We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

903 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 487: English reviews
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and 4 friends stayed for 4 nights, lovely hotel, the staff are welcoming, we'd definitely come back! Rooms were clean, bed was so comfy!! Thank you for making our Amsterdam experience 100x better! :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taylorhayes_15
United States
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great hotel! Is a beautiful unique location, close to many entertainment venues. Friendly receptionist Vera and a lovely trainee who helped me plan my trip, very friendly and helpful. The look is very domestic where by the entire entourage embraces you like a warm blanket. Really enjoyed it! breakfast was good lots of choices, was quite busy but ladies were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank louise-voguee
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 3 nights there mid week and we found hotel very comfortable and well out of way from all the noise. Breakfast was very basic but totally grand. We liked way we could get tea coffee or hot chocolate all day. Also staff very nice and room small but grand for just sleeping in. The room was lovely and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, many thanks for your recommendation. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Jennifer Leidelmeijer

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You honestly cannot beat the price of this hotel for the location you get. It is walking distance (less than 10 minutes) to the Rijksmuseum, the I Amsterdam sign, Vondelpark and the van Gogh museum. And if you are wanting to go for a bit longer of a walk you can get to the red light district and central station...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hulda P
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of our beautiful city. Kind regards, Jennifer Leidelmeijer

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Gorgeous hotel, very clean and tidy. Staff were very friendly - free tea and coffee 24/7 which was handy. Small rooms but I travelled with just my partner and we only stayed in the room to sleep so this wasn't a problem - they decorated the room on request as it was my boyfriends birthday which was a lovely touch....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlottesuttonx
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Sutton, Thank you for your visit and review posting. Nice to hear you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with the decorations. You are of course "more than welcome". Kind regards, Jennifer Leidelmeijer

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just spent 4 nights there. The staff is very nice. Our room was tiny though and not very clean. Location isn't bad only there were road works going on which sometimes made us take long D-tours back to the hotel, which is not pleasant when it's cold and while you're tired

 Report
Helpful?
Thank inbalilaw
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. My apologies that you room was not very clean, I would very much appreciatie it if you could elaborate on the matter. please respond to info.theatredistrict@hampshire-hotels.com. Good to hear our staff were helpful. Kind regards, Jennifer Leidelmeijer

Portstewart, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay here. From entry it was nice and tidy. The staff were friendly enough and did ask if we needed support or information. We took the lift up to our room and it was pretty small, bed was an ok size and was comfortable enough. The main issue when we arrived: the bedroom didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aimee D
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. We try to maintain a high level of cleanliness, my apologies that this was not the case with your room. I hope you reported the matter to reception so the appropriate steps my have been taken. If not, than you may still respond to info.theatredistrict@hampshire-hotels.com. Kind regards, Jennifer Leidelmeijer

Paris, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank selma l
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff were not very friendly and the room was very small. Room not very clean especially the bathroom. Cushions on bed dirty and the blind on the window was see through. Very difficult to access this hotel as there are eight very steep steps up to reception, not easy to negotiate with heavy suitcases. No help from staff when asked....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helennapier
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. We do indeed have about 8 steep steps to climb before entering the hotel, this is because the hotel is an old Amsterdam building. We always try to help our guests any way possible but we don't always have staff available to help with luggage. I would very much appreciatie...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Small hotel. Very small. A part of it needs serious refreshing. Our room curtains were torn and full of dust. Staff was not so welcomed. Breakfast was very poor. The best of this hotel is a location. Very close to cente of the Amsterdam.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 330felixk
JLeidelmeijer, Supervisor Front Office at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and review posting. We are indeed a small "no frills" hotel. This of course does not mean that the staff should not be warm and welcoming. If you would like to elaborate and let me know the date you stayed, I will definitely look into the matter. Please respond to info.theatredistrict@hampshire-hotels.com. Kind regards,...

201 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (180)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:25
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Prinsen Hotel
#238 of 362 in Amsterdam
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#130 of 362 in Amsterdam
696 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Hotel Europa'92
#190 of 362 in Amsterdam
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam is the ideal place for culture vultures. The hotel is located right in the centre, just behind Leidseplein and close to the city's large theatres: DeLaMar Theater and Stadsschouwburg. Famous music venues Paradiso and Melkweg are also around the corner. Various internationally-renowned museums are just a few minutes walk away, such as Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Stedelijk Museum. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Address: Nassaukade 387 /390, 1054 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 4,281 - ₹ 15,819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in back room, no street noise. But overlooked by local apartments”
 of 5 bubbles Sd500, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room was at the back and very quite.”
 of 5 bubbles Cherretts, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We booked a standard double, was small but very clean.”
 of 5 bubbles kelsiginley, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room on the 3 rd floor with street view. Windows were double glazed, so noise was not an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles riperedtomato, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“rooms are small generaly everywhere in amsterdam, dont expect anything great.”
 of 5 bubbles chrisycharlotte, 9 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay