SANA Malhoa Hotel

SANA Malhoa Hotel

Avenida José Malhoa 8, Lisbon 1099-089 Portugal
Traveller (465)
Vistas de Lisboa desde la habitación
Room & Suite (211)
Lobby Bar at the SANA Malhoa Hotel
Dining (74)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#93 of 346 hotels in Lisbon
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Located next to the business center of Lisbon and 5 minutes away from the El Corte Inglés Shopping Centre, the SANA Malhoa Hotel is perfect for both leisure and business travelers. The modern and comfortable rooms and suites offer everything you need to feel at home. There is also a SAYANNA WELLNESS & SPA - with SPA services and treatments, as well as a fully equipped Fitness Center. In the new Mediterranean Restaurant full of natural light, buffet breakfast is served and, for lunch and dinner, the best traditional Portuguese and Mediterranean flavors. The Lobby Bar space is perfect to work or relax with a snack or cocktail. The SANA Malhoa hotel also offers unique spaces for all kinds of business or social events.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Hammam
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian and 1 more

Location

Avenida José Malhoa 8, Lisbon 1099-089 Portugal
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 85 out of 100
85
Lisboa Airport
Praça de Espanha
5 minLisbon Metro
Parque
10 minLisbon Metro
1,057Review13Q+A58Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 482
  • 466
  • 75
  • 23
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Richard W wrote a review Apr 2024
Carlisle, United Kingdom249 contributions91 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A really well appointed hotel, conveniently located just outside the city's main area and in the business district, hence a little quieter.

First impressions always count and walking into the hotel was a very pleasant experience. A beautiful high ceilinged lobby with the bar at the far end, it smells clean and fresh - as did every part of the hotel at all times.

Guilherme gave us a fantastic welcome on Sunday morning, going above and beyond to give us information about the city, pointing out places on the.map provided and even rang a couple of places to check availability for us to have
some lunch.

We had booked a sweet, which was on the top floor. It was spacious comfortable and had just about three biggest bed we have seen!

Breakfast is a relaxed affair, comfortable seats and well presented tables, great staff and really tasty food, again beautifully presented, and with more than enough variety. The fresh fruit was as good as I've had.

The bar is relaxed and comfortable, with a good range of drinks and friendly staff a d there's a lovely atrium area, although smoking is still allowed in there.

We made use of the spa one afternoon. It has a decent sized jacuzzi and a sauna and steam room, which was very hot!

The only thing that nothing can be done about is the hotel is unfer the Lisbon airport flight path. Maybe in lower down rooms you don't hear it as much? However, night times are airly quiet, thankfully.

As.orhers have said, if you're arriving by Metro, use Praca d'Espana station on the blue line and walk to the back of the hotel, entering via the car park. Thr Metro is a great and cheap way to get around and taxis are very reasonable too.

Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: To get round the city by metro, tram and bus the €6.80 daily ticket is great value.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations , Guest Services / Front Office at SANA Malhoa Hotel
Responded 17 Apr 2024
Dear Richard, We would like to thank you for choosing SANA Malhoa Hotel for your stay. We were very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and service and that had a great experience with us. We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Rúben Pereira Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sum R wrote a review Oct 2022
Hounslow, United Kingdom2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked airport transfer, driver (Alex and Maria) were very welcoming. The hotel building from outside looked amazing, as well as the reception lobby. Staff were very friendly. Decent sized room, booked 2 separate rooms we requested thenm together and was given connecting rooms which made our experience even better. Very comfortable bed! And decent room facilities. Good breakfast, nice variety of items.

However, had to request for iron each day usually this is always kept in the room. Tea and coffee in room was an additional cost. There was no halal alternative for breakfast i.e. vegan sausages.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Request for iron can be made via room service. Although the reception staff arrange a taxi for...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hélder Raposo, Guest Services / Front Office at SANA Malhoa Hotel
Responded 13 Oct 2022
Dear 906sumr, We would like to thank you for choosing SANA Malhoa Hotel for your stay. We were very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and that had a great experience with us. We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Vera Fonseca Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Banu T wrote a review Jul 2023
Istanbul, Türkiye629 contributions61 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a comfortable, clean and comfortable hotel where we stayed with my wife and son on our 6-day trip to Lisbon. They were very helpful at the time of check-in, even though there was no check-in time, they said that our room was ready. Our room was a very comfortable, comfortable room despite the extra bed. It had a nice bathroom with a bathtub and toiletries. Our room was cleaned very well every day and when we came to our room in the evening, it smelled good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We preferred an accommodation with breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was very varied and everything was very fresh. The location of the hotel was very close to two bus stops, train station to Sintra and metro station. We had no difficulty in reaching both the airport and the inner city. I would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hélder Raposo, Guest Services / Front Office at SANA Malhoa Hotel
Responded 14 Jul 2023
Dear Banu T, Thank you very much for your excellent rating and also for the kind words addressed to our Staff and our service. We hope to welcome you and your family in the future! Best Regards, Vera Fonseca Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annemarija A wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I am extremely upset that Sana Malhoa did not tell me about the cost for a laundry service, although its front desk staff offered it to me in the first place. I had no idea it was for an extra cost, not to mention that it would cost 100 euros!!! Absolutely outrageous! Had I known this was the price, I would never have done the laundry service. I wouldn’t have even thought of doing it, it was the front desk staff that offered it to me. I wish they had the courtesy to mention it was a service for an extra cost. I am extremely upset. It is not acceptable that a laundry service costs the same price as my stay for one night at Sana Malhoa. Given the situation, I would want Sana Malhoa to refund me for this service.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hélder Raposo, Guest Services / Front Office at SANA Malhoa Hotel
Responded 15 Apr 2022
Dear Mrs. Annemarija, First of all let us thank you for your preference by choosing SANA Malhoa Hotel. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not go as expected and we weren’t able to fulfill your highest expectations. Regarding the laundry service of the hotel, it is available at an extra cost, as your reservation included the bed and breakfast only. The prices for the laundry service are available through our SANIA App, as all other information about the hotel. SANIA App information was given by our front desk staff, and it was never mentioned that this service is free of charge. Our front desk all is also always available to confirm any information or prices about supplemental services. We hope to have been able to clarify this situation and still hope we can welcome you again in a future reservation. Our kind regards, Luís Farelo Guest Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HamzaBham wrote a review Jun 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom41 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It's not in the centre but Uber cost around €15 from the airport and a similar amount to the centre. However the metro is close by too.
Nice warm welcome from Ruben on the desk late at night.
Room was clean and comfortable wit a rare bath rather than just a shower.
Breakfast was good especially the pastries. Staff in the buffet restaurant were attentive and the ambience was calming and relaxing.
Overall, we had a comfortable stay and I'd recommend this Sana.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hélder Raposo, Guest Services / Front Office at SANA Malhoa Hotel
Responded 20 Jun 2022
Dear HamzaBham, We would like to thank you for choosing SANA Malhoa Hotel for your stay. We were very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and service and that had a great experience with us. We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Vera Fonseca Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PerfectStormKK wrote a review May 2022
Cashel, Ireland14 contributions30 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
A nice hotel. Very clean. Staff were generally pleasant apart from one individual on reception who had zero personality. We stayed 10 days. One free bottle of water….everything in the room had to be paid for including water and coffee. A colleague had to pay €22 for water that was understood to be free! No price list for the minibar either so all a bit unclear. No kettle so tea not an option. No iron. Hard to ask for one every day from reception as you were only allowed have it for 30 minutes. Ridiculous for a business hotel. No pool either which was disappointing. Breakfast was generally good. However the scrambled eggs tasted awful and for two days the orange juice was fizzy! Bar prices were ridiculous. €8 for a beer that was €2.20 around the corner. A nice hotel but better options available.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Bring an iron!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hélder Raposo, Guest Services / Front Office at SANA Malhoa Hotel
Responded 20 May 2022
Dear PerfectStormKK We would like to thank you for choosing SANA Malhoa Hotel for your stay. We were saddened to read that your experience with us was not enjoyable as you expected. We can guarantee you that we always put an extra effort to provide our guest with high service standards and a good experience. We do appreciate your review and, for that reason, we already shared your words with our team in order to improve our service. We would be pleased to welcome you back in the future and have the opportunity to provide you with a pleasant experience. Kind regards, Hélder Raposo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alicia Ludescher wrote a review Feb 2023
Peosta, Iowa397 contributions118 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I found the SANA Malhoa when I was searching for a one night stay at a hotel near the Lisbon Airport for a reasonable price. For less than $150 per night, this was a great option. I was truly impressed with the hotel and the amenities. A family member spent time in the spa, and was very pleased with the services. The room sizes are nice, we had a suite with a queen size bed and pullout sofa bed. The dining at the hotel for breakfast was excellent, it was buffet style. The ambiance was lovely and the wait staff were attentive. My only issue was the quality of the mattresses and pillows. They were solid, with very little cushion or flex. The location of the hotel is about 5 - 10 minutes from the airport by car, and there are also dining and shopping available within a 10 minutes walk in any direction. Overall, I would say without taking the mattress into consideration, this hotel was a worth it overnight stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hélder Raposo, Guest Services / Front Office at SANA Malhoa Hotel
Responded 6 Feb 2023
