We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Flying Pig Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Flying Pig Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 740: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Flying pig let a girl who has not paid to stay at this hostel to stay not one but two nights here. I was sound asleep and awoken several times by the staff trying to make this girl leave the room. She made it that several people's beds were misplaced and that was that. I came back on the second...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darian I
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Awesome place to stay, even better people met. Everyone's friendly, and right in the heart of Amsterdam anything is possible. Special shout out to big Alex, greatest English bloke, can't handle his alcohol, but even better cleaning lady.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh V
FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig Downtown, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you so much for letting us know a bit more about your stay with us! We are thrilled you found us an awesome place and met some friendly people here! Thanks for mentioning our piggie Alex, we will be sure to pass on your kind words to him! :) We hope to see you again someday! Happy...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

When I say the Flying Pig is walking distance from anywhere you'd want to go, I mean it. The atmosphere here was perfect. Everyone including staff was very friendly and hospitable. We stayed in the 32 mixed dorm and while we were sharing a room with 30 other people, we didn't feel like it was too much. The smoking room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig Downtown, responded to this review

Hi ! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your stay with us! We are thrilled you found our atmosphere perfect and our staff very hospitable :) Great that you were able to join in with our nightly events in the bar and sink some drink specials! Thank you for recommending us! We hope to see...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

If you want scabies, then enjoy your stay. Unfortunately our group were staying in the double bunk beds, and on the second night were woken up. It was clear we were being eaten alive by whatever creature was living in the bed linin. Return home, and after lots of scratching and a GPS appointment later, SCABIES.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Leigh H
FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig Downtown, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us, your comments can help us learn how to improve for the future. We were shocked and surprised to hear about your experience. We were unable to locate your booking so are unsure which room you stayed in however we didn't hear...

kings lynn
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Central of Amsterdam booked 1 bed in a 14 person dorm which was full. Was out with 5 of them most of my stay drinking and tourist stuff. Toilets showers and bunk beds very clean and tidy. Beds all have own light lock up storage and plug socket. Pool table and smoking room as well as great bar with awesome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank qwerty0563
FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig Downtown, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are pleased to see you found us an awesome place to meet people and found our toilets and showers clean and tidy! Great that you were able to make use of our pool table and smoking room and in amongst that found our staff friendly!...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for my last night in Amsterdam. Good price, clean throughout, staff were lovely and made me feel very comfortable which was lovely as a young girl in her own. Would recommend to anyone. 5 minute, if that, walk from central station

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Natalie D
FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig Downtown, responded to this review

Hey there! Thank you so much for your review! We are pleased to hear that you found us clean and comfortable as a girl on your own. :) Great that you would recommend us! Thank you so much for this, we really appreciate it! Take care and we hope to see you next time! The piggiws

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I travelled with 2 of my friends and we all had a brilliant time. We booked into a four bed dorm with en suite so we only had to share with one other traveller. (Joe from Texas, we love you joe) The beds and the bathroom were clean which is what you want. There were big storage boxes under the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geeml
FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig Downtown, responded to this review

Hey ! Thanks so much for the amazing review comments! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with your friends and your roomie Joe :) Great that you found your room clean and comfortable and found time to hang out at our bar! We are happy you found our drink deals super cheap compared to the rest...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

6 of us stayed in an 8 person dorm with en suite was very clean, very comfortable beds! Bar area very nice to relax and chill in, with good drinks and food deals, perfect starting place for a night out in Amsterdam. Close location to everything really.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arkenny23
FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us! We are pleased to hear that you found us very clean and very comfortable :) Great that you were able to chill out in our bar and enjoy our drink deals! We actually do not have an 8 person dorm, perhaps you stayed in...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and the boyfriend had a brilliant stay at the Flying Pig for 4 nights. It became a fantastic base for us. First of all, the staff are brilliant. Really friendly and hardworking. This hostel is really clean and in a great location. Great value for money. If you want to party there is the bar and smoking room. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sophie M
FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig Downtown, responded to this review

Hey there! Woweee! Thanks for the amazing review and for letting others know about your stay with us. We are thrilled you had a brilliant stay here and found our staff friendly and hard working! Great that you found us clean and were able to party in our bar as well as chill in our happy room downstairs! Thanks so...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my first stop in a 2 week trip to Europe. I was really anxious on what to expect since it was my first time traveling solo but this was definitely the best place to start. First, getting there from Amsterdam Centraal, piece of cake! Just follow the indications on the website! The place has a great vibe and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nolis P
FlyingPigDT, Manager at Flying Pig Downtown, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us! We are thrilled to hear that on your 1st stop of your 2 week trip you found us the best place to start! Great that you enjoyed our vibe here and found our staff the best! We will be sure to pass on your kind words to them,...

403 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (186)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (91)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Large Dorm (38)
Viewed
Private Double Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Small Four Person Dorm (29)
Viewed
Small Six Person Dorm (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
2,379 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,187 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Flying Pig Downtown

Address: Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Price Range: ₹ 2,407 - ₹ 10,943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Flying Pig Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Downtown Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Flying Pig Downtown staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Flying Pig Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1, bed 2!!”
 of 5 bubbles RayFernn1010, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I recommend a private room personally, but whatever tickles your fancy :)”
 of 5 bubbles sophielouisep, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at lower berth of bunk bed. Carry ear plugs and eye cover pads. Carry a small pad lock without fail.”
 of 5 bubbles Ratty65, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“smaller rooms are best and most quiet”
 of 5 bubbles dancO6938JJ, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Great place to meet new people.”
 of 5 bubbles arpanmehra, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay