 years old, and is not comparable with other hotels being built at the moment, however we can be very proud...

Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Just spent 10 lovely days at the pestana palms Very relaxing hotel in a great position. Only drawback is that the pool bar food and drinks are rediculously expensive and you have to pay for a parasol around the pool ( what's that about ?). But all in all highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Ian M, Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms and also for your feedback on this website. We sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations regarding prices practiced at the pool area, however we hope that these do not diminish your favorable regards about your stay with us. Best regards, Rubina...

Reviewed 26 March 2017

We just returned from our first visit to beautiful Madeira and stayed on the 8th floor of the Pestana's aparthotel. Although it is in need of updating, we had a lovely sea view and were able to leave the door open at night to hear the waves. The room itself was large and quite clean with good service. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Nancy B, First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms and also for taking the time to share your experience with us in this well known website. We were very glad to understand that you have really enjoyed your stay in our hotel and also in the beautiful Madeira...

610 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (236)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (334)
Viewed
Amenities (64)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (30)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (71)
Viewed
Studio (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
19/05/2017 20/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,719 reviews
1.4 km away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
1,814 reviews
0.2 km away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 87 in Funchal
1,100 reviews
0.2 km away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
785 reviews
0.3 km away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Address: Rua Gorgulho 15-17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: ₹ 5,468 - ₹ 11,643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal, Madeira
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High floors are best.”
CAS242, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not easy for wheelchairs.”
13bobby, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get to front of apartment block for sea view. Hotel rooms all seem to have sea views.”
johndQ9257GB, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do ask for a sea view and you will be accommodated. Our room was very quiet.”
  • View toward Funchal from our room
X9182ZSnancyb, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a sea view its amazing and to good to miss”
W4731XTdianem, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 157* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 162
Hotels.com
Hotwire.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates