We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Herengracht 269, 1016 BJ Amsterdam The Netherlands
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Special rate available
Booking.com
$184
View deal
Expedia.com
$192
View deal
Trip.com
$172
View deal
Hotels.com$192
Travelocity$192
Priceline$210
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (125)
360
Panoramas (8)
Videos (1)

About

#137 of 419 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Hotel Hegra by Stanley Collection Amsterdam is ideally located in the heart of Amsterdam city center canal’s district, along the Herengracht canal, few steps from Singel canals, 5-minute walk from Dam Square and 10 min walk from the main train station Centrale. If you want to feel the vibes of a real Amsterdam, to be in the super prime location of the city but still get a feeling how to leave on the Canals - Hegra by Stanley collection is a right choice for you. The whole hotel was renovated in July 2021 and have been upgraded in a way to make our guest feel as comfortable as possible and get the best of their stay. Each room has free Wi-Fi, a flat television, comfortable beds, private bathroom. For additional comfort of our guest, we have a charming lounge area that is daily opened from 07:30hr till 22:30hr. This is an authentic 17th century merchant house with its own style and history, located in ‘The Nine Streets', Amsterdam's best known and charming shopping areas. Dam square and the Royal Palace are few minutes walk from the hotel. The Anne Frank House and other well-known museums are also just a short walk away. We have maintained the spirit of the hotel's history by combining the antique with the modern, wooden floors, flat-screen TV, wi-fi, private bathrooms. Everything is arranged for your comfort. Hotel Hegra location offers you the perfect start to explore the wonderful atmosphere of the Amsterdam canals. Enjoy the charm and comfort of our cozy boutique hotel, in the heart of one of the most beautiful cities in the world. The Hotel Hegra Amsterdam offers different categories of rooms including some of the Canal view, all nicely decorated with a mix of modern and classic interior.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Boating
Walking tours
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Street parking
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch, German and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
405Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
272Attractionswithin 0.5 km
352Reviews14Q+A49Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 125
  • 169
  • 36
  • 10
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dominic Q wrote a review Sep 2022
Twickenham, United Kingdom20 contributions12 helpful votes
Stayed only one night but was a good experience, the hotel is located on Herengracht and easy reach of the Centraal station and most of the main places to get to. Its no frills, the rooms are basic, comfortable and there is no bar/food etc. The staff were nice and check in was simple and for a flying visit to the Dam for work it was a good choice.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sunshine563764 wrote a review Aug 2022
Nantwich, United Kingdom15 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was very nice and modern, while keeping the old Amsterdam style. There was no noise, we slept very well and great views of the canals. It was in a fantastic location and was easy to walk or cycle anywhere in the city.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Linda L wrote a review Sep 2022
399 contributions1 helpful vote
First and foremost this place is very clean. If you stay here getting a room with a view of the canal is worth it. However if you get a room that is 150 square feet be aware it is too small for two people. The bathroom is unbelievably small. I realize this is a very old place but if you don’t like small places this is not the place for you. The office is supposed to be open at 8:30 and no one told us this when we ad told them our flight came in at 6. However no one even came in until 9 so we waited quite a long time. Thru do not clean the rooms so do be aware and of this There are steep steps even if on the first floor. So if you have mobility issues this would not be. Place for you Also when we checked out we were told the maid said our room smelled like smoke which is a lie because neither one of us have ever smoked. Not saying this isn’t a good place. It’s not just the place for us
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nrthomp wrote a review Jul 2022
12 contributions1 helpful vote
Great hotel. Perfect location for walking around. Only 20 minutes to almost every attraction. The staff was very helpful and would recommend staying here to anyone. The fact that I have to write 200 words or trip advisor won’t let me rate this property is absurd.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Amsterdam doesn’t open early. Don’t plan on getting breakfast until at least 9:30
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tex wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Our stay was perfect, hotel is extremely conveniently located for visiting the city. Although the room was a little small, it was cosy and very nicely furnished. The place is simply beautiful. The staff was nice and helpful. We could leave our luggage after checking-out. We could tend bikes nearby with a discount.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Raquel M wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I would NOT book with them, this hotel has horrible customer service! I booked with them for New Years 2022 and the Christmas covid wave happened and they took my 300 and ran. No credit for the unforeseen circumstance, no refund apparently because they just like to steal customers money. All my flights were canceled I showed them proof of my situation and they happily declined my request and keep my money with disregard that I paid for a room and there was no possible way for me to get there. How is that okay, I understand hotels have rules but why are we giving this hotel business, they don't even care about the customers. They wouldn't even give me their email to request a penalty wavier. AGAIN HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO NOT EVEN THINK OF BOOKING HERE. They will take your money and not provide what you paid for!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carole Kabantsov, General Manager at Hotel Hegra by Stanley Collection
Responded 11 May 2022
Dear Mrs Rackel, let me correct your message. You did not make any direct reservation with the hotel and this is why there was not direct communication with the hotel. You claim should be toward your travel agent.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katie M wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
This building is charming and the hotel staff are incredibly warm and helpful. The location is excellent, we walked everywhere and had loads of choices in nearby restaurants. Rooms are clean and well appointed for a small space. We found the beds to be stiff and uncomfortable. Overall a great experience and value for central Amsterdam.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Pieter H. & Shauni V.H. wrote a review Mar 2022
East Flanders Province, Belgium115 contributions22 helpful votes
Overall our stay was quite nice. The host was friendly, enthusiastic and really welcoming. Our room was located on the third floor. The stairs leading to our room were rather steep, increasing inaccessibility. The room was clean and quiet but small. For example, it was impossible for two normal sized adults to be in the bathroom without touching. The location of the hotel is great: located in the 9 straatjes and not far from major attractions such as the Anne frank house.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is no closet, so limit the amount of stuff you bring. Ask for a first or second floor room...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jujul04 wrote a review Nov 2019
Australia26 contributions13 helpful votes
Nice little hotel along the Herengracht Canal. The canal view room was clean, cosy and enough space for us two travellers. Loved the large windows that overlooked the canal and you could sit in bed and watch the boats pass by. Bear in mind that this building was built in 1656 in traditional Dutch style. Therefore, there are no elevators, instead there are steep and narrow stairs - this was not an issue for us as we did not have mobility issues or heavy luggage. The hotel was a lovely walk to all the sights that are to see in Amsterdam and not a far walk from the central train station. Shopping and restaurants are also nearby. Our stay included the daily breakfast which comprised of; pastries, cheese, meats, boiled egg, cereal, yoghurt, coffee/juice - more than enough to start our day. Overall, enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: There are no elevators - so could be in an issue if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
MaryYG wrote a review Oct 2019
York, United Kingdom56 contributions37 helpful votes
This is well located and a good place to stay. The staff were cooperative and helpful. When I booked and made a mistake they rang me at home to sort it out. This helpful approach carried on. Yes you can leave your luggage if you arrive early, they take your luggage upstairs, an they can advise on anything you need. Breakfast is charged separately and we recommend taking it unless you want a very late breakfast - we found good places nearby but they didn’t open until about ten. One note of caution: there is no lift and access to the upstairs rooms is via a steep spiral staircase.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$170 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hegra hotel amsterdam
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamGrachtengordel-West / Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) / 9 Little Streets (Negen Straatjes) / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Hegra by Stanley Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Hegra by Stanley Collection?
Nearby attractions include Anne Frank House (0.5 km), House of Rituals (0.4 km), and Museumphoto (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Hegra by Stanley Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, baggage storage, and boating.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Hegra by Stanley Collection?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a walk-in shower.
Is parking available at Hotel Hegra by Stanley Collection?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Hegra by Stanley Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Bougainville, Ta Toru, and Gartine.
Is Hotel Hegra by Stanley Collection located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Amsterdam.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Hegra by Stanley Collection?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Portuguese, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Hegra by Stanley Collection?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Concertgebouw (1.8 km), Portuguese Synagogue (1.3 km), and Museum Het Rembrandthuis (1.0 km).
Does Hotel Hegra by Stanley Collection have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.