We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

NH Carlton Amsterdam

Show Prices
#238 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
NH Carlton Amsterdam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,318: English reviews
Start your review of NH Carlton Amsterdam
 Click to rate
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I had to stay at NH Carlton in a pinch. I was supposed to be on holiday with someone else and that didn't pan out and I needed somewhere to lay my head quickly. The front desk staff was very accommodating. overall it was nice, could be better. But truthfully, it served its purpose. I was hardly ever there as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sh8896a
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Sh8896a, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. It is always good to hear that you had a nice experience in our hotel. Hopefully you will choose our hotel again on your next trip to Amsterdam. Best regards, Tim Lebbink Hotel Director t.lebbink@nh-hotels.com

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good hotel in the center of town. Rooms a little outdated, with hard mattresses and an air conditioner running very poorly. The bathroom was small and old. Deficiently needs some improve. Nice and harm staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiago5
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear tiago5, Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. It is correct that we are not the newest hotel anymore and we are waiting on a renovation. It is good to hear that you loved the location and the staff! Once again I would like to thank you for your honestly and hopefully we can welcome you again...

Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Mexico
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were relocated here because the other NH hotel we choose was overbooked. Other than a lovely location, I can't say anything positive about this old run down Hotel. Either the Management has no budget at all to improve it, or he should change job because there are so many things wrong that it is useless to list them here....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PolT76
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear PolT76, I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as you had hoped for. As you already mentioned our hotel is not the newest anymore therefore we are planning a renovation at the end of this year. The whole hotel will be renovated from top to bottom. I truly hope you will return to our hotel after...

Nacka, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Hotel have a nice and good place in central Amsterdam. The staff are very service minded and kind. We stayed 4 nights in a double room. The rooms is ok, the beds are ok. It is not noicy. But the hotell is in a need for renovation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bosse L
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Bosse L, Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. It is correct that we are not the newest hotel anymore and we are waiting on a renovation. It is always good to hear that you had a nice experience in our hotel. Hopefully you will choose our hotel again on your next trip to Amsterdam. Best regards,...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here with my girlfriend on her first trip to Amsterdam. It was a nice hotel, quite enough. Staff were friendly and the room was big with a balcony . It was very close to Rembrandt square and 10 mins from dam square and right beside the flower market, good value hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane M
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Shane M, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. It is always good to hear that you had a nice experience in our hotel. Hopefully you will choose our hotel again on your next trip to Amsterdam. Best regards, Tim Lebbink Hotel Director t.lebbink@nh-hotels.com

Pattaya
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked 3 nights. Left after the first night. Room smelt of urine and the City of Amsterdam are working all through the night to relay the road outside the hotel using heavy machinery. Unable to sleep and writing this review at 4am having just booked an alternative hotel for the last 2 nights of our break. Really disappointing the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank orangeburger
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Orangeburger, Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. It is never pleasant to hear that we didn't meet your expectations but it does provide us to change where necessary. I will share your comments with the Housekeeping Manager. We apologize for any inconvenience we may cause you. These constructions has been approved by the City council of Amsterdam and...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a block booking here for a meeting we were running up the road (a group of European surgeons). Check in was okay but then I was shown to my room (301). There was a smell of urine / drains in the corridor outside. The room itself was quite small, clean in places, and with various stains on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth D, First of all I would like to thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. It is never pleasant to hear that we didn't meet your expectations but it does provide us to change where necessary. I will discuss all your comments with my colleagues from the different departments to make sure that all errors will be solved....

Czech Republic
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed in this hotel 9 years ago and was happy with it, so I was skeptical towards the reviews of other travelers - boy was I wrong! The hotel is in such a bad condition, hard to believe this is possible in the middle of Amsterdam... carpets were soooo old and fitlhy dirty, and by this I do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mlzika
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Mlzika, Thank you very much for the time you have taken to share your experience with us, only with the help of your feedback we can obtain and approve our service and quality level. I am sorry to hear that you latest stay was not as you had hoped for. Our hotel is not the newest anymore therefore we...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the NH Carlton for 3 nights whilst on a short break in April. The hotel itself is rather tired and dated, in definite need of a refurb. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Our room was a standard twin/double and was comfortable with pretty much everything you would expect to find. The best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vickie19782015
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Vickie19782015, Thank you very much for the time you have taken to share your experience with us. Our hotel is not the newest anymore therefore we are planning a renovation at the end of this year. The whole hotel will be renovated from top to bottom. It is good to hear that you loved the location and the staff....

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel rooms tired and dated, check in staff seemingly no idea how to use their own systems and very inefficient. All that said the hotel is in a very good location. Lots of bars, cafes and restaurants nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomkeogh83
Tim L, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear tomkeogh83, Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. It is correct that we are not the newest hotel anymore and we are waiting on a renovation. I will share your comment with the Front Office Manager. She will discuss this with her team. It's good to see you like the location of the hotel. Hopefully we can welcome you...

908 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (665)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
View from Room (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (197)
Viewed
Bathroom (68)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (255)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (225)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (29)
Viewed
Superior Queen Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#111 of 364 in Amsterdam
909 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#150 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,456 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#105 of 364 in Amsterdam
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#68 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,849 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#120 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,454 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighbourhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Price Range: ₹ 10,640 - ₹ 29,555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from NH Carlton Amsterdam staff and other travellers.
49 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (49)

Questions? Get answers from NH Carlton Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here.”
ElizabethD871, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“6th floor is quieter. We stayed in 609. Which was very roomy.”
617stephaniet, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try for 6th or 7th floor for the view; consider room facing the canal and flower market for quiet.”
BoomerTours, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 632 is one of two that has a terrace overlooking the canal and flower market.”
KiloTango, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on a top floor due to noisy streets”
373theah, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5