We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Astoria

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Astoria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

450 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 306: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Astoria
 Click to rate
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good option for a short business trip to Lucerne Rooms are essential but very clean in good shape In the city center and very close to plenty of restaurants, train station, etc Good value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank testaran
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear testaran Thank you for your wonderful feedback here on TripAdvisor and for your stay at Hotel Astoria. We all hope that you arrived save back at home, with good memories of your trip to Lucerne and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again! Best regards, Sheila Quality Management

Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've booked an Eat (Thai Garden) & Sleep (Superior room) package over the hotel website directly and stay there with my wife from Saturday to Sunday. Unfortunately my wife got the flu the days before but we were able to change the reservation to another weekend, quick and hustle free via Email. The staff at the front desk is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andreas S
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear Andreas S We thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and are happy to read that you enjoyed a wonderful time at our house. It is our ambition to provide a unique experience to our guests and we are satisfied that we achieved this goal during your stay. All the best to you! We are looking forward to welcoming...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Next to SBB train station. Room is not large but it is more than enough for a couple. Everything works well in room. Breakfast area is spacious and the spread of food is good. Highly recommended place to stay in Luzern, Switzerland.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sopriscaaa
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear sopriscaaa Thank you for your wonderful feedback here on TripAdvisor and for your stay at Hotel Astoria. We are happy to read that you enjoyed a wonderful time at our house. All the best to you! We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Hotel Astoria Luzern! Best regards, Sheila Quality Management

Indonesia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel Room is a bit small, but the room is comfort and have a nice coffee machine.. I stay only for a night with A Group Tour, Did not interact too much with the frontliner staff, but I had interact with the waiter at the breakfast.. Probably she is too stress to handle many people from a group tour (...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank uthinx
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear uthinx We would like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Astoria Lucerne and your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed the central location of our hotel. Nevertheless we regret that breakfast service did not meet your expectation. Of course, this insufficient service does not correspond with our service philosophy. In order to prevent this...

Mill Valley, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed the calm atmosphere, lovely modern decor and the Mountains surrounding the city of Lucerne. The staff was very friendly and location very convenient to shops and restaurants. The view from the 7th floor Penthouse restaurant is very impressive, you can enjoy 360 degree views of the city and mountains while sipping a beverage. It would be great to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annemariespiz
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear annemariespiz Thank you for your detailed and interesting review about your experience at Hotel Astoria. We are happy to hear that you appreciated our service. It is our everyday passion to give guests a great time; starting at the entrance and finishing with a positive and memorable experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again! Best regards,...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Located in the new town side of Lucerne, within walking distance from the Central Train Station (Luzern Hauptbahnhof). The hotel is modern and convenient. Housed in three buildings that are connected at the reception level, be sure to request for rooms in the new wing as these would have Nespresso machines with complimentary capsules. The belle epoque penthouse bar is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elle T
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear Elle T Thank you for your wonderful feedback here on TripAdvisor and your stay at Hotel Astoria. We are very happy that you appreciated our delivered service as a whole. It is our everyday passion to give guests a great time; starting at the entrance and finishing as a positive and memorable experience. Once again we thank you for...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2017

The hotel is rather modern and in a great location that is walking distance to most of the city centre areas. There was no bathroom door and this was a big problem for 3 people sharing a room and was not thought through very well. The room was also very hot and there was little you could do about it....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicholas P
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear Nicholas P We would like to thank you for your stay at our Hotel Astoria in Lucerne and your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our central location. Even more we regret that the room has not permitted you. The intention of the star architects Herzog & de Meuron was to enlarge the room and create a special...

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely location. Within walking distance to attractions including the covered bridge and shopping. Close to public transit. Negatives are the rooms. Hotel is modern design rooms are small and there are no doors on the bathrooms. Completely unsuitable for families with children.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RNworkstotravel
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear RNworkstotravel We would like to thank you for your stay at our Hotel Astoria in Lucerne and your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our central location. Even more we regret that the room has not permitted you. The intention of the star architects Herzog & de Meuron was to enlarge the room and create a special sense...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We were part of a tour group and the dinner was "restricted" to a one single option: pork. Can you believe it? No vegetarian or even fish, what about pasta? Nope. It was pork or else. Rough service. Were we considered part of an underclass? Very disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M G
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear M G We would like to thank you for your stay at our Hotel Astoria in Lucerne and your feedback. First of all, we apologize for disappointing you during your stay. We offer our tour guest one menu and the tour guide inform us about vegetarians or allergic people so that we can prepare an alternative menu to avoid...

Hinckley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Staff at the hotel were very nice indeed - on welcoming us and on checkout and as we complained, the people were very professional and sincere. A very strong point for the hotel. We had a complaint, to be discussed later, and it was dealt with impeccably and that warrants making clear up front. On the plus side, the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete J
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear Pete J We would like to thank you for your stay at our Hotel Astoria in Lucerne and your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our central location. Even more we regret that the room location has not permitted you. It is a big challenge for us to balance the needs of our lodging guests with the requests...

236 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 km away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.1 km away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#13 of 69 in Lucerne
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 69 in Lucerne
836 reviews
0.3 km away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#9 of 69 in Lucerne
479 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Restaurant La Cucina
Restaurant La Cucina
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, European
Mekong Restaurant & Bar
Mekong Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
No photo provided
Latino Restaurant
Cuisines: Swiss, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Astoria offers everything expected of a modern conferencing hotel. Featuring light, bright and tastefully designed rooms, this architectural masterpiece in the heart of Lucerne is one of Switzerland’s most attractive urban hotels.RestaurantsWe own the most exciting restaurants in Lucerne. Thai, Italian or Asian Food at a superbly high standard as acknowledged by the Gault Millau restaurant guide. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Pilatusstrasse 29, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Price Range: ₹ 11,082 - ₹ 24,655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Lucerne
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Astoria staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Astoria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for rooms in the new wing”
 of 5 bubbles Gaires2359, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay below the 6th floor on weekends or noise from the Penthouse Club will disturb your sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles ShowMeVegas, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A little noise on the street side with your window open”
 of 5 bubbles 619jima, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Corner suite was large and overlooked the street.”
 of 5 bubbles rhondac656, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“This is not the place if you value privacy or atmosphere.”
 of 5 bubbles MKSSA, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5