Dear alicialudescher Thank you for the preference shown towards SANA Malhoa Hotel and the willingness to let us know your opinion about our service. Kind regards, Vera Fonseca Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter M wrote a review Jun 2022
Daylesford, Australia703 contributions286 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Here for a conference. Very professional. Very clean. Breakfast was good. Nice bar. Decent conference facilities. It actually had a decent gymn set up and free steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi .
There is a major department store 10 minutes walk away with great food hall. Also local restaurants within 5 minutes walk and my advice is go even one street further to get much cheaper local places at a fraction of the cost. Hotel drinks were very pricey which is my only minor gripe. Few colleagues could hear the planes on approach to Lisbon airport but in truth I could not
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hélder Raposo, Guest Services / Front Office at SANA Malhoa Hotel
Responded 28 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for choosing SANA Malhoa Hotel for your stay. We were very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and service and that had a great experience with us. We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Vera Fonseca Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
liverpool1023 wrote a review Dec 2022
London, United Kingdom1,125 contribution29,768 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We overnighted here due to a British Airways flight cancellation. Despite having a good number of seriously fed-up travellers dumped on them - this hotel responded fantastically well. The front desk were sympathetic, courteous and organized. A buffet was rustled up at short notice and rooms were sorted out in a decent timeframe. The staff in the restaurant were really nice. The rooms are modern, comfortable and despite the modest trauma of an unplanned for night in Lisbon we slept soundly. Well done SANA hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hélder Raposo, Guest Services / Front Office at SANA Malhoa Hotel
Responded 15 Dec 2022
Dear liverpool1023 We would like to thank you for choosing SANA Malhoa Hotel for your stay. We were very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and service and that had a great experience with us. We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Vera Fonseca Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tejal P wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was beautiful and it was the most calm and tranquil place to come back to after a long day out! The room was always spotless clean with the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in - I’d recommend firmer pillows but other than that everything was outstanding! From service of the staff to the plentiful choice of food at breakfast - intercontinental style! We arrived early morning and were given the opportunity to check in early and also they kindly let us check out at 2pm without any charge on both occasions. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lisbon. It is in the perfect location - 2 min walk from underground station and a 7 min walk from Lidl supermarket. Perfect location!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations , Guest Services / Front Office at SANA Malhoa Hotel
Responded 1 Apr 2024
Dear Tejal P, We would like to thank you for choosing SANA Malhoa Hotel for your stay. We were very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and service and that had a great experience with us. We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Rúben Pereira Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Daniel H
1 contribution
Something from SPA Service is included but I can’t remember what exactly
Answer from Christopher L H
19 contributions5 helpful votes
I never heard the call to prayer at any time of the day. I was awake in my room before dawn, and outside one day at the time of the evening prayers. I had a room on the “back” of the hotel. The mosque is about 500 m away and atop a hill, behind a modern multi-story office building. There are three western hotels within a stones throw. The section of Lisboa is quiet. An occasional jet airplane is the only “noise” I recall. The SANA is very modern with soundproof walls and windows.
john r asked a question Nov 2016
Waterford, Ireland1 contribution
hi what is the easiest way to get to hotel from airport
Answer from CatArnoBE
24 contributions25 helpful votes
The easiest (and cheapest!) way is to take the metro! It's right underneath the airport. Just take the line that goes to Praça de Espanha, from there it's a 5 min walk. The metro takes around 25 min and you can buy tickets from an automat. If you prefer you can also take a cab, the drive will be around 15-25 Euro.
Answer from Peg A
Cleveland, Ohio196 contributions106 helpful votes
This hotel I am pretty sure won't charge you if you were a staying guest. It is a classy place. You will probably need to tip the helper who gets your luggage when you pick it up!
Answer from Indy P
London, United Kingdom17 contributions6 helpful votes
There were no tea/coffee facilities in the bedrooms. I presume this is due to the fact that they room service. This was one of my concerns, aswell.
Yapalfeu wrote a tip May 2024
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No need any helpful tips, the staff will be happy to do it as they did it with us."
Read full review
Richard W wrote a tip Apr 2024
Carlisle, United Kingdom249 contributions91 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"To get round the city by metro, tram and bus the €6.80 daily ticket is great value."
Read full review
Educator wrote a tip Jan 2024
5 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Front desk staff does not have any compassion and will not help you if you have an accident and require medical attention. "
Read full review
Stellar M wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Suggest you choose this hotel and commute with metro or walk, rather than stay in central hotels."
Read full review
Phil S wrote a tip Oct 2023
Dunblane, United Kingdom103 contributions63 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get off at Praca de Espana and take the stairs on the right. Walk a short distance and take the first left, hotel car park is opposite you."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lisbon area.
PRICE RANGE
₹12,783 - ₹17,462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel sana malhoa, sana malhoa lisbon
LOCATION
PortugalCentral PortugalLisbon DistrictLisbon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
185
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SANA MALHOA HOTEL (Lisbon) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about SANA Malhoa Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to SANA Malhoa Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Central Mosque of Lisbon (0.4 km), Arco de Sao Bento (0.4 km), and Teatro Da Comuna (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at SANA Malhoa Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at SANA Malhoa Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at SANA Malhoa Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at SANA Malhoa Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to SANA Malhoa Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include A Tasquinha do Lagarto, Soul Garden, and Erva Restaurante & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at SANA Malhoa Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at SANA Malhoa Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does SANA Malhoa Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at SANA Malhoa Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to SANA Malhoa Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Castelo de São Jorge (3.7 km), Mosteiro dos Jeronimos (5.8 km), and Mosteiro de São Vicente de Fora (3.8 km).
All Lisbon HotelsLisbon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LisbonHotels near SANA Malhoa Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire