We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

City-Hotel Ochsen Zug

Show Prices
#5 of 8 Hotels in Zug
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
City-Hotel Ochsen Zug
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 147: English reviews
Start your review of City-Hotel Ochsen Zug
 Click to rate
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Very cosy and clean Traditional Swiss Inn in the heart of Zug. Friendly and courteous service. Good for a short stay in Zug. There is a bar at the lobby area and a decent restaurant worth dining in for the evening. It is about 10-15 mins walk away from the Zug train station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew Y
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Our stay here was awesome from the clean and relaxing room overlooking the square to a personal moment with the hotel owner Mathias. During our breakfast, Mathias sat with us inquiring about our visit and our activities. We discussed many things from the food, to the staff, the Switzerland experience, and my enjoyment of the local adult beverage. Mathias brought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jr2bail
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

a max two star hotel which claims 4 stars . Internet does not work , so very "recommended" for business people , on complains a laconic reply , that the it-man not available at this hour etc etc ...rooms are build cheap , not comfortable , ...the prices are outrageous for what is being offered .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arielaviner
Hegglin, Manager at City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, responded to this review

Dear Mr Aviner I am very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. Allow me to comment on some of the mentioned points: When you were staying with us and complained about the not working internet my staff checked it immeadiately and it was working well in the whole hotel. In addition, we didn't receive any...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was pretty happy there until the last day (I stayed for 4 nights) The place is beautiful, old building, but quite modern inside Goof bathroom, roomy and with good water pressure The room was big enough - only issue was relative lack of privacy as many buildings had view onto the room Breakfast (included) was quite OK, with lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cyril_lm2013
Hegglin, Manager at City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, responded to this review

Dear Cyril Thank you very much for your review and your time! We are happy that you, in overall, enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I would sincerely like to apologize for the issue with your car on your last day. I definitely didn't want to be rude towards you. I am very sorry that I gave this impression! Unfortunately,...

Reviewed 23 March 2017

Rooms have old school style e.g. door handle are stones furthermore these are modern also, I recommend it. My room was clean and I was close to the conference room and it was a bit noisy unfortunately.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Márk S
Hegglin, Manager at City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, responded to this review

Dear Márk Thank you very much for your kind review. I am happy that you had a good stay in our hotel but I am really sorry that you were disturbed by the noise from our conference room. We will try to give you a room far away from any noise next time. We are looking forward to welcoming you...

Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewed 21 March 2017

It's tough to argue with the location of this hotel, right downtown, in the city center, with a short walk to local restaurants, right? This is Zug... everything is a short walk though, I mean it... A 10 minute walk will literally be you walking across the city... I wanted to give this hotel a higher ranking, but in good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brent63
Hegglin, Manager at City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, responded to this review

Dear guest I am extremely sorry to read about the bad experience you had in our hotel. I honestly have to admit that, in addition to my regret, I am very astonished to hear that you spent 5 nights coughing non-stop in the room and 5 mornings waisting your time with trying to close your room door but never complained...

Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed 21 February 2017

This hotel was located in the center of Zug. Everything is nearby on walking distance. I got a room on the 2nd floor and has 2 elevators one beside the restaurant and the other for rooms reception employees are very helpful . The room was rather small, but it contained everything I needed for my long stay. Breakfast was good,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hesham_abdelfattah
Hegglin, Manager at City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, responded to this review

Dear guest I thank you very much for your review and your time. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your long business stay in our hotel and thank you very much for your recommendation. Hopefully, I and my team have the pleasure of welcoming you again sometimes in the near future. With best wishes and kind regards from...

Reviewed 14 February 2017

This hotel was located in the center of Zug. Everything is nearby on walking distance. I got a room on the 5th floor and the elevator only goes to the 4th floor. For me this wasn't an issue however i can imagine that other people might have a problem with it. The room was rather small, but it contained everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
Hegglin, Manager at City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, responded to this review

Dear Rob Thank you very much for your review and your time. I and my team are happy that you had a comfortable stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. Kind regards and best wishes from Zug Matthias Hegglin, Managing owner

Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We highly recommend this hotel perfectly located in Zug. Request room 304 which is spacious and features a spectacular view of the clock tower. Breakfast daily was delicious and included a varied assortment of treats. The staff was friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
Hegglin, Manager at City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, responded to this review

Dear Andrew Thank you very much for your appreciated review and your time. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again. With best wishes and kind regards from Zug Matthias Hegglin, Managing owner

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We decided not to stay at this hotel after making an inspection with a staff member prior to Xmas The problems were : _ Small rooms with no view _ Very basic furnishings - timber bed like from Ikea on timber floor _ No atmosphere The hotel is badly in need of a renovation Their high prices they are not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richard g
Hegglin, Manager at City-Hotel Ochsen Zug, responded to this review

Dear guest As you wrote-you NEVER actually stayed in our hotel so we are really wondering how you can write a review on our house. Just to comment some of your points: - We have rooms that have lake view or views to the beautiful old town of Zug - Our furnishing is of very high quality with natural materials...

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zug
0.2 km away
Hotel Lowen am See Zug
1.4 km away
Hotel Zugertor
Hotel Zugertor
#1 of 8 in Zug
146 reviews
0.8 km away
Parkhotel Zug
Parkhotel Zug
#3 of 8 in Zug
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
City Garden Hotel
1.0 km away
Hotel Restaurant Guggital
3.3 km away
ibis Baar Zug
ibis Baar Zug
#1 of 1 in Baar
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1543, this hotel in the centre of Zug accommodated famous guests like Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, yet it offers modern amenities like free internet and air-conditioning. The City-Hotel Ochsen is situated in the middle of the beautiful historic centre, 200 m from the lake of Zug and a 10 minutes walk from the train station. All rooms are air-conditioned and have an en-suite bathroom, a cable TV and a water kettle. Fine Swiss and international cuisine is served in the Hotel Ochsen's restaurant "au premier" and in our bar you can enjoy aromatic coffee or a cool glass of beer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about City-Hotel Ochsen Zug

Address: Kolinplatz 11, Zug 6300, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zug > Zug
Price Range: ₹ 15,448 - ₹ 22,041 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City-Hotel Ochsen Zug 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HRS so you can book your City-Hotel Ochsen Zug reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from City-Hotel Ochsen Zug staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from City-Hotel Ochsen Zug staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“its better to find another hotel whether inside or outside zug .”
arielaviner, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Smoky hotel in a historic area that will make you feel like you've been a smoker for years”
Brent63, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on 3rd floor and have view on KolinPlatz watch”
hesham_abdelfattah, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“103 - sitting corner with great view”
66jonnyb, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The view of the mountains from the double bed is really great!”
618adityam, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5