We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Edelweiss

Hotels.comUS$ 166*
View Deal
#3 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 166*
Great Deal
US$ 168*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Edelweiss
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Edelweiss
See the most recent reviews
Showing 179: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 28 February 2017

THE VIEWS! I was very, very zealous in getting a room with a killer view. I may not have had to try as hard as I did, but it was so worth it. We left the curtains open all day and all night so we didn't miss one glimpse of the mountain faces. You could even see them from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L P
Sandra K, Manager at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your friendly comment. We are happy that you liked our Hotel and that you will recommend it. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Sandra Kuster-von Allmen

Reviewed 22 February 2017

I've been lucky enough to visit the Edelweiss many times over 20 years and the hotel keeps getting better while the fabulous view and convenient location in the village stay the same! The owners are great hosts and the recently renovated rooms are clean and bright and comfortable. Last week the hotel was full but we never heard another guest....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
Sandra K, Manager at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review

Dear Nancy Thank you so much for your very friendly and detailed comment. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Mürren and we hope to see you again. We wish you all the best! Kind regards, Sandra and Daniel

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

A lovely warm clean room, comfortable beds, lots of piping hot water for baths and showers and an unbeatable view - a perfect retreat after a days skiing. The staff are all very friendly and the food good and plentiful. We would definitely stay again. Susan

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan_goodbody
Sandra K, Inhaber at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review

Dear Susan Thank you so much for your very friendly and detailed comment. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Mürren and we hope to see you again in the Edelweiss. Best regards, Sandra and Daniel Kuster-von Allmen

Lakeland, Florida
Reviewed 25 December 2016

After Booking dot com inadvertently cancelled our reservation at the Alpina next door, Alpina manager Roger was able to arrange us a family room at Edelweiss - the hotel is very nice and the staff is super friendly - they have a great sitting room/ lounge to enjoy views of the mountains, you can get a beer from the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank exploringwfamily
Sandra K, Inhaber at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very friendly and detailed comment. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Mürren and we hope to see you again. We wish you a happy New Year! Kind regards, Sandra Kuster-von Allmen

Irvine, California
Reviewed 14 November 2016

My favorite part about my stay at this hotel was the staff - everyone was so nice and friendly! The food at the restaurant was excellent. Our room was clean and a nice size (not that we spent a lot of time in our room). Overall a great stay! I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teamcullen
Sandra K, Inhaber at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your complaisant comment. We are always happy when guests enjoy their stay with us. It would be great to see you again. Kind regards, Sandra Kuster-von Allmen

Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

What a find! My wife and I booked one night on Tripadvisor while waiting in line at Steckelburg cable car station. Last night the hotel was open before they closed for November. Reception was warm, freindly and accommodating of our English only communication. Upper floor room with view facing mountains with a balcony (which may have been the only place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
Sandra K, Inhaber at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you so much for your detailed and friendly comment. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and in the region. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Sandra Kuster-von Allmen

Colne Engaine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

A lovely hotel, the staff were very friendly and accommodating, the room spacious and warm. We were fortunate to get a balcony so had a lovely view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. The bathroom was large and clean with plenty of hot water but unfortunately had some stain from a previous black mould (only a little and no fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne R
Sandra K, Inhaber at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review

Dear Suzanne, Thank you so much for your very detailed, honest and positive comment. It is a good advertisement for our hotel and for our restaurant. I am very sorry about the stain and I will make sure, that this will not happen anymore. We are looking forward to welcoming you another time. Best wishes and kind regards, Sandra

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Be advised that you CANNOT drive to Murren to get to this hotel. You have to take the cable car from Lauterbrunnen. The last cable car departs at 2035. The rooms are cozy and the warm bath was good. The only thing is the room is rather dry (no humidity) and Swiss pillows are terribly soft so if you need...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Claire C
Sandra K, Inhaber at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review

Dear Claire, Thank you for your comment. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Sandra

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Our stay there was just okay. Owners weren't there; didn't feel the love Rick Steves and other reviewers shared. Dinner and breakfast were underwhelming, as well. Worst was the bed - hard as a rock. The only reason to stay there is the view. If you can't get a room facing the canyon, keep looking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo Ann B
Sandra K, Inhaber at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Blackford, Thank you for your sincere Feedback. I think that you did not recognize the owners because Daniel made breakfast on Tuesday and I was there on Monday and Wednesday. Sorry that you could not feel and enjoy our hospitality. Kind regards, Sandra Kuster-von Allmen

Reviewed 17 October 2016

Stayed here for two nights in the superior room with a view over the valley with the mountains in the background. Doesn't get better than this as far as views go. Breakfast was average but satisfactory. Liked that the hotel had a laundry which allowed us to wash all our clothes mid journey. Will stay here again if we find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
Sandra K, Inhaber at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy, Thank you for your kind comment. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Best regards, Sandra

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
565 reviews
0.3 km away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
623 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 11 in Murren
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#5 of 11 in Murren
233 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#8 of 11 in Murren
212 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
#9 of 11 in Murren
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome The congenial Hotel Edelweiss is conveniently located in the heart of the Bernese Oberland in Murren. It offers breathtaking views of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau mountain scenery. Guests of our 3-star superior Hotel also appreciate the perfect location close to ski slopes and hiking trails. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Address: Murren 3825, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Price Range: ₹ 9,524 - ₹ 18,115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edelweiss 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Murren
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#9 Family Hotel in Murren
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Edelweiss staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Houston, Texas
long island
2 months ago
Tampa, Florida

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Edelweiss staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a valley view room with a balcony.”
Susan567, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Pay for a balcony. Valley side rooms are great.”
Grandgator, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“108, 208 and 308 are fantastic”
Sorkir, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go on the hotel's websites and get familiar with which rooms have windows facing out over the 'canyon'”
58lp, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with Eiger views are all spectacular. And, the new superior rooms are a special treat with extra space and upgraded bathrooms”
  • View of Stechelberg below and beautiful snow covered peaks from balcony
  • view of Eiger and para-glider from balcony
548nancyn, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 166* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 168
Expedia.com
PricelineUS$ 168
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates