We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sion Youth Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sion Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 13: English reviews
Start your review of Sion Youth Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 8 January 2017

On arrival after a long train trip (which fortunately the railway line is across the road) we found that we were one room short so a colleague had to go elsewhere for our time there. 31 students, 4 staff and no performances for a few days. Everyone was rapt to have some time to themselves to sleep in, explore, spend...

1Thank UrbanDrifter
Laurent P, Gérant at Sion Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Glad you enjoyed your stay in our Youth Hostel and time in Sion. Indeed the airplanes (mostly army or private jets) fly over the building in the landing phase, but only during the day and in limited number. We profided meals in the evening and as you mentionned, we regularly have fish on the menu, that perticular recipe usually...

Cernusco, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewed 8 October 2016

As usual in Switzerland, the youth hostel is the only affordable place, while still very expensive (60 CHF for a single room with the shared bathroom). The rooms are clean, even if basic. The common area is super-nice and with a nice garden. The breakfast was better than the average swiss hostel.

Thank Luca P
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Very clean and room was comfortable for family of 5 though a little small. Breakfast was good though not fancy. The staff all spoke English and were very helpful. They have bikes to rent which you can return in the next town. Overall, i would recommend for family stay

Thank nahariyya
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2015

I arrived at the Youth Hostel at 2pm and had to get ready for a wedding. Unfortunately the reception was closed and there wasn't any phone number I could call for help. The reception hours are 5pm-10pm, which means I couldn't check in at all, had to forego my reservation and had to find an alternative at the very last...

Thank Sophie B
Laurent P, Gérant at Sion Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Sophie, I regret that you couldn't stay in our hostel. The reception opening hours are mentionned on the booking platforms as well as on the confirmation. There is always a possibility for either an early or late check-in to be arranged. Next time do please contact us prior to arrival, if you have any special requests. Our booking conditions,...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Everything you expect from a Swiss YHA: friendly staff (who speak good English), super-clean, free breakfast, limited reception hours, 2CHF coin deposit lockers. For a Swiss YHA the place is fairly cushy; sofas with a tv, (basic) guest kitchen area, and a patio that gets candles at night (though with a view of an apartment block). The location is very...

1Thank Alistair_B_UK
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of days prior to flying from Geneva. Scrupulously clean, very friendly staff and well positioned in the town. Will definitely stay again if I was in the area and would definitely recommend. We used it as a base for a day of sport climbing in nearby Bramois, about a ten minute drive.

1Thank Aimee H
Reviewed 27 July 2015

I did the booking on the wrong date, even if I noticed inmediately and canceled the reservation within two hours, the cancelation fee of 75 Swiss Francs was charged. A complaint and phone call did not help. This Charge seems to me far to high also because the total value of my booking was 100 Swiss Francs.

Thank Philipp B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2015

It is very easy to find from the station and close to the centre. The outside does look quite shabby, but it was clean and provided a place to sleep. There were people from different ages, and all very friendly. The breakfast was typical continental and okayish.

1Thank Dee0618
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights due to working at a nearby tattoo convention. The hostel is very conveniently located next to Sion train station. The hostel is very spartanic, as expected. I had a two bedroom for myself, with shared bathroom and toilets. The bed was quite comfortable but the pillows were too bulky, so bring your own if you...

Thank Khamsi
Reviewed 25 November 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week together with another ~90 people from 24 different countries while we had an international event. Food was good as well, showers quite modern, beds comfortable . If I'll ever come back to Sion (and I hope I will) I definitely gonna stay there again

3Thank DominusCN
Laurent P, Gérant at Sion Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, It was a pleasure to welcome you and your fellow students for this convention. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future. best greetings from Sion

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (12)
Bathroom (5)
Dining (2)
Room/Suite (2)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (6)
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sion hotels
1.9 km away
ibis Sion Est
ibis Sion Est
#1 of 9 in Sion
328 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#6 of 9 in Sion
74 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Du Rhone
Hotel Du Rhone
#2 of 9 in Sion
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel du Castel
Hotel du Castel
#3 of 9 in Sion
63 reviews
2.1 km away
B&B Cafe De La Poste
1.1 km away
Chambres D'Hotes Les Cerisiers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sleep at the foot of the mighty Viertausend, down in the valley of the 13 stars, where wine and Mediterranean fruit is grown and the jolly Valais folk meet in the Carnotzet to enjoy a glass of wine. Sitten in German or Sion in French, the capital of the Valais, happily sees itself as the centre of the world. Or at least the Alpine world. And the modern, centrally-located youth hostel is an ideal sports and leisure post from which to discover the whole of the Valais. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sion Youth Hostel

Address: rue de l' Industrie 2 | 1950 Sion, Sion 1950, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Sion
Price Range: ₹ 2,652 - ₹ 10,740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sion Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sion Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sion Youth Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Sion Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“On the street side is actually quieter”
  • Toilet
  • Storage in room
  • Twin room
  • Shower stalls
  • Boys bathroom
  • Sinks in bathroom
 of 5 bubbles UrbanDrifter, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
1 of 1