We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bastion Hotel Groningen

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Bastion Hotel Groningen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 36: English reviews
Groningen
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Every thing was OK It is a clean and nice Hotel in the industrial park. It is very save and the personal is very friendly. I can recommend that hotel for every one. It is a 3 star hotel and for that it is a very good hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G6963UYjr
BastionHotels, E-commerce at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for your beautiful words about our hotel! We enjoyed having you here and are looking forward to your next stay at Bastion Hotels! Kind regards, Team E-commerce

Reviewed 16 September 2016

Though the hotel is far from the city yet conveniently one can take bus number 73 or 12 to go to city. The staff are so cooperative and welcoming, we were given free universal adapters as a gift when we ask charger with three plugins for charging our laptop. Because it is far off the city the place is really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawit H
BastionHotels, Manager at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Dawit, Glad to read your positive review! Thank you for staying at Bastion Hotel Groningen! Hopefully we may welcome you again at one of our Bastion Hotels! Kind regards, Team E-commerce

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Staff are great here at the bastion hotel as Windfarm crew working 12hr shifts day and night we return at all hours there is always a smiling face and nothing is a problem from making a cafe latte to hiring us a bastion bike to get around on 😀 Good place to stay business or pleasure. Only joking on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BastionHotels, Manager at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for your kind words! My colleagues at the hotel always do their best for all our guests! Glad that they were able to make a difference for you! We are looking forward to your next stay! Kind regards, Team E-commerce

Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 September 2016

I stayed here for proximity to a work site and there are no other choices in the area. It does seem to be very much a business hotel; there's not much sightseeing to do nearby. However, it's strange that a business hotel would not have hairdryers or irons in every room. The vending machine I saw was almost empty so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank the1233
BastionHotels, Manager at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Dear the1233, Thank you for staying at Bastion Hotel Groningen. Your remarks will be discussed with the hotel management. Did our colleagues at the frond desk provide you with an iron and a hairdryer? Kind regards, Team E-commerce

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. On arrival we noticed our window in room could not be closed/opened (broken parts) so got an upgrade. That room was of standard quality I would say, so not sure if I would experience regular room same way. Free parking is great, easy to get to other villages or Groningen city by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrewerM84
BastionHotels, e-commerce at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for your stay at Basiton Hotel Groningen and leaving a review for us at Tripadvisor! Due to safety reasons our windows cannot be opened on certain levels. We do have an advanced temperature regulation system in our hotel. Did you know we offer free parking in almost all our hotels? We are looking forward to welcome...

Reviewed 24 August 2016

Good hotel for business travel, outside the town (some noise from the road), not the newest but clean and well maintained. Pleasant staff. No hairdryer but free tea/coffee in the room. Great breakfast on the other hand.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ola F
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Ola F, Thank you very much for your kind words. Your compliments are highly appreciated. Did you know we have hairdryers available for you at the reception desk? We hope to welcome you back again sometime! With kind regards, Team E-Commerce

Trim, Ireland
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Very clean. One problem bar staff would leave you standing waiting to serve you and they see that you want to order a drink. Wifi very good. Very easy to find hotel. Double windows so you hear no traffic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maria k
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Maria K, Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review to your share your experience at Bastion Hotel Groningen. Please accept our apologies for keeping you waiting at the bar. Your comments are appreciated, as they allow us to keep on improving our services. We hope to welcome you back again at one of the Bastion...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

This is a quiet hotel with free parking. The restaurant is a good option if don't want to drive to the city centre. We enjoyed our meal there. There was a free drinks voucher provided on arrival that made the inexpensive hotel rate even more value. The friendly staff made us feel welcome here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChaiAUS
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Chai, Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your experience at Bastion Hotel Groningen. Your compliments about the restaurant are highly appreciated. Thanks to your comments we can keep on improving our services, did you know over 2000 rooms at Bastion Hotels throughout the Netherlands are being renovated this year? We hope to welcome you back again...

Caister-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Staff very helpful and attentive. Marleen is to be highly commended; her service etiquette is second to none. The room was nice and clean (as always). I have one critique though, the food does take quite a while to arrive at your table, but good overall service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Jon D, Thank you very much for your kind words. Your compliments about Marleen are most appreciated. Bastion Hotel Groningen strives to keep on improving our offerings, thanks to your feedback about the restaurant we know where to focus our efforts. We hope to welcome you back some other time to enjoy the results! With kind regards, Team...

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

My second visit to the bastion within 2 weeks. First visit was ok, slow service in the restaurant and food was under cooked. On my current visit the service in the restaurant has got worse. Having to wait over an hour every night for the food and being denied tap water for drinking even though we were ordering other drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
BastionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Matt S, Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience at Bastion Hotel Groningen. We're very sorry to hear there has been a misunderstanding regarding your preference of tap water over of the regular water bottles we offer. We hope that dispite of the mix-up you were still able to enjoy your meals and accommodation. Please...

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Groningen hotels
Apollo Hotel Groningen
#5 of 17 in Groningen
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Binnenstad-Zuid
Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre
The Student Hotel Groningen
#4 of 17 in Groningen
74 reviews
NH Groningen
#2 of 17 in Groningen
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bastion Hotel Groningen offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers a fitness room which guests can use for free, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Location / accessibility Bastion Hotel Groningen offers, because of its ideal location, a good connection with several important traffic links to cities and regions. Within 5 minutes guests can reach the event building Martini plaza, the university and the hospital UMCG. In front of the hotel is a bus stop with busses in the direction of Martiniplaza, the centre of Groningen en the train/bus station. Rooms The hotel in Groningen has 40 comfortable deluxe and 40 comfort rooms. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, telephone, a modem, airconditioning, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The deluxe rooms are more spacious than the comfort rooms and are extra equipped with a bathroom with bath and toilet. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 06:00 to 09:00 and in weekends from 07:00 to 10:30. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 until 23:00 for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open until 23.30. Free Parking at Bastion Hotel Groningen You can park your car free of charge at the parking of hotel Groningen during your stay depending on availability. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Groningen

Address: Bornholmstraat 99, 9723 AW Groningen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen
Price Range: ₹ 4,482 - ₹ 8,385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Groningen 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bastion Hotel Groningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bastion Hotel Groningen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Perhaps also supply just some extra sheets in the room. Sleeping under the winter quilts was just too hot. A simple sheet would have been sufficient.”
 of 5 bubbles 494maryanneb, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“looks like all the rooms are very similar”
 of 5 bubbles 712petert, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
“It has a bar....”
 of 5 bubbles JeremyA626, 6 Oct 2014 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay