We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chalet Hotel Steinbock

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chalet Hotel Steinbock
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chalet Hotel Steinbock
See the most recent reviews
Showing 30: English reviews
Wales
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Disappointing experience considering all the good reviews about the staff in this hotel. Travelled with my Dad who is approaching 90. Essential he has disabled facilities available when travelling. E-mailed hotel regarding such a room well in advance of staying and phoned twice before giving credit card details. I was assured in writing and verbally a disabled room was available...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Byford1
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review

Dear Sir. We fully understand your disappointment. The Steinbock, our very small chalet hotel has got only one room, that is suitable for people in a wheelchair. Unfortunately, where people work, mistakes are made and our secretary that very day did not read the correspondence well enough, something that should not happen, but here we are, it did. We are...

norway
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This is a totaly ok place to spend the night-great service and clean rooms! But, that's it. No luxury ameneties... But, for the price this is a very good chiose in Grindelwald, which is a very expencive village in the alps.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank norwaytravler
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review

Dear Sir we are happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at the Steinbock. We only think, that you could have given us at least one point more. Grindelwald and Switzerland are only expensive, because some speculators sitting on some computers on the stock markets, have made the Swiss Franc so expensive and your currency so weak. 10 years...

miami, fl
Reviewed 8 May 2011

LIke a previous poster, I have not stayed at the hotel but wanted to comment about the friendly service and cleanliness of the hotel anyway. My wife and I have stayed in this area for 3 straight summers in June but will not be making it back this year (have a new 6 month old who might not like the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank newspike
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review

Dear Steinbock guest. Many thanks for your great review. We highly appreciate, that you keep visiting Grindelwald and that you enjoy the food at the Steinbock and the company of Salvatore. We also have family suites, one with an extra bedroom for children, may be that would be something you like to book in summer 2012. Wishing you all the...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I have just returned from a ski week at the Hotel Steinbock with my spouse, friends and a ski club. The Hotel was modern, very clean and well maintained, comfortable and close to the First gondola. I can not say enough about the help and kindness extended to me after a ski injury that included a broken arm and other...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cooklm
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review

Dear Steinbock guests. Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are very happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for telling the world. We are only a very small family run business and have no marketing budget. Great help like yours however will certainly bring more clients to our Swiss chalet...

Rotonda West, Florida
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Perfect location. Bus stops right outside the door. First cable is a very short walk. It's more a restaurant with a hotel above but the atmosphere is wonderful. Salvi and Jackie are true hosts and very helpful. Can't say enough about this place. No other hotel would let us stay less than 7 days and so we were "stuck" with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Travelbound44
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review

Dear guest of the Steinbock hotel. Thank you so much for writing that wonderful review, we highly appreciate it. The Steinbock is the oldest "inn" in Grindelwald, however it was rebuilt in 1991. The beautiful rustic chalet hotel is very popular, summer and winter, as you mentioned. That it is managed by a family adds to the special atmosphere already...

Shanghai
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We did not stay at the Steinbock, but we went there for dinner. The owner, Salvatore, was recommending us excellent Italian wines and the food we got, upon his recommendation, was outstanding. Never ever I had anything like that in a Pizzeria. Make sure, if you are looking for something special, that you ask for Salvi. You see him around,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beamypc
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review

Dear guests from China. Thank you so much for visiting our restaurant. Salvi remembers your visit very well. He has got a memory like an elephant. Thank you for recommending our restaurant and hotel to the world. Thanks to wonderful people like you, our small family business is successful, thanks to wonderful people like you, we have a good chance...

Buffalo, Wyoming
Reviewed 7 October 2010

This hotel was within reasonable distance of the train station. The room was big and the views from the balcony were incredible. The Eiger could easily be seen from the balcony of our room. The hotel featured an Italian restaurant which served very good food. Best lasagna that my wife and I have ever had. The staff was friendly, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Quintin007
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review

Dear Steinbock guests. Many thanks for taking your time to write a nice review about our Chalet Hotel Steinbock. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and yes, from your balcony you had a great view. Important to say for people reading your review and my response, that not many rooms have such a balcony and that guests should especially...

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Just back from here after a recent stay of a few nights. Looks very nice from the outside, very traditional looking and right next door to a laundry facility. The rooms are a good size, but the sheets are not comfortable (nylon and bubbly), the pillow is a large soft big square thing that you have to fold over to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lapchien
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review

Dear Sir thank you for staying at the Steinbock .For the money you paid, you will not find a hotel with sauna and hot tub, such a hotel will cost you double. We are however sorry, that you did not enjoy your stay. You know that tiny chalet hotel is just a 3 star hotel, offering rooms, also family rooms...

Pasadena, California
Reviewed 19 August 2009

The Ponzio family operate the Steinbock and they are the most wonderful people. You get warm Southern Italian hospitality in the heart of the Swiss Alps! The rooms are spacious and newly renovated with gorgeous bathrooms, plush bedding and flat screen tv. The location is the best in town, right below the First Lift Station, which whisks you up to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MisterBespoke
Ypcbeam, Co-owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review

Dear Steinbock guest Thank you very much for the wonderful review and thank you for having chosen the Steinbock for your stay in Grindelwald. We highly appreciate. The Steinbock is the oldest inn(from 1738) in Grindelwald and was rebuilt in 1991. The hotel has a wonderful history, which will be shown on our new website, once ready. The Ponzio family...

Manchester
Reviewed 22 July 2009

I was looking at booking a stay at the Hotel Steinbock, and pulled the info off Travel republic, the building is very much a swiss chalet in appearance so I was confused to see the building illustrated on here, it is only when I clicked on Hotel Amenities i discovered that the building shown here as Hotel Steinbock is actually...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank amanda_perfect
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. You were correct, the hotel shown BEFORE once was the Central Wolter. In the mean time it has been corrected by Tripadvisor and the hotel shown NOW, is the Chalet Hotel Steinbock. Thank you also for recommending our hotel and restaurant, we hope you will come back soon. with best regards Salvatore Ponzio and Urs Hauser...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 42 in Grindelwald
738 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 42 in Grindelwald
487 reviews
0.7 km away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 42 in Grindelwald
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 42 in Grindelwald
220 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 42 in Grindelwald
266 reviews
0.1 km away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 42 in Grindelwald
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Chalet Hotel Steinbock is a beautiful wooden chalet, right in the centre of Grindelwald, just next to the first gondola (skiing area in winter, hiking paradise in the summer). The Steinbock was mentioned in books in 1700, but was completely rebuilt in 1991. It is famous for its restaurant - the most popular restaurant in town - with Italian and Swiss cuisine. The restaurant is famous for the huge steaks, the great pizzas, the excellent liver, to just name a few dishes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Steinbock

Address: Dorfstrasse 189, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Price Range: ₹ 11,639 - ₹ 15,920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Hotel Steinbock 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Chalet Hotel Steinbock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chalet Hotel Steinbock staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you ask for a room with a view facing the Eiger mountain. You will not want to leave this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles jeffreyv154, 11 Aug 2012 | Read review
“Ask for a front facing room, view of the Eiger.”
 of 5 bubbles Brianandnikki, 11 Jul 2012 | Read review
2 of 2