We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Die Port Van Cleve

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 /180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam The Netherlands
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (904)
Room & Suite (389)
Dining (100)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#136 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due to its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Hulscher's restaurant is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. The rooms are decorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. In 2020 due to its 150 anniversary around 20 rooms were renovated and are now themed with one of our six memorable moments. The ground floor is entirely renovated.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 1 more
2,453Reviews66Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 859
  • 913
  • 400
  • 153
  • 128
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Joe K wrote a review 3 Apr
Clarksville, Tennessee8 contributions
Fully recommend. We were extremely satisfied with this hotel. The staff was excellent and the facilities were very nice. We ended up eating in the attached restaurant for breakfast everyday because it was very good and a good price. The location of the hotel was fantastic, right next to the canals and the tram, couldn't really be better. Our room was a bit outdated (older) but it was very clean and everything worked. The bathroom was updated. The space was good. This hotel was a good value for the price. I fully recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The room cleanup for us was around 3 pm daily, be aware. Maybe because we ere on top floor.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel DM, Owner at Die Port Van Cleve
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Joe, It is wonderful to see that you had a fantastic experience at Hotel Die Port van Cleve. I am delighted that you fully enjoyed the friendly service our helpful team provided, your comfortable, clean room and the delicious breakfast we served. Our location, right in the historic centre of Amsterdam and just off Dam Square, is very convenient indeed. Many attractions are within walking distance and the tram stops right in front of the hotel. Thank you for your recommendation, and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly when making your next reservation so that we can offer you our best price.  Warm regards, Lisa, Guest Relations Tel: +31 (0)20 7142000 Email: Info@dieportvancleve.com Website: dieportvancleve.com **Special offer – Book direct or via our website, and stay 4 nights or longer and receive a complimentary bottle of wine**
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lynda Shine wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
This was my second time staying in the hotel die van cleve I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay the staff are so friendly and extremely helpful the bedrooms are really nice and comfortable and a very clean hotel and it is so near dam square thank you we had a lovely stay. Lynda and Paul shine.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Great hotel and location
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel DM, Owner at Die Port Van Cleve
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Lynda and Paul, Thank you for returning to us at Hotel Die Port van Cleve and for sharing your wonderful review on this platform. I am thrilled that you had a comfortable stay in your clean room and liked our location, right in the centre of Amsterdam, and only 50 meters from Dam Square. Our team will be happy to hear your kind words regarding the friendly and helpful service. I am grateful for your recommendation, and we all look forward to welcoming you again. Please remember to make your next reservation directly at our hotel so that we can offer you our best rate.  Warm regards, Lisa, Guest Relations Tel: +31 (0)20 7142000 Email: Info@dieportvancleve.com Website: dieportvancleve.com **Special offer – Book direct or via our website, and stay 4 nights or longer and receive a complimentary bottle of wine**
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Leslie W wrote a review Mar 2024
3 contributions
I loved staying at the Die Port Van Cleve. The front desk staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. It's centrally located for tourists, close to the train station and a tram stop and near all the sights. It has a wonderful historic charm. I have one observation, however. I was first put into a modern renovated room. It was stylish, yet impractical. It didn't have any drawers, closet or shelves to put clothes, just metal hangers and luggage rack. It didn't function well. Luckily, they were able to switch me to an older room that had not been renovated and yet it functioned so much better. Also, the older room had Dutch Charm, with blue Delft murals. Even though it was smaller, it had shelves and plenty of space for clothes and my suitcase. Other than that, an excellent and charming historic hotel. It also has a wonderful lobby where you can work, read or just relax. I was happy staying there and would stay again if I return to Amsterdam.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: They have modern rooms and more traditional ones. See which one you like. I preferred...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel DM, Owner at Die Port Van Cleve
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Leslie, Thank you for your candid review following your visit to Hotel Die Port van Cleve. I am pleased our helpful and friendly team, our delicious breakfast buffet, our cosy lobby and our convenient location, in the centre of Amsterdam and just off Dam Square, made for a wonderful experience. I appreciate your remark regarding the closet. I will discuss this matter internally to see how we can change it. It was an honour to welcome you as our guest, and I look forward to your next visit. Please don't forget to contact us when making your next reservation so that we can assist you with any requirements you may have.  Warm regards, Lisa, Guest Relations Tel: +31 (0)20 7142000 Email: Info@dieportvancleve.com Website: dieportvancleve.com **Special offer – Book direct or via our website, and stay 4 nights or longer and receive a complimentary bottle of wine**
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Voyage61551937265 wrote a review Mar 2024
Middleville, Michigan3 contributions
Great location. Close to trains and attractions. Very centrally located. We walked to everything. Great staff and comfortable rooms. Did not really use the restaurant in the hotel except for desert. Hotel is located across from Dam Square. It is also about a 25 minute walk from the main train station.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Great location which to us is important.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel DM, Owner at Die Port Van Cleve
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Voyage61551937265, I'm glad to hear that your recent stay at Hotel Die Port van Cleve was as comfortable as you had hoped. I am delighted that you found our team to be friendly and helpful, and that you appreciated our location, which is right in the heart of Amsterdam and only 50 meters from Dam Square. Many attractions, like the Anne Frank House and the Hermitage Museum, are nearby, as are cosy restaurants and public transport. Thank you for your valuable feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you again. Please feel free to contact us directly when making your next reservation so that we can offer you our best price.  Warm regards, Lisa, Guest Relations Tel: +31 (0)20 7142000 Email: Info@dieportvancleve.com Website: dieportvancleve.com **Special offer – Book direct or via our website, and stay 4 nights or longer and receive a complimentary bottle of wine**
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
James B wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
We have a beautiful few days in Amsterdam our stay at this hotel was very pleasant The hotel is ideally located and within walking distance of a wide range of shops, restaurants and bars. A beautiful hotel, pleasant friendly staff, the place is spotless and comfortable. Would highly recommend , we arrived mid morning and our room was ready.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel DM, Owner at Die Port Van Cleve
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear James, Thank you for sharing this fabulous review following your visit to Hotel Die Port van Cleve on this platform. I am delighted that you had a wonderful experience at our historic hotel and found our team to be welcoming and friendly. Our central location, just off Dam Square, and within walking distance of many attractions, like the Anne Frank House, interesting shops and cosy restaurants, make us an ideal starting point from which to explore Amsterdam. Thank you for your recommendation, and we all hope it won't be long before we can welcome you again. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly so that we can offer you our best rate.  Warm regards, Lisa, Guest Relations Tel: +31 (0)20 7142000 Email: Info@dieportvancleve.com Website: dieportvancleve.com **Special offer – Book direct or via our website, and stay 4 nights or longer and receive a complimentary bottle of wine**
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sara m wrote a review Feb 2024
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom51 contributions8 helpful votes
My husband booked this hotel as a surprise for my birthday, we had a lovely stay, nice room, comfy bed. We ate in the restaurant using the discount vouchers that they gave on arrival, friendly staff & gd food. The hotel also came to our rescue when our eurostar train home was cancelled & we needed an impromptu extra night! Same really nice clean room & friendly service.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel DM, Owner at Die Port Van Cleve
Responded 1 Mar 2024
Dear Sara, Let me start by congratulation you on your birthday! It is a great honour that your husband chose Hotel Die Port van Cleve to surprise you on this special event. I am delighted that your stay met all your expectations, that you liked your nice room and the comfortable bed, and that you enjoyed the delicious food we serve in our renowned Restaurant Hulscher's. Thank you for being our guest, and we all look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Amsterdam. Please make your next reservation directly so that we can offer you our best rate.  Warm regards, Lisa, Guest Relations Tel: +31 (0)20 7142000 Email: Info@dieportvancleve.com Website: dieportvancleve.com **Special offer – Book direct or via our website, and stay 4 nights or longer and receive a complimentary bottle of wine**
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sharon B wrote a review Feb 2024
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
We four ladies arrived at the hotel to celebrate one of our parties 50th birthday. We were greeted by the friendliest reception staff we have ever had in any hotel. We received 2 complimentary small bottles of wine to get the celebrations underway. We were informed we had a room upgrade . Room was lovely but a little dusty. When we informed reception the offered to move us but we declined and instead they sent someone in to give it another clean. Throughout our stay the staff have been amazing and couldn't have been more helpful if they tried. We have had an absolute ball in Amsterdam and if we ever returned we would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel. It's very central, has a lovelt restaurant and the bar area and bar staff there have been so friendly. Thank you to all at Hotel Die Port Van Cleve for helping us have the most memorable break. Xxx
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel DM, Owner at Die Port Van Cleve
Responded 29 Feb 2024
Dear Sharon, It is such an honour to hear that you chose Hotel Die Port van Cleve to celebrate the 50th birthday of one of you ladies. I am delighted that our team went above and beyond to ensure all your needs were met, and that you took the time to visit our historic bar, De Blauwe Parade and Restaurant Hulscher’s, renowned for their numbered steaks. We all look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable stay in central Amsterdam, and please contact us directly to make your next reservation so that we can offer you our best available rate.   Warm regards, Lisa, Guest Relations Tel: +31 (0)20 7142000 Email: Info@dieportvancleve.com Website: dieportvancleve.com **Special offer – Book direct or via our website, and stay 4 nights or longer and receive a complimentary bottle of wine**
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nisha M wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
Staff were very welcoming and friendly; both at reception and in the Bar. The hotel was based centrally and the room was tastefully decorated. Really pleased with our choice. I accidentally left my currency in the sitting area downstairs and realised I lost it an hour later. Two members of staff looked after my money for me in their safe until I returned - very appreciative of this. Thank you Alejo and Veronica!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel DM, Owner at Die Port Van Cleve
Responded 26 Feb 2024
Dear Nisha, It is wonderful to see that you had a fantastic stay at Hotel Die Port van Cleve. I am delighted that you liked our design and our location, right in the centre of Amsterdam and just off Dam Square. I am pleased that you took the time to visit our historic bar, De Blauwe Parade, and found our team to be welcoming and friendly. Of course, I will share your kind words with Alejo and Weronika, they will be happy to hear them. Thank you for being our guest, and please do not forget to make your next reservation directly at the hotel so that we can assist you with any requirements you may have.   Warm regards, Lisa, Guest Relations Tel: +31 (0)20 7142000 Email: Info@dieportvancleve.com Website: dieportvancleve.com **Special offer – Book direct or via our website, and stay 4 nights or longer and receive a complimentary bottle of wine**
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Emily M wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Such a lovely experience. Hotel is beautiful, well worth its value for money. Staff were exception, so friendly, welcoming and polite. We really felt at home here. We were unsure if we got a room upgrade or if the rooms really are just that lovely. It seemed worth much more than what we paid for our visit, and more modern than some of the photos from the hotel online. Beds were so comfy, everything clean, room cleaned every single day and topped up with toiletries and clean towels etc. No complaints whatsoever. If I were to return to Amsterdam I will 100% look to stay again, thank you!!! :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel DM, Owner at Die Port Van Cleve
Responded 21 Feb 2024
Dear Emily, Thank you for sharing your review following your stay at Hotel Die Port van Cleve on this platform. I am delighted that you think we offer great value for money and that you appreciated the free upgrade we offered upon arrival. Our housekeepers are delighted to hear your kind words regarding the cleanliness of your room, and it is wonderful to see that our team made you feel at home. We all look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the future, and please remember to make your next reservation directly so that we can assist you with any requirements you may have.  Warm regards, Lisa, Guest Relations Tel: +31 (0)20 7142000 Email: Info@dieportvancleve.com Website: dieportvancleve.com **Special offer – Book direct or via our website, and stay 4 nights or longer and receive a complimentary bottle of wine**
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andy wrote a review Feb 2024
Ickenham, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
Not the most comfortable bed (days 1-3) but after Eurostar screwed up our return journey and the hotel came up with a room on the spot for an extra night!!… with a huge comfortable bed!… The team are amazing, room 307 if beautiful (no so much on the bed in 312)…. Thanks everyone for your help with putting us up while we deal with Eurostars mess up!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel DM, Owner at Die Port Van Cleve
Responded 18 Feb 2024
Dear Andy, Thank you for reviewing your visit to Hotel Die Port van Cleve. When you encountered an issue with your train journey and were unable to leave Amsterdam, we were delighted to be able to provide you with a room. It is wonderful to see that it exceeded your expectations. Regarding the previous room, please always let us know when something is not to your liking so that we can resolve it during your stay. It was a great pleasure to be of service to you, and please come and see us again soon. Remember to make your next reservation directly so that we can assist you with any requirements you may have.  Warm regards, Lisa, Guest Relations Tel: +31 (0)20 7142000 Email: Info@dieportvancleve.com Website: dieportvancleve.com **Special offer – Book direct or via our website, and stay 4 nights or longer and receive a complimentary bottle of wine**
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Amsterdam area.
PRICE RANGE
₹18,977 - ₹28,925 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
die port van cleve hotel amsterdam, die port van cleve amsterdam, cleve hotel amsterdam
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamBurgwallen-Nieuwe Zijde / Old Center / Dam Square & Damstraat / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DIE PORT VAN CLEVE (Amsterdam) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Die Port Van Cleve
Which popular attractions are close to Die Port Van Cleve?
Nearby attractions include Anne Frank House (0.5 km), Museumphoto (0.1 km), and Dam Square (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Die Port Van Cleve?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Die Port Van Cleve?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Die Port Van Cleve?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Die Port Van Cleve?
Conveniently located restaurants include De Silveren Spiegel, The Yeti - Nepali & Indian Restaurant, and Restaurant Bougainville.
Is Die Port Van Cleve located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Amsterdam.
Are any cleaning services offered at Die Port Van Cleve?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Die Port Van Cleve offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Die Port Van Cleve?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Die Port Van Cleve?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Concertgebouw (2.1 km), Portuguese Synagogue (1.2 km), and Museum Het Rembrandthuis (0.9 km).
Is Die Port Van Cleve accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.