We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Malie Hotel

Show Prices
#12 of 22 Hotels in Utrecht
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Malie Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 31: English reviews
Start your review of Malie Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There is conveniently located and a short walk from the heart of the city. The staff are friendly; the rooms nice. Breakfast wasn't included and charged at 14 Euros per person. The hotel doesn't offer evening meal but plenty of decent restaurants nearby. Comfortable beds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
Seillans, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel, located close to the center of Utrecht, has a pleasant atmosphere, good service and excellent beds. The breakfast is sufficient. Parking is a bit of an issue but they offer an adequate solution.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisette T
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed three nights here whilst on business in Utrecht. The hotel is very pretty, the staff helpful and the rooms nice. I found the stairs difficult to navigate after a couple of beers and my bathroom was on the small side for someone the size of a heffalump. The breakfast was good and the small bar was put to good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald O
SannevandenBrink, Front Office at Malie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donald, Thank you for your kind words! We are very happy to read you have enjoyed your stay with us. Next time we will show you our lift, maybe that would be a bit easier to use after a couple of beers ;-). Also, we have rooms available with bigger bathrooms, these are assigned to our Superior Rooms. We...

Berkel en Rodenrijs, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We stayed one night in this lovely hotel, located just outside the city "waters". You can walk to the city centre in 15 minutes. They have Nespresso coffee machines, Auping beds and Rituals soaps in the rooms to give nice luxury feeling. There is nice back garden which will be lovely place to relax in the summer months. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeijdenS
SannevandenBrink, Guest Relations Manager at Malie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are very happy to read you had such a good stay with us and we would be happy to welcome you back to the Malie Hotel someday soon! Warm regards, Sanne van den Brink | Guest Relations

Reviewed 21 February 2017

I like this hotel. It's well run, very friendly and the rooms are excellent. The breakfast was quite acceptable (apart from very strange bacon). The hotel has a small bar and lounges. It's not central but benefits from being on a quiet street with rather handsome buildings. There are some restaurants less than 10 minutes walk away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
N. Ireland
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed one night for a business trip and would return. The staff were very nice and helpful. Room was clean and warm. There was a great choice for breakfast and good WiFi. Everything that you want on a one night stop.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandyfeet_7
SannevandenBrink, Guest Relations Manager at Malie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Malie Hotel. We are very happy you had such a good stay with us! Thank you for your compliments regarding the staff, breakfast, WiFi and room! It would be our honor to welcome you back to Utrecht someday soon! Warm regards, Sanne van den...

Reviewed 30 November 2016

This is a very nice hotel, and the staff are very accommodating and helped in many ways during my stay. Very good breakfast, comfortable bed, cold room. I could hear notices between the rooms, unfortunately, but overall it's a quiet neighbourhood so it was fairly quiet. I do have to report that I had an issue with heating while I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rube1789
SannevandenBrink, Front Office Manager at Malie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you so much you took the time to leave a review after your stay in the Malie Hotel. How nice to hear you have enjoyed our breakfast so much and had a good sleep in our lovely comfortable bed. Like discussed it was indeed completely onacceptable your door was not locked after the first time you left...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 22 September 2016

First, I'd stay here again. Very friendly staff. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Even though I was on the street level my room was very quiet. Nice little breakfast restaurant. It would be better if they had a bar, but there a places near by. It's about a 1.5 mile walk from train station, which is doable if you're so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seattlepat2015
New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Awful. Dirty, smells like mold, carpet is filthy, very small rooms, unsafe ground floor rooms easily accessible by those from outside. Poor maid service. Cheap linens, cheap sheets. Amenities, furniture, walls, decor extremely cheap quality and price much too high. Window kept falling out of casing. Curtains were thin and didn't keep out sun. A/C did not work. Isn't near...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank carolj273
SannevandenBrink, Guest Relations Manager at Malie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are very sorry to read you didn't enjoy your stay at the Malie Hotel. Altough we are always happy to learn from the experiences of our guests - the good and bad ones, we do not recognize our hotel in the here given description. Our hotel was completely renovated at the end of 2015, so nothing in...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The hotel is located within 10-15 min (walking distance) from the city centre,the room was nice ,clean and the bed very comfy. The staff was friendly and helpful,delicious breakfast a bit dear though ,14€ per person!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank didonatomanuela

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#4 of 22 in Utrecht
517 reviews
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 22 in Utrecht
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#8 of 22 in Utrecht
476 reviews
Eye Hotel
#9 of 22 in Utrecht
130 reviews
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 22 in Utrecht
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Malie Hotel is situated in the picturesque surroundings of the stately Maliebaan avenue. The historic city centre lies within walking distance, with its unique canals, museums, boutiques and bustling eateries. Utrecht Science Park ‘De Uithof’ and the University Medical Centre Utrecht (UMC) are also easily accessible from the Malie Hotel. Behind this beautiful, nineteenth-century facade is where you will find a four-star hotel offering 45 rooms decorated in modern style. Away from the daily hustle and bustle, our work is devoted entirely to your relaxation and well-being. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Malie Hotel

Address: Maliestraat 2, 3581 SL Utrecht, The Netherlands (Formerly Sandton Malie Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Price Range: ₹ 6,981 - ₹ 12,605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malie Hotel Utrecht
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#4 Green Hotel in Utrecht
#7 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Malie Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Grafton, Massachusetts
over a year ago
Leicester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Malie Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you insist on staying here, get suite on top level”
carolj273, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“As k for a room that overlooks the garden.”
DeeVeeCT, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have a great view. Very quit.”
H5222DSstefanb, 23 May 2016 | Read review
3 of 3