We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Hoksbergen

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Hoksbergen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hoksbergen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 215: English reviews
Amsterdam
Reviewed 6 March 2014

In general, our stay in Hoksbergen was good. The situation is excellent, in front of a canal, very closed to Damm Square an other touristic attractions. Our small complaints are about the comfort: it is in an old building and the stairs are difficult to go up and down (there's no elevator), the rooms are really small and in one...

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Enric V
Hoksbergen, Manager at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for placing a review about our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you had a good time in Amsterdam. Small sized rooms are quite typical in a dense city like Amsterdam, however for your next visit, please donot hesitate to ask one of us to help...

Amsterdam
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa S
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Not far from City Center, but rooms are very small (see photo). Free Wifi. Not far from City Center, but rooms are very small (see photo). Free Wifi. Not far from City Center, but rooms are very small (see photo). Free Wifi.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Evgeny S
New Jersey, USA
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We were very pleased with both the location, right on the Singel Canal, and the staff. Virtually everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. Rooms were very small as expected in an old canal house. Decor and carpets could have used updating/replacing but everything was very clean. Included breakfast was simple but adequate, including some meats and cheese,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidNJ27
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 5 night stay at the Hoksbergen with my boyfriend and we were very pleasantly surprised. We paid 350 euros for a double room with no canal view. Sure the decor, carpets, furniture could do with updating but our room was spotless, was cleaned everyday (including fresh towels provided). Our bathroom had just been recently renovated. As...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amandamc31
Hamme, Belgium
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Perfect, central location, all points of interest at walking distance. Friendly people. Spacious apartment, very clean. Old building, but that is normal in the center of Amsterdam. The double bed had a uncomfortable matrass.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeggyHamme
Amsterdam
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The location was excellent. It was within walking distance of the dam, Anne Frank museum & other main sites. However be prepared for the extremely steep stairs,especially if you are on the top floor. Also if you are over 6 feet, you may have a problem with the bathroom we had, Our bathroom was very small and the ceiling was...

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosie E
Napa, California
Reviewed 1 December 2013

From the moment we walked in the from door, we felt welcome! We stayed in room 2, which was on the 2nd floor for 4 nights, and no view but that was fine, the room itself was very small, but remember we hardly spent any time in the room, the bathroom was very nice and newly remodeled, the WIFI was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suzanne P
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Rooms are small but then again we expected that from a canal house. However it is clean and close (as in 10-20 min walk) to the hot spots of Amsterdam. It's about 15 min walk to the central station, so no need to take a taxi. Stairs are steep but this is common in canal houses so no use complaining...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank botbotTB
Amsterdam
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Extremely small rooms, almost unuseably small, but the price is right considering the good service & great location. You will need to pull your knees up to your face to take a dump however. Nice breakfast too.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke C

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#157 of 365 in Amsterdam
269 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#292 of 365 in Amsterdam
545 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#164 of 365 in Amsterdam
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#141 of 365 in Amsterdam
995 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#116 of 365 in Amsterdam
3,906 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#101 of 365 in Amsterdam
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our small hotel is situated in a beautiful canal-house that is over 300 years old, nestled on the quiet, picturesque Singel, the oldest of the four major ring canals in Amsterdam's famed inner city. Our cosy hotel offers an oasis right in the centre of town. The hustle and bustle of the shopping streets around Dam Square, the charm of the myriad canals lined with 17th-century houses and world famous sights, such as the Anne Frank House, are all literally steps away. There are also convenient trams and other public transport options to whisk you off to all of the city's many attractions. Room information: the hotel offers 13 double and single rooms and one triple room. We serve a good continental breakfast-buffet in our light and pleasant breakfast room. Rooms are ready for check in at 14.00 o'clock. If you arrive earlier we can store your luggage until then. We look forward to have you as our guests! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Hoksbergen

Address: Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Price Range: ₹ 8,194 - ₹ 18,927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hoksbergen 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Hoksbergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoksbergen Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Hoksbergen staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Manchester
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Hoksbergen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't say here, look around as there are plenty of better values”
410clairev, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
  • Hotel Hoksbergen
bjornd716, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room on 1st floor with view”
myzatul, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quiet hotel, and beautiful views, no worries for you to avoid”
holliejaye, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you can cope with the stairs ask for a high up room as the canal views are amazing”
StephanieF74, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Hotwire.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates