We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sorell Hotel Rutli

Show Prices
#37 of 134 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

475 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sorell Hotel Rutli
See the most recent reviews
Showing 314: English reviews
Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and I, with our 2 children (aged 4 and 7) booked a Superior room which included a queen bed and a sofa bed. The sofa bed was made when we arrived and it comfortably sleeps both my kids. The room was also spacious enough for the 4 of us. Location was good. Walking distance to many museums and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shan T
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review

Dear Family Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Rütli and for sharing with us your positiv and detailed reviews. We are delighted to hear that you felt comfortable and Zurich and its offer were to your liking. We will gladly forward your positiv comments to our staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sorell Hotel Rutli for two nights. We loved the location...in the old town, many restaurants close, train walking distance. The room was very clean, bathroom modern and clean. If non-smoking is important to you, please remember to request non-smoking. The website we used to book did not have a way to request non-smoking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarybethGrant
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review

Dear guest We thank you very much for having chosen Hotel Rütli for your recent visit in Zurich. We highly appreciate you sharing your most value comments with us. We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in Zurich and the hotel, it`s rooms and the old town were to your liking. It was a pleasure...

Amsterdam-Paris
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights whilst visiting the city. It's conveniently situated, but I was surprised at night to find myself on the edge of the Red Light District with plenty of young ladies walking the streets. Not exactly where you wish to be when travelling as a single woman... The hotel was clean, the a espresso...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patriciaAFM
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for having chosen Hotel Rütli for your visit in Zürich. We regret that we were not able to fully meet your expectations during your stay. It is correct, that some night clubs are at the end of the street but as we are at the beginning of the Zähringerstrasse we are not in a...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

The Sorell Rutli is perfectly located for those travelling by train and first timers who want to be a stone's throw from the old town attractions. The rooms are clean, service is efficient (if not exactly warm) and everything works. Breakfast is simple but sufficient. There is little excess but given the prices in Zurich, this is best for a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Happy2bHome_11
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Rütli and for sharing with us your valuable feedback. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the cleanliness and location of the hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect for Zurich. It's 5 min away (literally!) from the actual train (i.e., S4 line). Despite being next to the train station, it is very quiet (I stayed a whole week), because it is on the other side of the river. Plenty of restaurants nearby, although be prepared to pay a high price for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George P
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review

Dear guest We highly appreciate you sharing your most value comments with us. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time and that our rooms and breakfast in particular were to your liking. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that you will have the chance to visit us on a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Location is good for the rail station and for night life Yet still in a quiet location. All staff very helpful. Room had plenty of room and a novel solution to those that find bathrooms claustrophobic. Good breakfast (but no egg and bacon.) a little pricy but then that's Switzland. River is round the corner The lake a 20minutes away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RML935
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review

Dear guest We would like to thank you for the good comments that we were able to receive. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the hotel and its location and our staff. We are doing our utmost to continually improve our service. Your feedback helps us to check standard and to adapt these if need be....

Orange County, CA
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed on Oct 12th for one night. The front desk was courteous and helpful. The Swiss are not overly friendly people (at first), however, all of the staff were helpful and professional. The room was nice with good wifi, comfortable bed and a great bathroom. The morning breakfast was plentiful with excellent coffee. Centrally located. A few minutes walk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kcollett67
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Rütli and for sharing with us your positive and detailed review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We will gladly forward your positive comments about our friendly staff and the coffee quality. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights and the hotel was great. The price each night was very reasonable. Rooms were clean, modern, and provided us with everything we needed. The breakfast was pretty good and the hotel lobby has all the amenities you could want. It's located just outside of the city center so it’s a very walkable distance from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_and_Lisa_12
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review

Dear guest We highly appreciate you sharing your most value comments with us. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the hotel and especially with the breakfast buffet. We are pleased that Hotel Rütli and Zurich stays in good memories. All the best for your future and we look forward to welcoming you again as our guest....

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were quite disppointed by the lack of friendliness at this hotel. While it was convenient, clean and a reasonably comfortable place to stay, and breakfast was very nice, I certainly would never go back there. The waitress at breakfast was the only friendly person. The reception staff were abrupt, avoided eye contact and didn't smile or make you feel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cassandra A
Henrik John H, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review

Dear guest Many thanks for your feedback. We will do our utmost to improve our service in your interest. We are glad that you a satisfied with our nice friendly woman at the breakfast. Because of the airconditioning we will take the necessary measures. It would be nice if we could prove ourselves during your next visit and to show...

Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Perfect coffee break with a lot of cheeses and delicius bread. The rooms are clean and organized. All the services are ok. The location is nice too because is in the middle of downtown with many stores to visit. Sure I will come back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janarbcamargo
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review

Dear guest Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback. We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and loved the cheese. We hope to see you again. Best regards The Rütli Team

627 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (80)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (418)
Viewed
Family Room (35)
Viewed
King Room with Jacuzzi (40)
Viewed
Premium King Room (39)
Viewed
Premium King Room with Accessible Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Premium Single Room (28)
Viewed
Premium Twin Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (35)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Street View (44)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (36)
Viewed
Superior Single Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#43 of 134 in Zurich
329 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre
Hotel du Theatre
#63 of 134 in Zurich
470 reviews
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Zuercherhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#16 of 134 in Zurich
638 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#25 of 134 in Zurich
786 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#41 of 134 in Zurich
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Zurich, at the entrance to the charming Niederdorf (lower town). Business and leisure guests will be pampered and surprised by our attentive host team. Especially relaxing of course is a stay in one of our Premium rooms. The hotel is surrounded by boutiques, restaurants, bars, museums, cinemas and theatres. Even the lake promenade and Zurich main station are within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Rutli

Address: Zaehringerstrasse 43, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Price Range: ₹ 12,046 - ₹ 21,117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Rutli 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sorell Hotel Rutli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorell Hotel zürich
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Zurich
#40 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#40 Business Hotel in Zurich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sorell Hotel Rutli staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Sorell Hotel Rutli staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all quite and modern rooms”
 of 5 bubbles aviva764, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Pick a 4 star closer to train station, if you are mainly traveling via train as we were.”
 of 5 bubbles shakergrandma, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Best beds and pillows EVER! (And I own a TEMPUR mattress at home!)”
 of 5 bubbles erikas744, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Always choose the cheapest offer because it will be expensive anyway. Void rooms near elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles Jassim911, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“front rooms overlook a street which is noisy at night - lots of bars.”
 of 5 bubbles Londonsingle, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay