We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,063 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pestana Cidadela Cascais
See the most recent reviews
Showing 608: English reviews
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2016

This place oozes class and charm. It's a former Pousada but still a hotel. And still hung with history. It sits overlooking the stylish marina and obviously caters for the deck-shoe brigade. Sadly we were only here for drinks and snacks. A weekend break would be better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bryanedwin
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Bryan Edwin, Thabk your very much for sharing your feedback with us. We will, surelly, be waiting for you for a weekend break. Hoping to welcome you in our Hotel very soon, Best Regards, Joana Soeiro Hotel Manager

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Stayed here as part of a tour, lucky to get a 2nd Floor room witha sunny balcony with sunloungers & views of the Marina. Most comfortable bed ever! Very attentative and helpful staff - however the dining room was quite disorganised - had to remind twice about drinks order and on the second time they even implied we had drunk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nonigee
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Nonigee, Thank you very much for the review that you have submitted in this website about your recent stay at the Pestana Cidadela Cascais, Pousada & Art District. Good notice of your comments have been taken into consideration, and we are very happy to hear that you have appreciated your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you...

Bordeaux, France
Reviewed 28 June 2016

A fantastic weekend with friends were wonderful memories were made in amazingly beautiful surroundings. A unique hotel, with great facilities, the most comfortable bed (& pillows) I've ever slept in, a breakfast made for kings (well, queens in this case) and a pool-side hidden away within the Citadella walls.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VickiD33000
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Ms. VickiD33000, Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at the Pestana Cidadela Cascais, Pousada & Art District and for sharing your experience here with us on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important for us, we always try to keep our hotel up to the standard expected by our visitors in order to offer them...

Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We stayed here for one night as part of a tour. We were located in a gun room looking over the yachts. Interesting adaptation produced a large luxurious room. Good choice at breakfast. The evening meal could have been better - particularly the wine service. Bar was also slow in opening. Would also liked to have seen better signage. But...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew S
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Andrew S., Thank you very much for the review that you have submitted in this website about your recent stay at the Pestana Cidadela Cascais, Pousada & Art District. Good notice of your comments has been take in consideration, and we are very happy to hear that you have appreciated your stay with us. We look forward to welcome...

Reviewed 27 June 2016

I discovered the hotel on business and would very much like to return on holiday. Modern, clean, soundproof rooms, great quality of bedding. Lots of hallways and you may get lost at first. Breakfast is fantastic, but don't know for other meals and did not test the bar inside the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vitango
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Vitango, Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at the Pestana Cidadela de Cascais, Pousada & Art District .We really appreciated your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and the room, and we hope that in another occasion you may have the opportunity and time to try all our...

Scottish Borders
Reviewed 26 June 2016

We spent one night here as part of a tour. Room was luxurious but a bit impractical. Unnecessary glass door in the toilet made it seem cramped when it should have been spacious. Musty smell in room reminiscent of the damp that must have been present when it was the basement. Tiny window set high up reinforced the impression of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank happyholidays8
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear happyholidays8, Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us. Best regards, Joana Soeiro Hotel Manager

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2016

A truly amazing hotel located inside the walls of an ancient fort. A unique shape with great views of the marina and ocean. Nice outside seating areas, good breakfasts and great bedrooms. One of the better hotels we have visited.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Mr. David M., The Pestana Cidadela Cascais would like to thank you for your excellent review. We would also like to say that your kind review gaves us a great feeling of happiness and proud. We are all very happy to hear that you have enjoyed teh stay with us and we look forward to welcome you once again....

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 24 June 2016

It is always pleasant when one returns to a large, high-class hotel, only for the third time, and is greeted by the Maitre d'Hotel in a respectful, though friendly, manner telling you how happy he is to see you back. We really love this place because of its situation with magnificent views and because of the quality of its service....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlos_R_888
Marta E, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Carlos_R_888, We appologize for the late response but we had some techenical problems. We were very happy reading your kind comments, your words are a truly motivation for the whole team. Our main purpose is our guests satisfaction and your comments told us that we are on the right path. We will be very pleased to receive you...

Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in April. This is a super smart, stylish hotel. Set in the Arts District but within easy walking distance of the town, beach and shops. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, poached eggs on request together with specialist coffees: cappuccino etc. We had a superior room with a balcony over looking the marina...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Jane H., Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at the Pestana Cidadela De Cascais, Pousada & Art District .We really appreciated your detailed review and believe that it will be very useful for other travelers who are thinking to come to Cascais. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Lovely hotel and rooms with sea views, friendly and helpful staff plus good food service. Ideal! We arrived hoping to relax and we did. The hotel is easily located for walks to town and to the west to see more of the coast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bhak36
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Bhak36, Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at the Pestana Cidadela de Cascais, Pousada & Art District and for sharing your experience here with us on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important for us, we always try to keep our hotel up to the standard expected by our visitors in order to offer them...

927 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (516)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (179)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (168)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (324)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Junior Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (69)
Viewed
Superior Balcony by Paulo Arraiano (32)
Viewed
Superior Balcony by Paulo Brighenti (33)
Viewed
Superior Room by Pedro Matos (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.5 km away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
1.2 km away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 39 in Cascais
1,062 reviews
1.6 km away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#9 of 39 in Cascais
487 reviews
0.5 km away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
685 reviews
6.1 km away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 39 in Cascais
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This luxury hotel, Pestana Cidadela Cascais, is set within the walls of the historical fortress, the emblematic 16th century Citadel of Cascais, in the centre of Cascais. It is a place where ancient meets modern, and many of the rooms are dramatically set into the former barracks which makes each space a different experience, while others, more modern, enjoy spectacular views to the sea or over the huge internal patio spaces. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Address: Avenida Dom Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Price Range: ₹ 8,961 - ₹ 17,921 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cascais
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#6 Business Hotel in Cascais
#6 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pestana Cidadela Cascais staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Cidadela Cascais staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Please not the court!”
 of 5 bubbles Dimonte0412, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Superior Sea view room is the most expensive but really doesn't worth it”
  • not the most impressive sea view from the balcony
 of 5 bubbles vz700, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles Herman1745, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Junior suites are beautiful! But all rooms we saw looked of a lovely quality.”
  • Junior suite bedroom
  • Standard room
 of 5 bubbles Buggybex, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had a superior seaview room on the second floor closer to the pool. Very good view of the marina and the Atlantic.”
 of 5 bubbles georgehT5160LB, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay