We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostel Ani & Haakien

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostel Ani & Haakien
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 81: English reviews
Start your review of Hostel Ani & Haakien
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been in this hostel for two days.. not enough for sure! it's clean and cosy, the hosts are friendly and nice with everyone! I'm one of my best experience into an hostel ps. breakfast with pancakes had been amazing !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice Z
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just had the most terrible, traumatic and annoying experience during my stay at Hostel Ani&Haakien in Rotterdam. I believe if you're the kind of person who doesn't have basic manners to talk and assist people in hospitality you should stay far way from customer service. I'm staying in Hostel here in Rotterdam until I find a new room available for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Joyce B, Eigenaar at Hostel Ani & Haakien, responded to this review

Hi Miguel, my collegue told me about this moment you had together...The day before i made a mistake by not asking you of a permission of the cardholder when i extended your stay for 1 more night. My collegue who asked you to do this the day after was right about that. This is just to protect cardholders. Ofcourse i...

Reviewed 28 January 2017

We only had one night in Rotterdam, the people of the Hostel made it really easy for us telling us where to go and what to visit. I highly recommended it f you're planning on visiting Rotterdam, is at a walking distance from the centre and the rooms look like the photos.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M. Paula O
Joyce B, Eigenaar at Hostel Ani & Haakien, responded to this review

Hiya! Great that you enjoyed your stay! We are always up to date about any events or festivals going on here and know the best interesting spots to send you to, depending on what your interests are and what your budget is. Glad our info was of use to you :) Hope to see you back soon!

Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

I loved my stay here! Super friendly staff, perfect location (3 min from the train station) , clean and very cosy interior and a very homy atmosphere! They even have a cat and since it was a Monday there were pancakes for breakfast. I also heard that their free-walking tour is lovely. Definitely come on a day it runs since...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula h
Joyce B, Eigenaar at Hostel Ani & Haakien, responded to this review

Hello! Happy to hear you LOVED your stay with us! Susy the cat most likely enjoyed your attention :) We always offer free tours on Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday. You’re always free to join! They all differ from each other. Come back soon to try the other tours as well!

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed with 8 Friends in the hostel. It was good. The room was basic and clean. It was quiet at night in the building. There's a kitchen you can use and every morning free coffee and toast. It's near to the city centre and the shops. I would go back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anaïs H
Joyce B, Eigenaar at Hostel Ani & Haakien, responded to this review

He Guys! Thanks for your review!! It was a pleasure to have to here. (For the best price always book our own website)

Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed 2 October 2016

The brainchild of two travel savvy ladies, Joyce & Danielle, this cozy little hostel in the center of Rotterdam, with vintage interior and in-house city tours is super friendly and remarkably social...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DriftersGuide
Joyce B, Eigenaar at Hostel Ani & Haakien, responded to this review

Hihi thanks! We wish you adventurous travels :) Suzy says HI!

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on a solo trip through Europe. The hostel was clean, comfortable and centrally located near the train station and attractions. The free tours were also a definite plus! Only stayed for one night but wished it was for longer. Would definitely come back for any return trips to Rotterdam!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
Joyce B, Eigenaar at Hostel Ani & Haakien, responded to this review

YES!! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our little hostel. Next time you must stay longer to join all our free tours!! Especially our Famous Wednesday night walk. #karaoke

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Very easy to walk to, only negative would be that there isn't an elevator but that's ok, when you backpack, you don't carry heavy things around. Very clean, good lockers, safe neighborhood. Showers and washrooms are kept clean of any mess and the owners really do care about the hostel. Beautiful kitchen and garden. Definetely recommand to the beginner backpacker...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mixedman
Joyce B, Eigenaar at Hostel Ani & Haakien, responded to this review

We feel you..we're definitly missing an elevator! Our laundry room is located on the 3rd floor where we wash our bedlinnen @#$% #WORKOUT Thanks for your awesome review!

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed three nights here, tidy facilities and bathrooms. Really handy as they provide a large locker for each person in the rooms, very close to the central station. Also included breakfast and coffee each morning and a garden out the back, they set up a paddling pool while I was there! Highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Nice hostel had a very warm homely feeling about it. I was very happy with this place it was clean tidy and friendly. Wifi , good Kitchen , good Outside area , was on point Staff, good Breakfast, good Feline freind was cute and fluffy. My only moan was the room wasn't very big but there was loads of beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saaaaarah

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
2:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,298 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,197 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,180 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Best Hostel Location in Rotterdam! Hostel Ani&Haakien is a backpackers paradise for adventurous travelers who want to discover Rotterdam in a truly unique way. We are a community hostel with nightly dinners and free tours daily! Located just 600m away from Rotterdam Central Station, Ani & Haakien is a short walk from Rotterdam's most popular attractions such as Markthall and the famous Cube Houses! You won't find us on a busy bar street - at Ani&Haakien you'll get a good night's sleep - But no worries, the young and bustling Central District area of Rotterdam with good coffee places, awesome design shops, rooftop bars, jazz and the electronic night life is just a dance away! So, forget about walking around with your heavy backpack... drop it at the hostel, and let us tell you all about the cool stuff to do in Rotterdam. Hostel Ani & Haakien is the perfect hub for day trips! Just 10min to Delft / 40min to Amsterdam / 40min to Utrecht and 20min to The Hague! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Ani & Haakien

Address: Coolsestraat 47/49, 3014 LC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Price Range: ₹ 1,699 - ₹ 4,183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Ani & Haakien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Ani & Haakien staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hostel Ani & Haakien staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“On arrival, ask for a map of the city, the ones at the info office aren't free”
 of 5 bubbles mixedman, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“well, guess in this type of hostel its almost the same. of course, private rooms are better than dorm ones.”
 of 5 bubbles adamt8, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“Great communal area for hanging out and cooking food. Very easy to get a quiet nights rest!”
 of 5 bubbles 211marcusw, 3 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem equally nice”
 of 5 bubbles Sayakboral, 30 Jan 2016 | Read review
“get the dorm rooms, its worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles ryanl592, 2 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5