We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Show Prices
#119 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,761 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
See the most recent reviews
Showing 839: English reviews
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 16 August 2016

I was a bit anxious about this hotel, as it is a chain and part hostel. I chose it for convenience, as it is next to the train station and has an elevator. After a long flight, the last thing I wanted to do was drag my luggage (despite its compact size) up several flights of stairs, so the city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We from Meininger hotel are very happy to hear this great review from you. We are also glad that you enjoyed your stay and the comfort of the room. We have rooms targeting mobile impaired persons with extra large bathrooms, one of which you have stayed in. Thank you for your stay and we would like to have...

Newfoundland
Reviewed 14 August 2016

I graded this average because of the nature of this hotel being part hostel. My husband and teen enjoyed the experience of sharing with young backpackers, I prefer more private setting with mature professionals. My husband booked this. The room was great. Quiet air conditioning. Quiet room. Blink beds were great for the kids. Comfy bed. Laundry facilities in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LisaJudy
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear LisaJudy. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Meininger Hotel. Too bad you weren't really convinced by our hybrid-hotel style. But what you wrote only proves everyone has its own likings and tastes, even in one same household :) It's great however to read you enjoyed everything your room had to...

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

It is a great hotel for friends and family 👩‍👩‍👧‍👦 the food was great and the rooms are great. you are so so close to the train station 🚄and when you get off at Amsterdam Central station it's not too far from the tram station 🚃 if I where to go back to Amsterdam I'd sleep in the MEININGER

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely review and your fantastic grade! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much and liked our food and the room. We hope to see you back soon! With kind regards, Team Meininger Amsterdam

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

9 of us stayed in Meininger Hostel for two nights. whilst the hotel was in a pretty good location and the rooms were adequate, the kitchen facilities and choice of food was disgraceful. Only serving cold food and only a selection of drinks was slightly disappointing as we would have to venture into Central Amsterdam in order to eat something...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear Ryan, Thank you sharing your experience with us. We're glad that you were satisfied with our location and rooms. At the same time, we read that perhaps not all our food and beverage service meet your expectations. It is true that we don't have a restaurant and we only serve snacks but, nevertheless, a delivery food service, pricewise convenient,...

Washington
Reviewed 4 August 2016

After backpacking Europe for 4 weeks, Meininger Amsterdam West was my very last stop. Very clean and bright. Great cozy/yellow lighting in the room. Loved the location as well - right next to the train stop. The bike rentals were affordable, and I highly recommend biking through that BEAUTIFUL park next door and into the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachelsaputro
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your great review! We're happy to have given you a nice conclusion to your travels, and it's nice that you enjoyed our location and found one of the beautiful parks in Amsterdam. We hope to see you again in the future! With kind regards, Team Meininger Amsterdam

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Off the bat, the staff are knowledgeable, nice, and helpful. I ordered a bed in a 5 bedroom mixed male dorm, instead, got a cozy private room at no extra cost. The rooms were clean, and you can even rent a bike at a reasonable cost. Though there is no paid kitchen IN the hotel, you have "Bret", which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Orian D
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for the kind review, we are happy to hear that you had a good time staying with us. We hope to see you again, Meininger Team.

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Great hotel. Staff very welcoming. We arrived early so we were able to pay for our room and store our lugguage until 3pm when the room would be available. We didnt have breakfast so I cant comment. Other reviews says the hotel is 5 mins from the nearest station. It is infact next door so it is in a fantastic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sinade
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for the positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you were satisfied with our location and staff. We are sorry that you find the bathroom small, if the problem was reported at the time of your stay, we would have tried to change you to a bigger room. We hope to...

Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Location is ideal for travelling in and out of the city and is right next to the train station too. Staff are welcoming and willing to support guests however they can from booking local excursions to holding luggage and offering travel directions. The bar area downstairs was great as a meeting point for our large group. Rooms are spacious, clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey O
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely review! We will forward your kind words to our staff. It's nice to read you liked our rooms so much and you slept well. We hope to see you again in the future! With kind regards, Team Meininger Amsterdam

Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We arrived after pre booking. Our room was not able to be checked in until 3pm however there was free luggage hold and we picked up some bits from SPAR for a picnic in the gardens outside the hostel. Once we saw the room it was fantastic. Obviously a hotel turned hostel. Lovely 4 bed room with a group of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your great review! It's great that you liked your room so much, and we will forward your compliments to our cleaning staff. You are very welcome, we hope to see you back soon! With kind regards, Team Meininger Amsterdam

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016

The hotel is clean and very friendly. Towels are changed everyday. There's a TV in the room and has English Channel. There's a map at the desk which you can have of the city with lots of information. It's 5 mins from train, tram and bus it's the last stop and called Sloterdijk station. The tram and bus services start...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 550hardeep
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely and extensive review. We're happy that you've had a nice stay at our hotel, and that you found your way around the city and into our kitchen so well. City tax is paid at our hotel for all our guests. We hope to welcome you back in the future! With kind regards, Team...

595 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (479)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (204)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (90)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#148 of 364 in Amsterdam
881 reviews
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,145 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#65 of 364 in Amsterdam
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#102 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,642 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 4,702 - ₹ 23,581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West staff and other travellers.
79 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (79)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room on the first few floors so that you can just take the stairs. The elevators are very slow.”
Mezugorou, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go to -- Urban Lodge -- 2 minutes walking distance !”
Toto1462, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I would say that if you book a room on a low floor you will have better luck with the WiFi.”
catferland, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“choose rooms from the 3rd floor and above. very quiet and peaceful”
linican, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Single room is very very small bed would say is only 2.6ft”
lisamills31, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5