We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

926 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 690: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just come back from 3 night stay in Amsterdam. Stayed in Hotel de Roode Leuw. Central location just 10 minutes walk from Centraal train station. Room was basic but all I needed with a bed, desk, fridge and decent sized en suite bathroom. the main downside is the renovation of the restaurant. Building work can disturb your sleep after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane C
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

The location of the hotell is really good in the middle of the city in walking distance to all the major sights. You call tell that the have not updated the interior for a bit too long but it is ok. The breakfast is average but nice and friendly staff is a good thing. Recommended if you plan to spend...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jens M
Manchester
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Just a stones throw from Dam Square, so not necessarily the prettiest part of Amsterdam but certainly central and within easy reach (walkable) to the vast majority of attractions. Restaurant under renovation at time of visit but rooms are very clean and comfortable, although reasonably compact (pretty standard for a major European city). As mentioned, even the internal facing rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterTravel_Fan
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in a superior room. Very clean, warm and surprisingly quiet, given the location. Reception staff helpful and courteous. Room had everything and more. Only slight complaint would the renovations going on to the restaurant and reception. I wasn't pre warned about this when booked through the agent and I feel a discount should have been added because...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scott s
The Netherlands
Reviewed 28 January 2017

I had a meeting during the weekend in the center of Amsterdam and that´s always an adventure. How to park my car and is the quality of the hotel at least the amount of money worth? After quit disappointing visits at so called 5 star hotels in the Netherlands (see my earlier reviews) last december, I was a little skeptical....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MuellerAndrew
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, glad to hear that we stand out from the other hotels you have stayed in in such a positive manner! We definitely look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards, the General Manager.

Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

my partner booked this hotel due to the hotels location being central and a 4* rating. When we arrived too the room it was much smaller than the photos displayed and both me and my partner struggled too fit our luggage bags together. Our "double bed" was in fact two single beds, simply pushed together... and two thin blankets provided...4*?...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Capa Jasmin M
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Hotel centrally located to many tourist attractions. Reception staff helpful. Rooms clean and serviceable. Free wifi useful. Hotel restaurant mediocre, preferred to eat out; many restaurant choices nearby and walkable. Overall good location as a base. Whatever the season Amsterdam has something for everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharwood22
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review on your stay with us! Kind regards, the General Manager

Reviewed 12 January 2017

The rooms are really small, but totaly worth their price. They are clean and homey. Quite enough for few days stay. We had some trouble with the water covering the whole bathroom floor after shower, but nothing few towels can't slove. The breakfast at the hoter is really nice and it takes place at the restaurant which is really pretty....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LenaBoh
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Really nice dinners in Amsterdam,polite waiters and beautiful interiors. The food was delicious and I especially enjoyed the deserts. Even the place is perfect. The prices were O.K. And you get a very pretty pen there(-:

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thepuppy2016
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

An already expensive hotel decides to KEEP my EUR 75 pound deposit, after a week of waiting after checkout, reception confirmed deposit will take 3-4 working days (first excuse), 2 weeks later they confirm they have called their credit company and "released" the money (second excuse). After over a month of waiting, hotel refuse to credit back to my account...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glgainford
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

Dear Miss, we have sent you an update on our earlier correspondence. As explained there, we can assure you that we are not holding any money whatsoever. We sincerely regret your negative experience and would welcome the opportunity to proof our service-minded hospitality to you anew. Kind regards, the General Manager

531 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (96)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (234)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Comfort Room (42)
Viewed
Economy Single Room (39)
Viewed
Junior Suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Superior Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#49 of 362 in Amsterdam
463 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#99 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,777 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#115 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Price Range: ₹ 11,538 - ₹ 24,381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Fort Worth, Texas
over a year ago
Alabama
2 months ago
4 months ago

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lower floors in summer (noise)”
 of 5 bubbles MuellerAndrew, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best location; great value”
 of 5 bubbles LenaBoh, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Superior rooms, although much more expensive, would be larger and better for a long stay.”
 of 5 bubbles colleens983, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“superior room,facing the front of the hotel, with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles evans333, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Best view is at the hotel overt looking the main road and the de Bijenkorf department store.”
 of 5 bubbles SquirrelNutikin, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5