We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Antwerp City Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Antwerp City Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 107: English reviews
Huddinge, Sweden
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff was nice and friendly. The elevator up is really tiny. The room i had was very large but really cold (even though i had termostat on max) the good thing is that there are many resturants close by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristjaneinarsson
Iserlohn, Germany
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

can't recommend. well it is downtown, that is the good point. Everthing else: bad. Really in need of renovation, the oldest elevators your can imagine, loud rooms, noise everywhere. Internet really slow and indicating "network problems" all the time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martinair
London
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited in May so this is a late review. Situated on a quiet street in the diamond district, very close to the central station, but a good 15 minute walk from the nice bars and pubs around the beautiful cathedral. Staff were reasonably friendly and ground floor was nice, but on the room levels things are a bit shabby, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muddyfunster
DifferentHotels, General Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We have taken your words to heart and are commencing our refurbishment soon. Starting next month, we will enlarge our lifts. We have alreay started a comprehensive maintenance schedule, so when you visit next time, we will offer you a much improved experience. Please get in touch with me in order to see...

Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Unfriendly staff and the room is not really clean We just found out that theres a blood stain on the bed sheets The toilet is old .. its diffrent what we expected im.not.going.to stay in this hotel.again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joybV8518VY
DifferentHotels, General Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are working tirelessly to provide our guests with a pleasant and clean environment. Unfortunately, we seem to have failed you this time. Can you please get in touch with me in order to discuss things? Eke van der Zee – Hotel Manager

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Hotel is dirty and run down. Rooms are dirty and falling apart. Wallpaper is peeling. Scuffs on lamps. Bathroom shower stall is stained. Carpet in the room is not even real carpet. It's bizarre. The area near hotel (closer to the park) seems a bit sketchy and not very safe as a solo female traveler. Disappointed by this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MacTravels2016
DifferentHotels, General Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MacTravels, I am sorry to learn that you had a disappointing stay with us. We are on the cusp of refreshing the hotel, but that should not mean that in the mean time you may expect any less that you are used to. I mention this only to show you that we are taking your comments seriously. When you...

jed
Reviewed 2 October 2016

we booked a family room for two adult and two kids.The hotel is central with a car park next door.But we were misguided with the hotel reviews and pictures.when we arrived we just find an old hotel rooms are big but not clean the cupboard is dirty full of dust and old dirty towels we ask for cleaning nothing happen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OUDI
DifferentHotels, General Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Oudi, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn you were disappointed by our hotel. We are undertaking a lot of effort to make sure our rooms are clean but seemed to have failed you this time. Resta assured I will take this up with my team to make sure this will not happen again. Please accept...

Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewed 19 July 2016

1.The decoration of the room 2.The big size of the room which looked to the street 3.42'' lcd tv 4.The location is perfect near the station and many coffee-bars near 5.The breakfast was brilliant. The negative is there is no parking so you have to pay 18 euro per day to the nearest parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tolis E
DifferentHotels, General Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tolis, Thank you for your great review! For the guest that arrive with a car that is lower than 1m90, there is a public carpark next door which, with the discount we can offer, only cost € 13,50 per 24 hours. Taller vehicles such as yours can indeed pose a problem in city centers. Alteratively, there is free outside...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Room is huge and with the enormous window, and don't open it if you are staying with kids. Mattress is too soft to me. Settled in a quiet street and just a three minutes walk to the central station. Don't trust the google map , actual , you just need to get out of the train station, then go straight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank playeemobil
DifferentHotels, Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. Your directions are helpfull!

London
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

The hotel is closed to the railway station on a side road from a street full of restaurant, the hotel is a bit dated, the room are big but I think some refurbishment would be ideal. Some to many scratches on the walls in the room and in the corridor. The people are lovely and actually they are to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ms74
DifferentHotels, Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms74, Thank you for your nice words. we are working on the hardware, but really enjoy that you appreciate our individual input. Hopefully we will see you soon?

new jersey
Reviewed 26 May 2016

The hotel is located five minutes of walking from the railway station, in the area with jewelry shops. The staff is friendly, the rooms are spacious, clean, and with large windows. They provide free internet and it works well. As the name clearly says, it's in the city center, but not necessarily exactly in the most touristic area. However, it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zurlita
DifferentHotels, Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Zurlita, Thank you for your nice review.

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.5 km away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.3 km away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 73 in Antwerp
711 reviews
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.2 km away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#10 of 73 in Antwerp
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Antwerp City Hotel: In the heart of Antwerp's diamond district you will find the Antwerp City Hotel. A mere stone's throw away from the Meir, train station and Antwerp's diamond exchange, this hotel truly does have a dynamic location, which is ideal for those guests wishing to combine business with pleasure. Sleep: All 70 rooms are very spacious and equipped with free wireless Internet. Each room has air-conditioning, a 47 inch flat screen TV with international satellite channels, a safe and coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast & dinner: The extensive breakfast buffet is served in the hip and colorful breakfast room. To have lunch or dinner you can visit one of the many restaurants in the city. Meetings: Antwerp City Center Hotel has two boardrooms for 10-15 persons. Both meeting rooms are equipped with direct day light, air conditioning and free wireless Internet. Antwerp: The Antwerp City Hotel is located in the diamond district with many tourist attractions such as the Town Square, the Cathedral of Our Lady, the Antwerp Zoo, the Rubens House and the Fashion Museum, all of which are within walking distance. The MAS(in Dutch "Museum aan de Stroom") and the Red Star Line museum are located 15 minutes by bus. Shopaholics must visit the famous Antwerp shopping street "Meir". For more information about the surroundings of Antwerp. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Antwerp City Hotel

Address: Appelmansstraat 31 | 2018 Antwerpen, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly Mondo Empire Hotel)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Price Range: ₹ 5,878 - ₹ 9,724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antwerp City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Antwerp City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Empire Antwerp
Hotel Alfa Empire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Antwerp City Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Riverview, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Antwerp City Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“check your room before check in”
 of 5 bubbles OUDI, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Although there is not that much traffic in the street, if you like absolute silence at night, ask for a room away from the streetside.”
 of 5 bubbles Carlos_Roos, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on higher floors are more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles ChristophIrving, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Do not accept room 406. As soon as you open the door, there is nasty sewer smell. I asked for another room instead.”
 of 5 bubbles cvs1974x, 7 Dec 2015 | Read review
“See if you can get a nespresso machine in your room. I had a superior room on the third floor at the end of the corridor and it was great.”
 of 5 bubbles Jalc, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay