We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel

Expedia.comUS$ 123*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 133*
US$ 123*
Great Deal
US$ 127*
US$ 127*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 136: English reviews
Start your review of Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel
 Click to rate
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful Pousada in Beautiful Location. This Pousada stands beside the Castle and Church with magnificent views of the country side. The Pousada is at the top of the hill but a short walk to restaurants and bars so not isolated. The interior is beautiful and the bedrooms are very comfortable. The breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice and lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karenkaveh
Management response:

Dear Karenkavesh, We thank you so much for your visit and for taking the time to post your feedback on tripadvisor. Learning you apreciate your stay , the location, the service, as well as the room and the food is a joy for all the team, that daily focus to provide our guests the time of their lives. We look...

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the chance to stay in such a historic building with wonderful views that can be enjoyed from a number of areas. Our room was a good size although a little updating wouldn't go amiss, particularly in the bathroom where the old-fashioned over the bath shower expelled water in various directions missing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
Management response:

Dear Steve, We are deligheted to know you had such a great stay, finding this Pousada a lovely place!! Your words are our best reward and joy making us feel proud and motivated . But you are right, bathrooms deserve a redecoration and i'm quite happy to tell you this will hapens still this year. Thank you for your visit...

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Fabulous view of Palmela. Well preserved historic hotel , church and museum with lovely gardens as you walk down to the town.Rooms are clean and quiet , and an adequate size. Breakfast is delicious. Dinner wonderful. Service excellent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey W
Management response:

Dear Jeffrey, We have no words to express the joy we feel by reading your post . The satisfaction of our guests our daily priority and knowing we could met your expetactions make us feel happy and motivated to keep on improving our performance. Thank you so much for your visit and so kind comments. Best Regards Arminda Teixeira

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 31 January 2017

My husband and I flew from Morocco into Lisbon, it was dark when we got there so I wanted a place to stay that first night not far from the airport. We chose the Pousada and I am so glad we did. As we were driving south on the highway I could see the castle on the hill bathed in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sharaz
Management response:

Dear Saraz, After reading your post, we feel honored and really very happy as we were able, for a while, to provide you the time of your life!! Thank you very much for your compliments and kindness. We looking forward to welcome you again. Best Regards

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We are a family of 5 celebrating new years eve, that is not that easy to get confortable in most hotels without booking two separate rooms (which doesn't work for us). We were booked the biggest room ever (actualy they were 3 contiguous rooms). The decoration, the surroundings, the ambiance and the service is just the best there is.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zemurcaz
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for given us the privilege to welcome you and your family on new year'seve. It was a great pleasure and we feel very happy by learning you had such a positive experience. "can't get any better" is the best we could read from a guest and we are gratefull for your so kind compliments!...

Minneapolis
Reviewed 6 November 2016

My husband and I stopped by the Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel a couple of days before checking in to see and check-out the hotel. We were picking up friends from the airport in two days and I wanted to be sure everything was set for our holiday together. We met Hugo at the reception desk and with asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan M
Management response:

Dear Susan, We are delighted to learn you and your Friends hade a wonderful stay with us and the team - particularly Hugo - provided you the time of your life... We already share your post with him. Thank you so much for your preference and so kind compliments that really bring us on a motivation mood. Best Regards A.Teixeira

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We stayed here for a friends wedding and the setting was breathtaking. Gorgeous, spacious rooms in a lovely historic setting overlooking Pamela. Clearly, you need a car if you are staying here which we didn't have, so we spent a small fortune on cabs to get to Setubal. But that was the only small downside. Would like to extend my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 695Sharon
Management response:

Dear Sharon, We are so pleased to learn you had a pleaseant stay and enjoyed the party, the place and our service!! Thank you so much for your kind feedback and special compliments to the reception team. It was a great pleasure to welcome you and we hope you can came again sometime. Best Regards A.Teixeira

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We got married on 15th October at this special place. We had the most unforgettable day of our lives. Nearly 100 of our closest friends and family shared this with us and after a year of planning the whole event exceeded our expectations. Every detail was managed perfectly. The beautiful setting, attentive staff made memories that will last forever. A...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richiepooh82
Management response:

Dear Jessica and Richard, To welcome you and host your Wedding party was an honor and a great, great pleasure and first of all, we would like to thank you for the confidence on our team on such a special ocasion of your lives! We feel very happy by learning we exceed your expectations and grateful for provided you a...

Cheltenham, England
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Had a wonderful couple of days here. Loved everything about it. What made it even better for me is that I have a dairy allergy and don't speak Portugese so was a bit worried about it. I needn't have though as the receptionist totally understood and was even waiting in the breakfast room to explain what and what I couln't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyce99
Management response:

Dear Joyce, We would like to thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to post and share your opinion on tripadvisor. We do feel very happy to know you have a pleasant stay and our staff exceeded your expectations in particularly at the reception desk. Thank you for your so kind words which certainly help and...

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

The location in an old monastry is realy nice, wit great views and spacious rooms. Bed was a bit too hard for our liking. Personnel was friendly but didnt walk the last mile as you would expect in a hotel in this price range.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reinier W
Management response:

Dear Reinier, Thank you so much for your preference and feedback. It was a great pleasure to welcome you and to know you had such a nice experience! We hope to welcome you again someday. Best Regards A.Teixeira

303 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (257)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmela
8.1 km away
Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel
40.0 km away
Pousada de Alcacer do Sal Dom Afonso II
3.9 km away
Hotel do Sado Business & Nature
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Aqualuz Suite Hotel Apartamentos
4.9 km away
RIO Art Guesthouse
RIO Art Guesthouse
#5 of 18 in Setubal
9 reviews
37.2 km away
Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Palmela Pousada is housed in the Castelo de Palmela and has panoramic views over the surrounding town and countryside. The rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with cable TV. Each of the individually styled rooms are spacious and elegantly furnished. The modern en suite bathrooms are equipped with modern amenities. The Palmela Pousada’s restaurant serves a variety of local dishes and wines. Guests can enjoy a drink on the terrace while admiring the view. The Arrabida Natural Park is nearby and Lisbon’s Airport is a 30 minute drive away. Free private parking is available on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel

Address: Estrada de Palmela, Palmela 2950-434, Portugal (Formerly Pousada Castelo de Palmela)
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Palmela
Price Range: ₹ 7,217 - ₹ 12,308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Chesterfield, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 205 - spacious, view to castle over parking. Fine.”
LnL_NJ, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are stunning but you can't beat the bridal suit!”
Jessiesheridan, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“God for the deluxe rooms”
VanGaroto, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are large, quiet and beautifully appointed but you could request a room with a view over either the countryside or estuary”
rosemaryp370, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room overlooking Setubal and the bay.”
Lanchester71, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 123* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 127
Hotels.comUS$ 127
TripAdvisorUS$ 123
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates