We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Booking.comUS$ 476*
View Deal
#76 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 530*
US$ 476*
Great Deal
US$ 530*
US$ 477*
US$ 530*
US$ 477*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,916 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,184: English reviews
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Dirty Rooms, horrable beds, valide fotr Money Poor. Hotel needs to be renovated nur clean rooms is a Must have. I Will Never ever come back . The single highlight is the breakfast but this is outsourced!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 122volkerr
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Your report about the state of your room is, of course, a concern for us. Would you be able to indicate which room it was? Our apologies for this inconvenience. Our breakfast is not outsourced, nor is any other service. Who gave you this information? Because you are not...

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Voluminous room with entire bay window area gazing at the canal below. The sun was out past 10pm, and up before 5am, so that window became a favorite spot. Fabulous location. Location. Location. Walking, bikes, trams, buses etc. are easily accessible. And there are shops and shops up and down the brick-laid streets. A canal cruise operator is outside front...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janestern228
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your review posting. Exceeding expectations is exactly what we aim for. we are happy that we succeeded and that it resulted in you revisitng us in the future. With best regards,

lausanne, switzerland
Reviewed 20 June 2015

We were happy at this hotel. In addition to all that has been said, let me point out that for museum and music lovers, it is ideally placed. Be it the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum or the Concertgebouw Hall, everything is within walking distance. To the busy centre of the town, the trams 1,2 and 5 stop right outside the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blacklab
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and review posting. It is very rewarding to notice that the efforts have resulted in a very satisfactory stay. We hope that it is reason for you to revisit us. With best regards,

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2015

We spent 5 nights in a "junior suite", which in fact was a bit larger double bedroom. There was only one armchair, terrible lighting,dirty carpet (with holes), extremely small bathroom. In addition it was quite noisy due to traffic around all night. The 2nd day the room was not made up at 3pm! Water was only free of charge the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andreasg188
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We regret to hear that you had to endure a few housekeeing omissions. Our apologies. Have you asked our team for a roo transfer to a more favourable room? If you would take the effort to revisit us during a future visit, we would like to demonstrate you the...

Key West, FL
Reviewed 18 June 2015 via mobile

We're staying for five days and we've got a good feel for it already. The rooms are clean, well appointed and large. The location is perfect for seeing the sights, bring right at the heart of what Amsterdam has to offer. A meal in the restaurant the first night was very good and the server was competent and friendly. A...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank atayqed
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. Good to notice that expectations were met. We have taken on board the improvement tips you mentioned concerning personal guest contact. We hope to be able to welcome you again, Best regards,

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I chose this hotel as I wanted to be near Paradiso (concert venue) which is a 2 min walk away. The bus to/from Schiphol airport stops right outside the hotel, takes 30 mins-ish and costs €5 each way, so super convenient. This hotel is in a great location on the square of Leidseplein. The area has lots of eateries, quirky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveller6265
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. We value your descriptions of the hotel, its facilities, surroundings and transportation methods. Indeed some of the bathrooms in the 113 year old building are compact. We hope that we may welcome you again in the near future. With kind regards,

Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

Very well located in Amsterdam! Charming hotel, with comfortable clean rooms and great service. Very good front desk service, especially David the concierge, he made our stay a great one. Wonderful restaurant, very good breakfast. And again thanks very much to Carlos , a wondefull host at the restaurant .i would highly recomend the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Acls1965
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and review posting. We are very pleased to read that you had such a wonderful stay. Thank you for your recommendations, and compliments regarding our staff, this is a huge motivation for our team. We look forward to welcome you back soon. With kind regards,

London, England
Reviewed 15 June 2015

We stayed here for just two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The room itself was a little dated hence the four stars I awarded not five but the hotel more than made up for it in other ways. Our bed was absolutely huge and very comfortable and we really slept well both nights. The location of the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan222
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and review posting. It is very rewarding for our team to read that you had such an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your recommendations! We look forward to welcome you again in the near future. With kind regards,

Manama, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 15 June 2015

As usual lovely welcome from the team, and flexibility of finding a suitable room, I'm really happy to have Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam American to by my stay hotel in Netherlands. I really enjoyed the room also, thanks.

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank YousifMahmood
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your review posting and loyal visits. We are happy to read that you had a wonderful stay again! We look forward to welcome you back! With kind regards,

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2015

I must have stayed here 20 times and every time it's been perfect, friendly staff, beautiful building and amazing location. I will not stay anywhere else in this fantastic city, I would strongly recommend this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G9657YIjasong
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review posting and loyal visits! It is rewarding for our team to notice that you again had a perfect stay. We look forward to welcome you again on your next stay. With warm regards,

823 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (766)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (118)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (232)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (273)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#56 of 364 in Amsterdam
820 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 364 in Amsterdam
704 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#41 of 364 in Amsterdam
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 12,897 - ₹ 29,019 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American staff and other travellers.
75 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (75)

Questions? Get answers from Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room overlooking the canal.”
460lawrencep, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Lovely hotel. Rooms are clean and well appointed. As prices in Amsterdam are on the higher side, our room was a bit pricey, but there wasn't anything more we would have asked for! ”
468donnae, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure that you get the room you expect. The pictures on the website didn't match what we got, but they took care of it without any "attitude" - very caring staff. Also, bring your OWN shampoo, conditioner, and soap. Hotel's is quite generic and didn't feel good.”
CT2Europe, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Canal side is quieter.”
592erikb, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had an inner room on fifth floor”
ollie4929, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 476* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 477
Expedia.comUS$ 477
TripAdvisorUS$ 476
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates