We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Camoes

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Camoes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 42: English reviews
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Room are simple and the Hotel as just the needed ameneties, it serves the need and staff are helpfull, breakfast was good enough, stayed for the Azores Triathlon, and thee location was quiet convenient close to the event venue.

Helpful?
Thank Paulofigas
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016

I have been at Camoes Hotel for a business trip in the Azores and have to say that the rooms are tidy and comfortable, staff is nice and always available to assist and the morning breakfast offers a good quality of dishes. In my opinion, the only weak point could be the Hotel restaurant which does not provide much choice.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bali_1986
Management response:

Dear client, We appreciate your comment, it was a pleasure to have you staying with us. We hope to see you in the future. Kind regards, Mónica Medeiros More 

Porto, portugal
Level Contributor
140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Pros: 1. Central location in Ponta Delgada 2. Clean 3. Average free breakfast 4. Fast wifi. Cons: 1. The rooms smell "old", nothing nice, and need an urgente upgrade although everything is clean. 2. The rooms, bathroom and corridors are dark and old. Even the photos on the wall look faded. 3. No car parking. Although the underground parking nearby... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maciej H
Management response:

Dear Guest, We appreciate your feedback is always important for us to know the opinion of our customers. Our Hotel is situated in the "heart" of Ponta Delgada city in a historical building and our decor styling is based in the Portuguese World Discovering. Thank you for being with us, we hope to provide you a better stay in the... More 

Travellers are raving about these Ponta Delgada hotels

Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016

The location is good, directly in the city. But we had a room in the 1st floor to the street, it was very loud all the time! No wifi reception in the room, we had to go out of the room to have reception in the corridor! So in the end it was not a comfortable stay. The only good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thanassis T
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2016

I stayed in this hotel as part of a package tour. It rates its self as a 4-Star Hotel of which it is by NO MEANS. The rooms are basic with no Wi-Fi, and the only place to get Wi-Fi is in the bar area. Mattress/bed is very uncomfortable, and is a left over from the 60’s. Do not expect... More 

Helpful?
Thank M V
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

We booked Camoes for 8 nights, but nearly left after check in, which was one of the rudest I have ever experienced. Very unprofessional, unpleasant receptionist, accusing me of lying about the details of reservation, not willing to give any help for car parking directions, directing me to management for payment explanations (we came at midnight) spoiled our first hours... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Piomak64
Management response:

Dear Mr. Piotr Makosz, We appreciate your comment about your stay in our Hotel. We regret that you had a bad experience on your check-in day and we really apologize for that. About the parking, we don't have parking place but very close to the Hotel is possible to find many options to park the car. We hope to see... More 

France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

This is a basic budget hotel close to the airport (10 euro taxi ride away). It looks and feels tired and worn down. The breakfast was extremely basic and the beds were not that comfortable. It's fine for just a night though and not that expensive. Don't ruin your holiday in the Azores by basing yourself here though!

Helpful?
Thank loobyloz83
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Great hotel in the center of Ponta Delgada. Less than 2 blocks from the main "Avenida Infante Henrique" where many quaint shop and awesome restaurants dot the harbour. If you have a sweet tooth, here's a great tip. Go to the Confeitaria A Colmeia in the nearby SolMar shopping center. Mostly pastries, but lunch there was good too. I will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason B
Lisbon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Excelent hotel in the center of Ponta Delgada. The staff is very nice and always ready to help you. We were given a suite (very large), dispite booking a normal room. It´s a very calm place, but so is all Pionta Delgada. Breakfast could be better. Croissants weren´t nice, and the was only natural yougurt available.

Helpful?
Thank Tomasito_190
Hesse, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2016

A very nice hotel. The staff is very friendly. And a located very central. But the food they serve for breakfast is almost the same every day. I missed fruits, like ananas, mangoes, water melon, honey melon, apples and things like that. But so far every think was nice!

Helpful?
Thank Fraegnki

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.7 km away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
584 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
645 reviews
0.6 km away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota
Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota
#17 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
141 reviews
1.0 km away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
654 reviews
31.1 km away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hotel Camoes

Address: Largo de Camoes 38, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-304, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Price Range: ₹ 4,181 - ₹ 6,306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Camoes 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Camoes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camoes Hotel Ponta Delgada
Hotel Camoes Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Camoes staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Camoes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to the street are very loud!”
 of 5 bubbles ThanassisT, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“First floor rooms, although next door to Reception, provided instant connection to free Wifi”
  • Nice room overlooking a small patio courtyard below. Central location, and satisfying breakfast
  • Nice room overlooking a small patio courtyard below. Central location, and satisfying breakfast
  • Nice room overlooking a small patio courtyard below. Central location, and satisfying breakfast
  • Nice room overlooking a small patio courtyard below. Central location, and satisfying breakfast
  • Nice room overlooking a small patio courtyard below. Central location, and satisfying breakfast
  • Nice room overlooking a small patio courtyard below. Central location, and satisfying breakfast
  • Nice room overlooking a small patio courtyard below. Central location, and satisfying breakfast
 of 5 bubbles 159jasonb, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Due to noise from the street, I would avoid the rooms at the front”
 of 5 bubbles 263dh, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a large bed and you will get the suite”
 of 5 bubbles curtiscm68, 3 Sep 2011 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay