We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,089: English reviews
Start your review of Suite Hotel Eden Mar
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You really find out how good somewhere is when there are problems. This time of year they do refurbishments of rooms and we suffered noise. Sorted and then they offered a new room when the building work extended more than they expected- before we complained! Thanks to reception manager and especially staff Sylvia and Cecelia for much care and attention...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Poetrypls
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were very grateful for your feedback and for choosing the PortoBay group. Your words confirm the dedication of the entire team and our desire to continue to satisfy our guests’ needs. We look forward to your next visit! Thank you, Ana Teresa Matos

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Eden Mar Suite Hotel surpassed all expectations that we had, having previously stayed at their Sister Hotel, the Porto Santa down in the Old Town. We had a Junior Suite on a high floor and as they are all South Facing and overlooking the Pool, we had the sun all day. The management and running of the Complex leaves...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bernard T
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were very grateful for your feedback and for choosing the PortoBay group. Your words confirm the dedication of the entire team and our desire to continue to satisfy our guests needs. We look forward to your next visit! Thank you, Ana Teresa Matos

bexhill on sea
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel gets better the more times you stay there. Our room a junior suite was superbly situated overlooking the pool and the sea with sun on the balcony nearly all day. It was more than well looked after by the maid for which we thank her. A very spacious room and very well appointed. Reception staff are second to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank suspad
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for the time you spent giving us your opinion of your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Ana Teresa Matos

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We love Madeira on our first trip, and Eden Mar seemed to be a pretty perfect launchpad to explore the island. The rooms were clean, with comfortable beds and well-furnished bathrooms. Everything worked for us, though the room decor was a little dated and in need of refurbishment at some point soon. The staff were kind and approachable, both at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adam W
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very grateful for your comments. We were pleased to hear that we met your expectations and hope to see you again at one of our PortoBay group hotels. Best regards, Ana Teresa Matos

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Most relaxing break in a high quality hotel. Our first visit to Madeira and The Eden Mar but we are looking forward to returning. We were recommended to come here and it was a delight from the moment we arrived. Friendly and very well run the hotel and its grounds and facilities were a delight

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IanJDouglas
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were very grateful for your feedback and for choosing the PortoBay group. Your words confirm the dedication of the entire team and our desire to continue to satisfy our guests needs. We look forward to your next visit! Thank you, Ana Teresa Matos

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently stayed at Eden Mar again - second time in 3 months. This was our tenth visit to Madeira and over our visits we have stayed at three other hotels ( including one which at the time was number 1 in Funchal on Trip Advisor). We had stayed previously at Eden Mar thus our decision to return last November. This...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank doodsllaneilian
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us - thank you for sharing it. We are very pleased to hear that our hotel and team were able to meet your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Ana Teresa Matos

Worcestershire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our 10th stay at Eden Mar, we love this place & just have to keep coming back! Again it met up with our expectations - great staff, comfortable surroundings, fab food, amazing gardens. This has now become our regular annual four weeks away from the English winter, warm sunny days in this lovely friendly place, like a home-from-home! We enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Trekwise
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments. Nothing makes us happier than meeting the expectations of our guests. See you soon at a PortoBay hotel, Ana Teresa Matos

Leics
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a junior suite here, not knowing quite what to expect, but hoping for some sunshine. We booked on a bed and breakfast package - the breakfasts were excellent and set us up for the day. Our room had a small kitchenette, two easy chairs and there was a flat screen, modern television in the bedroom and sitting area....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank LeicsHelen
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us - thank you for sharing it. We are very pleased to hear that our hotel and team were able to meet your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Ana Teresa Matos

Argyll.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came here as break from the dull and damp weather in the west of Scotland. The room was very quiet and comfortable, especially the beds, pillows and super soft sheets ensuring a good nights sleep.Staff were helpful and made you feel welcome.The buffet breakfast was fantastic with a huge variety from full english to cheese and ham, cereals, breads,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen G
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very grateful for your comments. We were pleased to hear that we met your expectations and hope to see you again at one of our PortoBay group hotels. Best regards, Ana Teresa Matos

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked a junior suite for our first stay at Eden Mar. The reception desk staff were professional, courteous and helpful. Special mention goes to Sofia who went out of her way to resolve our wish to stay in a higher floor apartment for a better sea view. The apartment was spacious with a fairly large lounge that leads to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KOY08
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were very grateful for your feedback and for choosing the PortoBay group. Your words confirm the dedication of the entire team and our desire to continue to satisfy our guests’ needs. We look forward to your next visit! Thank you, Ana Teresa Matos

1,347 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (697)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (194)
Viewed
View from Room (84)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (106)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
1:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (187)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (626)
Viewed
Amenities (96)
Viewed
Eden Indoor Pool (13)
Viewed
Eden Pool (13)
Viewed
Junior Suite (36)
Viewed
Kids Pool (6)
Viewed
Porto Mare Indoor Pool (29)
Viewed
Porto Mare Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (180)
Viewed
Studio (37)
Viewed
Studio Superior (32)
Viewed
Suite (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (116)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,673 reviews
0.2 km away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
1,926 reviews
0.2 km away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.9 km away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 87 in Funchal
1,090 reviews
1.3 km away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: ₹ 6,993 - ₹ 62,867 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Funchal, Madeira
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Suite Hotel Eden Mar staff and other travellers.
43 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (43)

Questions? Get answers from Suite Hotel Eden Mar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Junior Suites on high floors”
 of 5 bubbles BernardT156, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“higher floor for views.”
 of 5 bubbles suspad, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Superior rooms are larger.”
 of 5 bubbles keiths492, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have sea view”
 of 5 bubbles Strathearn47, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you are not very mobile ask for a room near to a lift.”
 of 5 bubbles S2756RMdavidr, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5