We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}
    Neighbourhoods
    Neighbourhoods

    The Bulldog Hotel

    Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$ 88
    View Deal
    Traveller (280)
    Room & Suite (299)
    Dining (42)
    Overview
    • Excellent47%
    • Very good35%
    • Average13%
    • Poor3%
    • Terrible2%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Multilingual Staff
    Wheelchair Access
    Free Parking
    All hotel details
    Offers from The Bulldog Hotel
    Deals (2)
    3 Sep4 Sep
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Basic 12 Bed Mixed Dorm Ensuite
      US$ 88
      View Deal
    All 2 deals for this property
    • Basic 12 Bed Mixed Dorm Ensuite
      US$ 88
      View Deal
    • Standard 12 Bed Mixed Dorm Ensuite
      US$ 88
      View Deal
    Collapse room deals
    View more room deals
    Showing room deals 1 - of 2
    NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
    1,503 reviews
    #65 of 369 hotels in Amsterdam
     
    Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
    2,587 reviews
    #15 of 369 hotels in Amsterdam
     
    Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
    3,271 reviews
    #52 of 369 hotels in Amsterdam
     
    Rho Hotel
    2,384 reviews
    #134 of 369 hotels in Amsterdam
     
    Write a Review
    Turn Your Opinions into Points!
    Turn your opinions into JPMiles
    Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
    *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    50
    Reviews (1,033)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages
    There are newer reviews for The Bulldog Hotel
    See the most recent reviews

    231 - 235 of 682 reviews

    Reviewed 22 September 2015

    Average hostel in the city center. Location is great, but yeah, Amsterdam is quite small so it's difficult for location to be bad. The thing that kind of bugged me was the fact that they were fixing something on the street right by the door...More

    Thank Emma s
    Response from RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog HotelResponded 3 November 2015

    It seems your review is more for Green bikes and the City of Amsterdam than it is for the The Bulldog. We have no impact on the policies of green bikes nor the city's construction schedule. We ae happy to hear that the staff were...More

    Reviewed 18 September 2015

    The heart of central Amsterdam, yet our sleep at night was very quit. We stayed in a private room. Nice clean room with full bath. The bed was very comfortable. Felt safe here. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. I would stay...More

    Thank Raroboy
    Response from RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog HotelResponded 3 November 2015

    Thank you very much for the kind words :) Enjoy the rest of your travels.

    Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

    You get what you pay for. The room will be bunk beds with a lot of other people. It's cheap and Amsterdam is expensive. This place is pretty greasy though but the price is right. Shared washrooms, small smelly shower , the brutal breakfast (...More

    Thank JCalabro
    Response from RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog HotelResponded 3 November 2015

    Not sure where to start here... clearly you were not happy which is unfortunate. As usual, we tell our guests to bring any complaints to our attention, so we can make your stay more enjoyable while you're here. You do not get to enjoy your...More

    Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

    I was worried staying in a Hostel for the first time, but since this was a solo trip and I didn't know anyone in Amsterdam it was a great place to meet people. Right away made friends and had a great stay, worry free. only...More

    Thank Alex B
    Response from RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog HotelResponded 17 September 2015

    Glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and made some new friends! Our apologies that you had difficulty with your key. This is quite unusual and we will have a look at our system to make sure everything is working correctly. Thanks for...More

    Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

    Well worth a visit to this traditional amsterdam coffee shop! Plenty of souvenirs to choose from. Very comfortable & ideally located near museums, canals, nightlife & red light district! The bulldog is situated beside a canal with seating outside for a fantastic view.

    Thank Vickytoriapolly
    Response from RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog HotelResponded 17 September 2015

    Thanks a lot.! Glad you enjoyed your visit with us :)

    NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
    1,503 reviews
    #65 of 369 hotels in Amsterdam
     
    Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
    2,587 reviews
    #15 of 369 hotels in Amsterdam
     
    Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
    3,271 reviews
    #52 of 369 hotels in Amsterdam
     
    Rho Hotel
    2,384 reviews
    #134 of 369 hotels in Amsterdam
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$ 47 - US$ 170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Accessible rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 45
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • The Netherlands >
    • North Holland Province >
    • Amsterdam >
    • Red Light District (De Wallen)
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (280)
    Room & Suite (299)
    Dining (42)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (241)
    Bathroom (12)
    Nearby
    Red Light District (De Wallen)
    To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the
    Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its
    saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to
    view some of the city’s most picturesque canals,
    historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples
    of traditional local architecture – not to mention
    Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist
    temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some
    ...More
    Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
    2,587 reviews
    .19 km away
     
    Rho Hotel
    2,384 reviews
    .16 km away
     
    NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
    1,503 reviews
    .10 km away
     
    Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
    3,271 reviews
    .27 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Ramen-Ya Amsterdam
    555 reviews
    .07 km away
    Ms. Crumbs
    51 reviews
    .09 km away
    Oriental City
    767 reviews
    .07 km away
    Mas Y Mas
    547 reviews
    .10 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Red Light District
    20,583 reviews
    .08 km away
    Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum
    387 reviews
    .08 km away
    Cannabis College
    159 reviews
    .09 km away
    Amsterdam Canal Cruises
    7,065 reviews
    .11 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Jonathan R
    9 August 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from BulldogFrontOffice | Property representative |
    Hi There, unfortunately these rooms are no longer available. but please send us an email, we still have some great other options!
    0
    Votes
    egma e
    4 August 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from BulldogFrontOffice | Property representative |
    Absolutely we do! . Twins with single beds, doubles with one double bed. We even have fantastic twin and double deluxe - a bit bigger and with beautiful canal views.
    0
    Votes
    happyhanjess
    19 May 2017|
    AnswerShow all 5 answers
    Response from BulldogFrontOffice | Property representative |
    As not all travellers require a passport (Eu citizens for example) a valid, government issued ID is required for all guests to be shown on arrival.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "deluxe room with canal view for couples who want the atmosphere but still a little privacy"
    Read review
    "ask for a bigger bathroom"
    Read review
    "front rooms are quite noisy."
    Read review
    "Rooms at the front overlooking the street/canal could get noisy late at night"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing