We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Monopole

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Monopole
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monopole
See the most recent reviews
Showing 100: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Leeds England
1 review
9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2005

Should've known when the tourist office rang them up and the guy said he'd only let the room for a minimum of 2 nights that there was something amiss - afterall, if you're not confident that you'll fill hotel rooms in Amsterdam on a weekend in July, then what is wrong with the place...? Horrible horrible horrible. Our room wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Belfast, N. Ireland.
Reviewed 11 August 2004

Found something resembling excrement in the bed. Was promised a refund within a week but am still still waiting after 2 weeks. The streets are cleaner than this place. Avoid at all costs!!!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank UlsterOgre
UK
Reviewed 6 July 2004

A few of us booked into this hotel for a weekend in May for my 3oth birthday- a twin room and a triple. About 2 weeks before we were due to arrive one of us had to cancel, I tried to ring the hotel but couldn't get through so emailed them instead to let them know. I had no resonse...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank lwf
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review

Dear sir/madam, as you write that you send us e mail about one person canceelation and got no reply from our side and you ASSUMED it was ok. you can not assume it was ok if you do not get any reply. it is possible that we did not recevied the email. still we are sorry about any inconvince.

A TripAdvisor Member
Sweden, Stockholm
1 review
10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2004

We are from Sweden and we visited the hotel a month ago and stayed for 5 nights. We were asked to pay for our room immediately and we had reserved a 95 euros room -they wanted us to pay 105 euros and didnt like at all that we had fax that said, 95euros. In the fax they promised us the...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank A TripAdvisor Member
A TripAdvisor Member
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2004

As an international journalist originally from Amsterdam (living in Switzerland), I would want to warn everybody to stay away from hotel Monopole and to immediately cancel any reservation made in written form (email with a paper copy of this email in the mail) before the 48 hours deadline the hotel claims to handle !! Hotel Monopole is run by an...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Dear journlist from switzerland,You have written so long story , according to our cancellation policy(each hotel has cancellation policy) 48 hour before if you cancell there is no charges, but do you have any evidence that you have cancelled on time. NO.Simply NO. if you had any evidence , credit card company always charge from us and pays you ,...

A TripAdvisor Member
Pretoria
1 review
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2004

We where staying at the Monopole during Easter and had a lovely time in Amsterdam. The location was perfect: near Remdrand Square, the flower market and our room had a great view over the Amstel River. The staff was friendly and very helpfull to advise us on restaurants recommendations (Sampurna at the flower market is a very good Indonesian and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank A TripAdvisor Member
A TripAdvisor Member
Charlotte, NC
1 review
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2004

Plain and simple---this hotel is a sham. Do not believe the web site. The rooms are filthy, and the manager/employees are con artists. You will be asked to pay for your room immediately, and then shown a room. Likely, you will not have the toilet/shower facilities promised to you in your confirmation, nor will you be staying in a secure...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank A TripAdvisor Member
A TripAdvisor Member
Glasgow, UK
1 review
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2003

My husband, some friends and myself booked 3 rooms at hotel monopole. Each of the rooms was filthy: stained carpet, filthy headboard, dirty towels, crumbling wall onto unvaccumed floors, broken windows, and broken television. Views from two of the rooms which didn't face the street was to cement roofing areas with high cement walls, ladders, and steam pillars. My husband...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank A TripAdvisor Member
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2003

Myself and a friend recently rented two single rooms in the 'hotel' Monopole, Amstel 60, Amsterdam, to the tune of €60 per night for four nights (€250 + city tax) on October 11th -14th. My heart sank when we got a look at the first room; a small, dank place with twin cots, dirty marks on one wall, a tatty...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank A TripAdvisor Member
cleveland, ohio, USA
Reviewed 10 October 2003

I spent two nights at the Hotel Monopole in late Sept. 03, based on two fairly good reviews that I had found. My room was for 75 Euros which I knew was not the best but....... The room was dumpy, had no view and no inroom bath (the latter I expected). However, as far as I know, there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank whippoboy

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#182 of 361 in Amsterdam
344 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#291 of 361 in Amsterdam
456 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#187 of 361 in Amsterdam
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Amsterdam House Hotel
Amsterdam House Hotel
#247 of 361 in Amsterdam
312 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Nes
Hotel Nes
#246 of 361 in Amsterdam
296 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#106 of 361 in Amsterdam
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighbourhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Hotel Monopole

Address: Amstel 60, 1017 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Price Range: ₹ 6,765 - ₹ 12,332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monopole 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Monopole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopole Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Monopole staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Monopole staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nothing to add.”
 of 5 bubbles ExiledinAberdeen, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front have the view.”
 of 5 bubbles Grumpy64, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“avoid at all costs”
 of 5 bubbles PeteC711, 7 Feb 2016 | Read review
“pick a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles RayB992, 8 May 2015 | Read review
“Get one at front for views”
 of 5 bubbles RRayner1966, 2 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5