We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sion Youth Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sion Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 12: English reviews
Cernusco, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewed 8 October 2016

As usual in Switzerland, the youth hostel is the only affordable place, while still very expensive (60 CHF for a single room with the shared bathroom). The rooms are clean, even if basic. The common area is super-nice and with a nice garden. The breakfast was better than the average swiss hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luca P
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Very clean and room was comfortable for family of 5 though a little small. Breakfast was good though not fancy. The staff all spoke English and were very helpful. They have bikes to rent which you can return in the next town. Overall, i would recommend for family stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nahariyya
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2015

I arrived at the Youth Hostel at 2pm and had to get ready for a wedding. Unfortunately the reception was closed and there wasn't any phone number I could call for help. The reception hours are 5pm-10pm, which means I couldn't check in at all, had to forego my reservation and had to find an alternative at the very last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
Laurent P, Gérant at Sion Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Sophie, I regret that you couldn't stay in our hostel. The reception opening hours are mentionned on the booking platforms as well as on the confirmation. There is always a possibility for either an early or late check-in to be arranged. Next time do please contact us prior to arrival, if you have any special requests. Our booking conditions,...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Everything you expect from a Swiss YHA: friendly staff (who speak good English), super-clean, free breakfast, limited reception hours, 2CHF coin deposit lockers. For a Swiss YHA the place is fairly cushy; sofas with a tv, (basic) guest kitchen area, and a patio that gets candles at night (though with a view of an apartment block). The location is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alistair_B_UK
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of days prior to flying from Geneva. Scrupulously clean, very friendly staff and well positioned in the town. Will definitely stay again if I was in the area and would definitely recommend. We used it as a base for a day of sport climbing in nearby Bramois, about a ten minute drive.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aimee H
Reviewed 27 July 2015

I did the booking on the wrong date, even if I noticed inmediately and canceled the reservation within two hours, the cancelation fee of 75 Swiss Francs was charged. A complaint and phone call did not help. This Charge seems to me far to high also because the total value of my booking was 100 Swiss Francs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philipp B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2015

It is very easy to find from the station and close to the centre. The outside does look quite shabby, but it was clean and provided a place to sleep. There were people from different ages, and all very friendly. The breakfast was typical continental and okayish.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dee0618
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights due to working at a nearby tattoo convention. The hostel is very conveniently located next to Sion train station. The hostel is very spartanic, as expected. I had a two bedroom for myself, with shared bathroom and toilets. The bed was quite comfortable but the pillows were too bulky, so bring your own if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Khamsi
Denmark
Reviewed 25 November 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week together with another ~90 people from 24 different countries while we had an international event. Food was good as well, showers quite modern, beds comfortable . If I'll ever come back to Sion (and I hope I will) I definitely gonna stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DominusCN
Laurent P, Gérant at Sion Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, It was a pleasure to welcome you and your fellow students for this convention. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future. best greetings from Sion

Thun, Switzerland
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We spent one night at the Youthhostel in Sion during a field trip with the University. The place was all clean, the beds were comfortable, the breakfast (included) was fresh and there was freshly ground coffee for free! Very nice! But what I really want to point out was the friendly and helpful staff! You're great, thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank petfalsche

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sion hotels
1.9 km away
ibis Sion Est
ibis Sion Est
#1 of 9 in Sion
313 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Du Rhone
Hotel Du Rhone
#3 of 9 in Sion
90 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel du Castel
Hotel du Castel
#2 of 9 in Sion
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#6 of 9 in Sion
68 reviews
1.1 km away
Chambres D'Hotes Les Cerisiers
1.4 km away
Le Merle Chatelain
Le Merle Chatelain
#6 of 6 in Sion
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sleep at the foot of the mighty Viertausend, down in the valley of the 13 stars, where wine and Mediterranean fruit is grown and the jolly Valais folk meet in the Carnotzet to enjoy a glass of wine. Sitten in German or Sion in French, the capital of the Valais, happily sees itself as the centre of the world. Or at least the Alpine world. And the modern, centrally-located youth hostel is an ideal sports and leisure post from which to discover the whole of the Valais. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sion Youth Hostel

Address: rue de l' Industrie 2 | 1950 Sion, Sion 1950, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Sion
Price Range: ₹ 4,849 - ₹ 10,775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sion Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sion Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sion Youth Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Sion Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay