We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Orbitz.comUS$ 123*
View Deal
#154 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 140*
US$ 123*
US$ 140*
US$ 123*
US$ 140*
US$ 124*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,079 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Showing 708: English reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We went to celebrate my birthday, I had some reservations re the hotel due to some reviews but I found it lovely! Of course you get what you pay for and I wasn't expecting the ritz! However I was pleasantly surprised! The location was fantastic just off tram 9 stop for the zoo. the hotel itself was lovely with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pinkieemma
Hans1018, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your nice words and your time to write your kind words. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Hans

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for for nights whilst attending a conference at Artis zoo. The location for that purpose was obviously ideal but a little way out of town if you want to walk it. There are good transport connections by way of a tram stop right outside but I personally like to walk. The staff were very polite and helpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MarkFromTheZoo
Hans1018, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Mark, thank you for posting your comments here on Tripadvisor. Kind regards, Hans

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2013

i stayed here for a few days. rooms are standard but still good quality i got wifi in my room even though they said it only works in reception which was a bonus to me. reception staff very polite and friendly. i also hired bikes from the hotel which was 17 euros each for 24 hours. the best way to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spencer F
Hans1018, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Spencer F, thank you for writing your review here. It is good to read that you had a good stay. Kind regards, Hans

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This hotel was small but comfortable. The ensuite especially was tiny but still with good facilities. The stff were extremely kind and helpful. The room was well worth the money. We would definitely stay again. Took about 15mins into the centre of amsterdam walking and 25 to centraal station.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hoxley
Hans1018, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Hoxley, thank you for your kind words overhere. Looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Hans

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Location for this hotel is really good and transport links easy and reliable. Less than 5 minutes to Dam Square. The Hotel itself let down a bit... rooms are very small... had some trouble find space to open my luggage and no where to put it... the wardrobe was so small that the door wouldn't close with my small hand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RMarruso
Hans1018, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear RMarruso, thank you for your comments here on Tripadvisor. Our hotel is located in an old building where there is limited space and rooms are small. The internet in the lobby is free; we have free wifi and a free pc available. The charge for the wired internet in the rooms is € 5,- per hour and € 12.50...

Amsterdam
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice H
Hans1018, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Todi, Italy
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The hotel is well connected by tram, the personnel is nice and available, they have good internet connection in the looby, so in general it is good also respect to the price. However the room I had was just the size of the bed, no way to reach the window without passing on the bed and the toilette was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darpap
Hans1018, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for your review. Our rooms come in different sizes due to the fact that we are located in an old monumental building. It is good to hear your positive words about our staff. I will certainly pass this on to them. Kind regards, Hans

Amsterdam
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Had a really pleasant time hotel was near to the tram stops to get you to all amenities and attractions, staff were very helpful and pleasant. The room was fine we had the one for four sharing together how ever the bathroom was quite small but manageable. All in all we had no complaints,apart from the weather at the time...

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gillian T
Hans1018, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Gillian, thank you for your kind words in your review. Kind regards, Hans

Hasselt, Belgium
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed overnight with six persons and booked 3 rooms. The friendly receptionist put us on the 4th floor. When we went up and enter my room, there was a quiet surprise when suddenly a guy came up out the bathroom half naked. The room wasn't available. Thus we went back to receptionist and after apolosizing to us, he gave...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank STroek
Hans1018, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sir, thank you for your review. I do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced but I am glad to hear that our receptionist handled it correctly and to your satisfaction. We hope to welcome you in the near future. Kind regards, Hans

Amsterdam
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The hotel is very comfortable and well located and we enjoyed our stay there immensely. Would stay at this hotel again and would recommend to family and friends. tthe only criticism we had was the lebvl of noise from other residents .

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevensaj1305
Hans1018, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Stevensaj1305, thank you so much for writing your review. Kind regards, Hans

193 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#135 of 364 in Amsterdam
770 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#126 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,648 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Plantage & the East

Neighbourhood Profile
Plantage & the East
The eastern edge of central Amsterdam provides visitors with the chance to imagine the city that Rembrandt called home (and to tour his historic house) while shopping like the thriftiest of locals at Waterlooplein’s massive flea market, or even enjoying a craft beer beside the tallest wooden windmill in The Netherlands. This verdant, serene, and stately part of town is home to Artis Royal Zoo, one of Europe’s oldest (and still best kept) zoos, and Hortus Botanicus, one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. It's also an ideal setting for the Dutch outpost of St Petersburg’s Hermitage.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, 1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Price Range: ₹ 7,764 - ₹ 17,278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good bed. Quiet room near the park”
anjal148, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Away from main road & away from next door contrsuction, prob better on upper floors.”
skmiah, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Given what I said regarding other reviews and the size of rooms, if you know you like a larger room book it, the hotel does give information with regards to the sizes. We were not disappointed with our room and it had everything we required including space.”
sheilamF6414CX, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back would be better”
701melf, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Does not apply. It's somewhere to rest after a long day of enjoying beautiful Amsterdam”
sheelaghm994, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$ 123* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 123
Hotwire.comUS$ 124
TripAdvisorUS$ 123
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates