We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Battunga Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
Battunga Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 25: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 30 October 2016

It is rated 3.5 stars, but that does not reflect how lovely a place it is to stay. The accommodation is roomy and comfortable. The host has thought of everything. Nicely decorated etc. There are BBQ facilities and cooking availability in each room. It is a great place to sit and ponder, lovely and peaceful. Nearby there are many enjoyable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
sistersAussie, Owner at Battunga Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and pleased you enjoyed your stay at Battunga. Just to let you know we are a 4 star rated property.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely setting. We booked 3 of the 4 units available. Lovely breakfast of eggs, bacon, tomato and orange juice supplied in our fridge so we could cook our own breakfast. The host delivered freshly baked loaves of bread to our unit shortly after arrival along with muffins just out of the oven a very personal touch Wood delivered each day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia A
sistersAussie, Owner at Battunga Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We endeavour to make all visits to Battunga memorable and enjoyable. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Stayed 2 nights it was freezing at Clare, but we had a wonderful wood heater & our accommodation was great. We couldn't believe after 2 hrs of our arrival - knock on the door and we were given freshly made blueberry muffins & bread. Also really quiet with lovely bush surroundings and kookaburras and lots of other birds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda K
sistersAussie, Owner at Battunga Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I love cooking and sharing this with our guests. Our ultimate aim is to please and for you to enjoy your stay.So pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time at Battunga

Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in this peaceful part of the Clare Valley. Situated in the back blocks of the Skilly Valley it is set on rolling hills, with all the wildlife one can expect: birds, kangaroos, rabbits, foxes etc. The accommodation is modern, clean with a good bed and shower and hearty breakfast provisions. We wanted to unplug after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vari66
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 24 July 2015

We had a wonderful weekend away in the Clare Valley and our stay at Battunga was what made it. The extras such as freshly baked bread, fantastic bacon from the local butcher and wood each day for the fire were a real treat. Plenty of room with everything you could possibly need supplied. We found Battunga to be very central...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie T
Cookham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2015

We spent 4 nights in the Kookaburra cottage and it was wonderful. Joyleen and Peter provided us with plenty of wood each day and plenty of food for breakfast. In addition to the usual cereal, they gave us fresh eggs from their hens, freshly baked bread and lovely bacon from the local butchers. We would recommend this cottage to anybody...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank monkeyhanger63
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 April 2015

Although 'isolated' it is only a 5 minute drive to Watervale town and therefore close to Clare. Therefore it is only a half an hour radius to the vineyards of the Clare. Rooms are roomy and well appointed , one room and two bedrooms, kitchens are large and the lounge/dining room has enough room for 6-8 adults.Cook your own breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dragons62
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 26 March 2015

So glad we came across this delightful bed and breakfast accommodation in the Clare Valley. Comfortable accommodation and worked well for three couples. The breakfast provisions were very generous and showcased the region's produce. We can't wait to return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle B
sistersAussie, Owner at Battunga Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Great little B & B with excellent facilities. Enjoyed by all ages, the kids loved the surroundings and the selection of movies. The cabins felt homely and spacious and were centrally located for the wineries in the valley. Peter and Joyleen were great hosts and had plenty of tips about the local attractions in the area. Would highly recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LKDKCS
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We found this B&B a great little place to use as a base for our winery exploration of the Clare Valley. The Rosella cottage was good for two. The wood burning heater was very handy at this time of year and our hosts provided us with all the necessities for or stay including firewood and delicious breakfast provisions. Battunga has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheeky_Canberran

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watervale
10.6 km away
Mintaro Hideaway
Mintaro Hideaway
#2 of 4 in Mintaro
8 reviews
1.1 km away
Watervale Retreat
Watervale Retreat
#1 of 3 in Watervale
7 reviews
10.8 km away
Reillys Wines Heritage Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
St Helens Country Cottages
11.5 km away
Thorn Park by the Vines
14.4 km away
Clare Valley Motel
Clare Valley Motel
#2 of 3 in Clare
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Battunga is located in the scenic Skilly Hills, 2 km west of the historic village of Watervale. Named after the magnificent gum trees, guests can be assured of a peaceful and re-energizing stay on this 200 acre farm. Accommodation is provided for 2 to 12 guests - perfect for a small group of friends celebrating a special occasion or ideal for a romantic weekend away for a couple. There are 4 private s/c apartments each with private bathrooms, kitchenettes, lounge room and bedrooms. The Galah and Parrot Apartments suit 2-4 guests with 2 bedrooms with a QS bed in 1 room and 2 single beds in the other. The Kookaburra and Rosella Apartments suit couples with 1 QS bedroom. All linen and generous daily breakfast provisions are provided. Stroll through the hills on the property and view the abundant bird life and resident kangaroos. Cycle on the adjacent Riesling Trail. Sample the fine wines of the Clare Valley or just relax on the verandah or by the wood fire and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. Stay for 2 nights and receive additional discounts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Battunga Bed and Breakfast

Address: Upper Skilly Road, Watervale, South Australia 5452, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Watervale
Price Range: ₹ 9,096 - ₹ 9,979 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Battunga Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Battunga Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Battunga Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Being a Band B no room is really better than any other some have 2 bedrooms however,”
 of 5 bubbles 952chrisk, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If your GPS does not take through Watervale you are going the long way ( although only an extra 5 minutes ). All rooms are equal”
 of 5 bubbles dragons62, 8 Apr 2015 | Read review
“You will not find a better location for exploring Clare Valley.”
 of 5 bubbles Z9202WZchriss, 23 Jan 2014 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay