We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Jacques Brel Youth Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 112: English reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

The hostel is mostly used by larger groups (schools etc) and therefore lack the backpacker vibe that could be found at more intimate hostels. That much said, it's a pretty well run operation: clean rooms , professional staff and an OK if somewhat uninspired breakfast. Location is also good.

Thank Pär F
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 4 November 2016

It's a very big hostel with a lot of common areas, so it's easy to meet another tourists! Free breakfast. Next to the metro stop. Nice rooms. In our room, the Wi-Fi didn't work very nice but on the corridors or in the common areas was perfect!

Thank Isabeloliverj94
County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 20 August 2016

This hostel is really nice, about a 10 minute walk from the centre and has a couple or restaurants and shops close by. The staff are really nice and theres a bar downstairs that sells nice food and drink. The rooms are pretty basic but thats all we needed because we out sight seeing most of the day.

Thank eark95
adjbrel, Responsable réception at Jacques Brel Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you liked your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in our lovely city. Happy travels, Virginie

Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Very welcoming desk employe, large comfy waiting area, laguagge room (in basement down stairs with no elevator for there indeed, but easy acces) with padlock for rent at 4 euro, cutr and cosy bar, huge breakfast area with delicious food no way you can't find somethig at your taste, nice clean rooms but not too clean, don't overexpect, you can't...

1Thank lovetraveling2013
Reviewed 10 August 2016

The staff were very good and kind! I had a great time at the bar with the interesting bartender and all people from the world. Really a magical night drinking beer, chatting, singing with guitar! The location is ok, about 10~15 mins walk from station, or if you feel troublesome, a taxi wouldn't cost a lot. I slept on a...

Thank 陳小2015
adjbrel, Responsable réception at Jacques Brel Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for reviewing our hostel. We are so glad you had a wonderful time with us & we agree our bartenders are awesome :) Cheers, Virginie

Mesa, Arizona
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights on weekdays. I've chosen this hostel because it's easily accessible from the airport by one bus (272) and is near the city center. To my surprise there was no elevator to the 2nd floor where my room was and I arrived with a 23kg baggage and two heavy hand packs. Luckily a kind staff...

Thank Millefoli
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights and totally enjoyed my stay, met lots of fun and friendly people. The rooms are reasonably clean and good size. Plenty of outdoor seating areas, game rooms and luggage storage room. I would definitely recommend it to other travellers.

Thank DMX111
Reviewed 2 July 2016

It had been over 30 years since I had stayed at a youth hostel, and I was blown away by how things have changed. JBYL is a great hostel, professionally managed, with clean/tidy rooms and communal areas. The Hostel is ideally located with two Metro stations within 10mins walk as well the Central station about 20 -25mins on foot. In...

Thank Tuco B
adjbrel, Responsable réception at Jacques Brel Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you so much for this awesome review! We hope to welcome you back in our lovely capital. Happy travels, Virginie

Florianopolis, SC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Very nice location, very nice space! lots of fun people from all over the world and nice rooms! I went there with my sister and my mom and we had lots of fun hanging by the bar and our room was big and clean with a nice view... Even thought we spend little time there, the ambience made me want...

Thank car0lw23
adjbrel, Responsable réception at Jacques Brel Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, it was such a pleasure to host you & your family. We are so happy to get such a great review! We do put in much effort to make sure the standard of the hostel is maintained and so each one of our guests has a unique and fun experience. We are glad this was the case for...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Breakfast : good enough, fresh fruits, juices, milk, cereales, bread. Room : we had a 3 bed room with shower. The beds were not that great, the pillow not great but it's still enough for a hostel... could be worse. The bathroom is actually nice, colourful and not just basic white. There was some vomit on the toilet... that was...

Thank SMaxime

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (116)
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Dining (8)
Room/Suite (24)
Bathroom (8)
View from Room (10)
Family/Play Areas (4)
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (26)
Room/Suite (4)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Bathroom (4)
View from Room (2)
Dining (3)
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
2.0 km away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,776 reviews
2.4 km away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#7 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
979 reviews
2.1 km away
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
#4 of 119 in Brussels
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
#2 of 119 in Brussels
549 reviews
0.9 km away
2Go4 De Brouckere
2Go4 De Brouckere
#5 of 119 in Brussels
416 reviews
3.2 km away
Train Hostel
Train Hostel
#3 of 119 in Brussels
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Jacques Brel Youth Hostel is ideally located at about 10 min walking from the Brussels Main Square (Grand-Place). Nearby, you'll be able to take a picture of the Manneken-Pis. The hostel is located on the Place des Barricades, a amazing neoclassic square with typical white buildings. A really relaxing and quit place right in the centre of the capital city. From the hostel, you can easily reach the European Parliament, and if you'd rather go for food pleasures, the famous Belgian chocolate makers and local breweries are waiting for you! If you're tempted by fashion, you can easily go to the Dansaert and Saint-Géry as well as to Louise, Porte de Namur and Rue Neuve neighbourhoods. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jacques Brel Youth Hostel

Address: Rue de la Sablonniere 30, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Price Range: ₹ 1,946 - ₹ 7,784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacques Brel Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jacques Brel Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacques Brel Youth Hotel Brussels
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jacques Brel Youth Hostel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Jacques Brel Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms have bathrooms, others just have showers.”
87manala, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take the rooms on the 4th floor ! You will be relaxed, no noise”
  • view from the balcony of the 4th floor
  • room
SMaxime, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Third floor or 1st Floor is best”
taylenl, 18 Mar 2015 | Read review
“There is a great balcony at the top floor.”
RicardoValerio, 12 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Haven't stayed in the shared dorms, but the private ensuite rooms are definitely real good value for money”
whatahazyday, 25 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5