We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pousada Da Ria de Aveiro Charming Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Pousada Da Ria de Aveiro Charming Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 33: English reviews
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

40 years ago, I went here by car and DID NOT notice how far way from both Porto and Aveiro this hotel actually is. This time my husband and I took a taxi from Aveiro Station and certainly noticed the distance how far it is from civilisation, by the amount on the taxi-meter. In fact, you had the impression this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Polly S
Gestor R, Gerente geral at Pousada Da Ria de Aveiro Charming Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada da Ria and for taking the time to post your opinion, as it helps us to get better. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet all your expectations. We hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal. Best Regards, The Management More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2016

What a tranquil setting for a hotel. A friend of mine booked this hotel for me whist I was there on business as his parents live just down the road. And what can I say, my room was very well decorated and furnished and I understand each room is done individually. The staff are very friendly, although I only met... More 

Helpful?
Thank SunSeekers101
Gestor R, Gerente at Pousada Da Ria de Aveiro Charming Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. SunSeekers101, I would like to thank you for the fantastic review of Pousada da Ria. We were delighted to read your kind comments on the performance and attitude of our team for their services and facilities provided by the Pousada da Ria aswell as all of the surroundings. We are proud of our product and we work daily... More 

Fatima, Portugal
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2016

I came to this Pousada from the Pousada de Viseu which is absolutely great, so i was a bit disappointed with this one. The bathroom was really poor with a faint light, the toilet seat was of cheap plastic, it as no lift so you have to carry the luggage 2 flights of stairs. The staff needs more training. And... More 

Helpful?
Thank Manzarra
Gestor R, Gerente at Pousada Da Ria de Aveiro Charming Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Manzarra, Thank you for the time avaiable on the review made about Pousada da Ria. We are sorry to know that Pousada da Ria have not been up to the expecations, specially when coming from other Pousada de Portugal. We thank you for the comments that allow us to work in out less positive points so we can... More 

Stenungsund, Sweden
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2016

We have stayed in many pousadas in Portugal and normally love them! The standard has always been high. We booked this pousada on the internet and were very surprised when we arrived. The hotel was freezing cold. The staff was extremely helpful and kind and welcoming, but the rooms are extremely run down and worn down and old-fashioned. The beds... More 

Helpful?
Thank 441charlottes
Ivo C, Gerente at Pousada Da Ria de Aveiro Charming Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. 441charlottes, We would like to thank you for the time to review Pousada da Ria and that appreciate your opinion and comments. It is with regret that we realize you didn't had a memorable stay at our Pousada. We take all opinions of guests and friends into consideration so we can keep to improve our services. We hope,... More 

Guimaraes, Portugal
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

Honestly, almost everything was perfect with exception of the smell from the river. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, the staff was kind and the hotel was quite well located for a relaxing time. Also, you could go to Aveiro in a short trip which made the experience even better. Only the smell was a bad thing!

Helpful?
Thank bbrito89
Ivo C, Gerente at Pousada Da Ria de Aveiro Charming Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Bbrito89, I thank now the time available to complete the questionnaire. We were delighted to read your kind comments on the performance and attitude of our team for their services and facilities provided by the Pousada da Ria. We are proud of our product and we work daily to meet the legitimate expectations of our visitors, we like... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2015

Summary: a great and peaceful place to stay. Awesome service, really nice breakfast, nice rooms. Perfect and invigorating for a 2 or 3 nights. NOTE: it is in the middle of nowhere and about 40mins away from Aveiro (car travel) Let's start by the location: This is a place with history and not your common average hotel or hostel. You... More 

Helpful?
Thank João V
Ivo C, Gerente at Pousada Da Ria de Aveiro Charming Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr João V, I would like to thank you for the review of Pousada da Ria. We were delighted to read your kind comments on the performance and attitude of our team for their services and facilities provided by the Pousada da Ria aswell of the surrounds. We are proud of our product and we work daily to meet... More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

It is a small property that has been worn out and needs updating. The staff was very kind and attentive and since they only had three guests, the place was rather dead. Breakfast had excellent fresh selections of everything one need and more! Unfortunately the coffee machine is not genuine and making cappuccino with dry sweet powdered substance is not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sillyme2
Ivo C, Gerente at Pousada Da Ria de Aveiro Charming Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr João V, I would like to thank you for the review of Pousada da Ria. We were delighted to read your kind comments on the performance and attitude of our team even though the facilities did not match your loyal expectations. Once again thank the kind comments that allows us to improve our service and we hope to... More 

Munich
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

We were not so very happy with this pousada and the location. The breakfast has many things to offer but what you get does not taste too great nor does it have great quality. The scrambled eggs were cold at both days, the bread was way too soft, coffee comes from a machine that uses freeze dried coffee and milk... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank drscheme
Ivo C, Gerente at Pousada Da Ria de Aveiro Charming Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Drscheme I would like to thank you for the time available to review Pousada da Ria. We take all the comments about Pousada da Ria under consideration and we are sorry that the Pousada da Ria did not match the legitimate expectations you had about Pousadas de Portugal. Once again thank you for the comments that give us... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2015

It was quite frankly the worst night I've ever had in a hotel and I never want to go back to a hotel owned by Pestana Group The hotel is misleading people by describing a room without soundproofing as 'modern'. It was outdated and completely overpriced. I was woken up at 5 am by noise from staff talking and laughing... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank nathan431
Ivo C, Gerente at Pousada Da Ria de Aveiro Charming Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Nathan 431, I would like to thank you for the time available to review Pousada da Ria. We take all the comments about Pousada da Ria under consideration and we are sorry that the Pousada da Ria did not match the legitimate expectations you had about Pousadas de Portugal. As per our conversation here at the Hotel I... More 

Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2015

I had higher expectations with this pousada. The pros: Helpful staff, peaceful location. The cons: the hotel is in the lagoon side, far from the beach. If you need to go to Aveiro (as was my case) this is very far from car. The rooms are old fashioned and not very comfortable. The worst was the bad smell from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank exigente_8
Ivo C, Gerente at Pousada Da Ria de Aveiro Charming Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Nathan 431, I would like to thank you for the time available to review Pousada da Ria. We take all the comments about Pousada da Ria under consideration and we are sorry that the Pousada da Ria and the location did not match the legitimate expectations you had about Pousadas de Portugal. Best Regards, Ivo Cruz Unit Manager... More 

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torreira
10.1 km away
Melia Ria Hotel
Melia Ria Hotel
#2 of 16 in Aveiro
844 reviews
17.5 km away
Furadouro Boutique Hotel Beach & SPA
0.7 km away
Jardins da Ria
Jardins da Ria
#3 of 3 in Torreira
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Hotel Moliceiro
Hotel Moliceiro
#1 of 16 in Aveiro
396 reviews
14.6 km away
Montebelo Vista Alegre Ilhavo Hotel
9.5 km away
Veneza Hotel
Veneza Hotel
#4 of 16 in Aveiro
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pousada da Torreira, Murtosa, in is located within the isthmus that connects Murtosa to the San Jacinto beaches, in Ria de Aveiro, integrating a uniquely beautiful protected natural landscape in the Bico do Muranzel. This hotel in Aveiro, opened in the 60s, has the Ria de Aveiro passing right under its balconies. From here you can contemplate the traditional toil of the famous Moliceiros fishermen in the tranquillity of the day's end. The characteristics of the Ria, formed by a large number of lakes, make this area a pleasant place for outdoors sports, such as an unforgettable boat ride, a swim in the pool, horseback riding or simply enjoying the fantastic neighbouring beaches. The modern rooms are decorated in warm, bright tones and have TV, bath, shower, air conditioning and a balcony overlooking the gardens or the river, where you can admire the natural landscape of the region. The Buzios restaurant offers a superb view and has a delicious menu of traditional Portuguese refined cuisine. You can indulge yourself in an eel stew with peppers or if you prefer meat, bean stew with suckling pig is a good option. Regional desserts including "soft-eggs" are a great choice of dessert. The Pousada da Ria is near the town of Sao Jacinto, about 15 minutes by car and there is free parking on site. Promotions ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pousada Da Ria de Aveiro Charming Hotel

Address: Bico do Muranzel, Torreira 3870-301, Portugal (Formerly Pousada da Torreira Murtosa, Ria de Aveiro)
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Torreira
Price Range: ₹ 5,130 - ₹ 11,012 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Da Ria de Aveiro Charming Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pousada Da Ria de Aveiro Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pousada Da Ria de Aveiro Charming Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room that has a lake side view”
 of 5 bubbles SunSeekers101, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“It has wifi but never worked. Choose a room with balcony facing the lagoon.”
 of 5 bubbles Manzarra, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“A room with a nice view is to be recommended”
  • The beach, photo taken from the room
 of 5 bubbles 441charlottes, 12 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have the same nice view. Pick any”
 of 5 bubbles jo_ov903, 21 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles nathan431, 19 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay