We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Thorbecke Plein 3, 1017 CS Amsterdam The Netherlands
Lowest prices for your stay
$230
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia.com$230
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
  • All employees are fully vaccinated
Updated 12/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 12/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#238 of 461 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Adults only
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Walk-in shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
332Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
188Attractionswithin 0.5 km
74Reviews2Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 20
  • 12
  • 6
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Alison K wrote a review May 2022
11 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
On arrival the hotel was extremely hot, on check in we were told not to turn on the air-con as it only expels hot air and to just open the window. When we got to our room it was too hot and opening our window wasnt enough. I went downstairs to ask the receptionist if she could provide us with a fan since their aircon isnt working given the fact that they have in the hotel description that they offer aircon. She was extremely rude and told me no, that they dont provide fans, and that she cant turn on the aircon just for me, despite the other party i was with complaining prior over the same issue, and another guest complaining to the receptionist about the same while we were checking in. After the first day past the receptionist came up to my room as she stated she had spoken to the owner and “convinced him to let her turn the aircon on” meaning it did in fact work and the owner was clearly just too tight to turn it on as it costs money. I paid for a room with a view on to the square with a measurement of 15m2, u can see in the photo i was looking out onto a wall. When I brought this to receptionist she stated that my friends room was suppose to be mine, and that we can swap, despite my friends room being advertised with a measurement of 13m2. When i stated that we paid for the bigger room and that my friends room was the smaller room out of the 2, she denied this and refused to change my room to the correct one i had paid for. When looking outside our window onto the wall, we noticed there was a window opposite us that was able to see right into our bedroom and onto our bed. so we tried to pull the blind down, when we done this it was evident that the blind was broken and hanging off the wall. When i brought this to the attention of the receptionist i was told i was “looking for things to complain about” and to just “pull the blind off the wall” as she had it stuck to the wall with velcro! When i questioned this she told me “it doesn’t effect your sleep” there was absolutely no apology or sincerity instead a horrible and rude attitude. Both mine and my friends room were filthy. There was dust everywhere, from the bed post, to the window sills. When u jumped on the bed dust would fly into the air. The cups provided for the tea and coffee facility where also full of dust. On check out we were informed we could not leave our cases in the hotel and had to walk 15 minutes in the rain to a baggage storage shop where we paid 15 euro to leave our bags. Absolutely nightmare from start to finish. Overall the hotel was not fit for purpose considering the price i paid for 3 nights. i have never had to complain about a hotel but this one was like nothing i have ever stayed in before alone with such rudeness from the receptionist (who also informed me she was the manager)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kash wrote a review May 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
A great well-priced stay in an excellent location. Good sized rooms that are clean and well maintained with regularly servicing. We booked this hotel and it was considerably cheaper than others in the area. The location is great. Took about 15 minutes walk to Amsterdam Central Station. Lots of restaurants, cafes and bars on your doorstep. Downstairs turns into a club but surprisingly the noise cannot be heard even directly upstairs in rooms. The rooms could benefit from more mirrors. The stairs are narrow and steep and may be tricky to manoeuvre especially with large bags. All in all - a great stay and will come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: The stairs are narrow and steep so be careful with larger bags.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
annie wrote a review Jan 2022
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom4 contributions
DO NOT BOOK I would recommend avoiding this hotel as I had booked a triple room with my 2 friends for a long weekend in February. Unfortunately, 6 weeks before we were due to arrive a close relative passed away. The funeral date was booked for when we were due to be in Amsterdam. I messaged the hotel asking to move the dates to April, which I assumed they would help, but no. I was happy to pay extra due to it being peak time and because it was 6 weeks prior they would have been able to re sell the room. The staff were so unhelpful when I called so when I sent an email the hotel owner replied “Kai Pardieck”. He insinuated that I wasn’t being honest with the funeral date in question and said “funerals don’t usually get booked for 1 month after the death of somebody” I could not believe this response. He also said the other 2 guests can still go to Amsterdam…I understand due to covid and non refundable room but this was an unfortunate circumstance and thought they would have a little compassion on. They have now stopped replying to me, but will be going further with this as it’s unacceptable. I would seriously avoid booking this hotel even though the pictures make it look good. This is the worst hotel experience I have ever received.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Davies wrote a review Dec 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Myself and my friends were due to visit Amsterdam this month for a trip away before Christmas. We booked a triple room at here and there was no option for free cancellation when doing so, but being less than a month away and with flights booked and we agreed. A few days later, Amsterdam announced lockdown restrictions and following this, the UK increased travel restrictions in response to the increase of positive cases. Not wanting to risk it so close to Christmas, we contacted the hotel to see if we could rearrange (offering to even pay a fee to do this), as the Amsterdam lockdown restrictions are being reviewed on the 19th December whilst we were due to be there (and we don’t want to end up being even more restricted in our movement!). Customer service here was not helpful at all, even to consider this as an exception in light of the restrictions out there. So after paying nearly £600 for 4 nights stay, they refused even a partial refund or for us reschedule. Meaning we have had to cancel. Before cancelling I checked the rates for the rooms again and they had dropped our exact stay down to £350! Booking.com attempted to help, but again we met with refusal with little explanation. The customer service were unwilling to even discuss it. I completely understand the risk of booking a non-refundable trip, however there has been no leniency or consideration despite the changing circumstances with COVID, seems very unethical. Then to offer the same stay for a fraction of the cost makes it very obvious that money comes first to this company. We’ve reschedule our flights easily and will not be staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Leah wrote a review Jun 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We paid a pre-paid room rate in December way before COVID-19, I asked numerous times if we could push out the date as the borders had closed and all flights had been cancelled, we had no way of getting into the country! the owner and staff were so rude I've never dealt with anyone with worse customer service. They would not reply to emails and anytime I called they hung up the phone on me. I understand this is a hard time for everyone but their attitude to customers is not acceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Laura D wrote a review Apr 2020
London, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
Please do not stay at this hotel! We booked very early in the year, prior to the knowledge of the COVID-19 pandemic, for travel in April. We asked to postpone due to closure of borders, however, when we contacted the hotel they refused to postpone or refund our booking. They were also EXTREMELY rude. I appreciate it's a tough time for everyone but the least they could do was extend our booking for later in the year. Overall, a terrible experience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jaqueline d wrote a review Apr 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
DO NOT STAY HERE - I had a very bad experience with this Hotel, owner and staff . I had booked a stay in April and , because of COVID-19 and travel country restrictions could not go to amsterdam. Asked the hotel to postpone my stay (already paid) and the owner did not refund or postpone, they even hang the phone on my face!!! Hotels like this should be banned, took my money and it was very expensive!! Shame behaviour!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alexandra Sanfins wrote a review Mar 2020
Sao Luis, Portugal9 contributions5 helpful votes
I have a reservation already paid at The Bolster for the period of April for a family trip. We asked to postpone this stay due to the CODIV-19 Pandemia. We called and sent several emails asking to postpone this reservation. The answer is always the same - they will not postpone the dates. They even hung up the phone and the owner was never able to talk to us. These people are taking advantage of a situation that is beyond our control and kept the money! Unbelievable behaviour! Situations like this should be reported. I don't advice this Hotel to anyone because they do not have any ethical behaviour or consideration towards their clients! Please share this through your networks!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
ksheehan01 wrote a review Feb 2020
15 contributions5 helpful votes
The hotel was lovely. Its just off rembrand sq so can be quite noisy at night.the stairs are steep but a lot of places in Amsterdam are the same. We had no issues with the shower. A lot of reviews said it was cold but we didn't find this. Staff were friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alysia L wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom3 contributions
I'm just shocked, I never meet such rude stuff in any hotel in my life. I work as receptionist and I know what does it mean to understand customers, they didn't even let me explain and started to threatening me and my friends while we were only asking information.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$176 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamGrachtengordel-Zuid / Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Bolster
Which popular attractions are close to The Bolster?
Nearby attractions include Mystery City Games (0.4 km), SUMSUM Amsterdam (0.4 km), and Tuschinski Theater (0.1 km).
What are some restaurants close to The Bolster?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ku Kitchen & Bar, Senses Restaurant, and Bhatti Pasal - Authentic Nepalese Food.
Is The Bolster located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Amsterdam.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Bolster?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bolster?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Concertgebouw (1.6 km), Portuguese Synagogue (0.7 km), and Museum Het Rembrandthuis (0.5 km).