We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Farmhouse Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Farmhouse Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 29: English reviews
Start your review of Farmhouse Lodge
 Click to rate
Ballito, South Africa
Reviewed 7 July 2016

After going to another place I visited before (2 the end) and was disappointed to find new ownership and no network I had to find other accommodation. Farmhouse Lodge was a great find. The premises is well kept, clean, quiet, luxurious and has excellent network signal. Only concern is no security where vehicles are parked and can easily be accessed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rijan K
Ralph V, Manager at Farmhouse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rijan, thank you very much for your nice review. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Ralph

Gaborone
Reviewed 20 May 2016

The family room was lovely and big with sitting area and fridge etc. The little garden outside the back door was perfect for our two small dogs who travel with us. The hosts were most welcoming and would definitely use them again. It is a great stop over en route from the Lowveld to KZN.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DHTGaborone
Ralph V, Manager at Farmhouse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your great review. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Ralph

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 May 2016

wow I cant stop talking about the B&B is Newcastle all of them are really nice , no difference you feel like you at home , sometimes we just go to be pampered from these lodges they really friendly helpful make you feel like you part of the family really guys keep up the good work love spending time over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bonitab431
Ralph V, Manager at Farmhouse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Bonita, thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. All the best, Ralph

Emalahleni, South Africa
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Our first time at Farmhouse Lodge and here are my thoughts. On the positive side: The location is peaceful and the property is well kept. The family room was very spacious and comprised off a double bed and two single beds for our kids. There was a small lounge area with a flatscreen TV with sufficient DSTV channels. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sanjaybmwx1
Ralph V, Manager at Farmhouse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sanjay, many thanks for your review. We will keep your suggestions in mind. Unfortunately I never really saw you when I was there. The only times I saw you, you were always getting into the car and left. I suppose you were to busy with the wedding. Many thanks. All the best, Ralph

Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

We had a great time , when you need peace and quiet it's the place to stay. It's a home away from home. They have vety friendly staff ,clean and specious rooms. Ideal for bigger families and the prices are reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nomvu
Ralph V, Manager at Farmhouse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Nomvu, thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. All the best, Ralph

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 17 July 2015

The Farmhouse lodge , has been quite a few times my stay for my business trips to Newcastle. Always enjoyed my stay there, the hospitality of the owners and staff. Enjoyed the breakfast and dinners . And the peaceful location outside of town , but close to the shopping mall. When they where fully booked, they always found me accommodation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
Ralph V, Manager at Farmhouse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Michael, thank you very much for your great review. All the best, Ralph

Port Shepstone, South Africa
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Visited farmhouse in Newcastle in February. We booked both a double room and a family room. The host and Hostess were pleasant and friendly. Unfortunately they were not prepared to provide us with breakfast. It was an average weekend, nothing really to write home about.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ImraanGanie
Ralph V, Manager at Farmhouse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Imraan, pity, that you had an average weekend and I’m sorry that you didn’t like your stay at the Farmhouse Lodge. At the Farmhouse Lodge we use fresh ingredients every morning for our breakfasts. As you were booked without breakfast we hadn’t catered for an extra 6 people and your request 5 minutes before the kitchen closed was a...

Durban
Reviewed 16 December 2014

We stayed for three nights. The room was lovely, the garden is like a park, we had a swim in the beautiful pool every morning and evening. Breakfast was top class too. I would highly recommend this establishment to others. Safe and peaceful spot to relax after a busy day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Loaf906
Ralph V, Manager at Farmhouse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks a lot for your great review. We wish you and your family all the best for 2015. All the best, Ralph

Wisconsin
Reviewed 29 September 2014

We arrived at Farmhouse lodge in the afternoon, and were greeted by one of the owners. She showed us to our room and then left us. No recommendations or helpful hints. The room was well decorated and comfortable, however there were ants everywhere. The bathroom was clean and tidy and the little garden out back was quaint. The rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexa B
Ralph V, Manager at Farmhouse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for your review. We deeply regret to hear about your experience with the ants. If you would have let us know about the ant problem we could have sorted it out immediately. We also regret that we couldn't give you any recommendations or helpful hints. In future we'll make sure this will not happen again. All...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 July 2014

New Castle was a very nice midpoint on our way to the Southern part of the Drakensberg. The Guesthouse is beautiful. It is in a very convenient location in New Castle, not even 5 minutes drive to the mall where we found a nice local restaurant to have dinner and convenient and large grocery store to do our shopping for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarionDelport33
Ralph V, Manager at Farmhouse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your kind review following your recent stay at the Farmhouse Lodge. We hope you had a wonderful honeymoon. All the best, Ralph

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 km away
Garden Court Blackrock Newcastle
0.4 km away
Haggards Hilldrop
Haggards Hilldrop
#1 of 25 in Newcastle
137 reviews
7.7 km away
Avalon Guest Manor
Avalon Guest Manor
#3 of 25 in Newcastle
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
iLawu Guest Lodge
iLawu Guest Lodge
#4 of 25 in Newcastle
11 reviews
8.4 km away
Aberdeen House
Aberdeen House
#2 of 25 in Newcastle
19 reviews
7.1 km away
Blessings Guesthouse
Blessings Guesthouse
#21 of 25 in Newcastle
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Farmhouse Lodge is situated 3 minutes from the centre of the town of Newcastle in magnificent park like surroundings. We are an ideal stopover between Kruger Park and the KwaZulu-Natal Coast. A total of 35 guests can be accommodated in a combination of air-conditioned family, twin and double rooms. We serve a delicious breakfast which will keep you going for the day. We are in close proximity of the Newcastle mall, which is situated about 500 m from us, golf courses, restaurants, pubs, cinemas and the Blackrock Casino, which is 300 m away. The Farmhouse Lodge meets the needs of the discerning tourist or business person. Come and enjoy friendly hospitality in peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Farmhouse Lodge

Address: No 1 Hilldrop | P. O. Box 20191, Newcastle 2940, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Newcastle
Price Range: ₹ 2,814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmhouse Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Farmhouse Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The luxury suites are recommended”
 of 5 bubbles rijank2013, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“it doenst matter its relaxing all of them”
 of 5 bubbles bonitab431, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Room No. 1 was comfortable and spacious for two adults and two teens.”
 of 5 bubbles sanjaybmwx1, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms where good.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelwM4433CE, 16 Jul 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms - SUPER nice and little more private than the others I imagine.”
 of 5 bubbles MarionDelport33, 1 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5