We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ostello San Frediano

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ostello San Frediano
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 56: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Hostel: Room freezing cold, broken toilet flush, cheap towels and this was in their "luxury" room. Restaurant: Decent food, but one of the worst service I've seen in a long time. The waitress of the restaurant in particular, is extremely rude and inefficient. STAY AWAY!

Helpful?
Thank Yakag
ostellolucca, Responsabile reception at Ostello San Frediano, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we thank you for your review, but we'd like to point out that the in room we aren't able for law to open the heating in this period of the year and then we provide xtra blankets and elctronical heaters if necessary, the flush in bathroom works good but sometimes you have to wait a little bit for... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing stay here and I wish we had stayed longer. Although the hostel is situated on a quieter road nothing is far away in Lucca. The shops and restaurants were all very close by. The staff were so friendly and spoke an amazing array of languages all to a very high standard. The rooms were nice and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessicarg9
Nttingham
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Great old building with loads of character. An old converted monastery, with exceptionally high ceilings. Massive mirrors on the staircases also. They have a lift so you don't have to drag your bags up stairs. Ok, it's a hostel so rooms are basic. We had a double with an en-suite, but it was clean and suited us for an overnight... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mareofessex
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The room we stayed in was spacious with views over the hostel gardens. Staff were friendly and accommodating and let us use the garden table and chairs for a private picnic. When you come out of the monastery/hostel if you turn left walk to the end of the road and then turn right you will arrive at a bike hire... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NDayala
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Initially we were given a room with internal stairs. Whilst a mezzanine sleeping area might have been ok, the stairs were so steep and so numerous it was more suited to mountain goats than humans. Fortunately we were given another room all on one level. July is HOT and the hostel does not have Airconditioning. I wouldn't recommend staying anywhere... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane P
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2016

The luxury double was like something from Architectural Digest. Separate in-suite bathroom and WC, French doors opening onto the garden; in the courtyard next to our room, they were rehabilitating an injured hawk, for an extra medieval ambience!

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

The positives: This is a converted convent so it's absolutely huge - there must be literally hundreds of rooms in here. The breakfast has a pretty good selection for an Italian hostel/hotel/B&B (more than the usual dessert pastry and thimble-full of coffee that most places disappoint with) so that was pleasing. The radiators always came on at night so it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cat 🐱
ostellolucca, Responsabile reception at Ostello San Frediano, responded to this review

Dear Guest, with reference to your review, we'd like to point out soome important things: - the hostel has only 29 rooms, not hundreds - the hostel is the centre, not only neat; we are inside the walls of Lucca, on a parallel street of the main street in town - the price of the dorm is the same since... More 

Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2016

This is my second review of the Ostello San Frediano. I felt a new review was warranted since they have changed hands since my first, and there have been a lot of changes. This hostel is in an old convent adjacent to the Basilica, and the new owners/managers have been striving to make it even better that it was before... More 

Helpful?
Thank schafferde
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2016

The staff at the Ostello are always extremely accommodating to us, especially Marco, which is why we come back here every summer. The rooms are basic, no frills, with a private bathroom. We prefer the rooms that are on one level, some you have to walk up stairs to get to two of the beds and the bathroom. The garden... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stefanie N
São Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

This is the best hostel I've ever stayed. Staff very kind, a really beautiful place, it is an old convent with big areas, big and comfortable rooms, everything very clean. Great localization. Perfect, it surprised me, I wasn't expecting such a good place.

Helpful?
1 Thank talitamf

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 54 in Lucca
975 reviews
0.3 km away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
1.0 km away
Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.7 km away
Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast
1.0 km away
B&B Cento Passi dalle Mura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are in the historical center of Lucca, in an old restored building, close to the main attractives of the town, with a wide garden that looks upon the beautiful city walls.We have several kinds of accomodation: double rooms, family rooms for 4 or 6 persons, shared rooms with 6 or 8 beds, most of them with private bathroom; moreover we have toilets and showers on each floor. Besides the comfort that you can find in the spacious bedrooms, we have also TV room, library, dining room, meeting areas, internet point. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ostello San Frediano

Address: Via della Cavallerizza 12, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Ostello San Frediano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostello San Frediano Hotel Lucca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ostello San Frediano staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ostello San Frediano staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wifi only available in the common seating areas not in the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles NDayala, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I think the wifi was working mainly in the lobby area, as with most hostels we used.”
 of 5 bubbles rebeccad666, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“Family rooms are available”
 of 5 bubbles schafferde, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“We were on the first floor facing the garden. You don't look out the window much with the blinds closed to stop the sun heating up the room”
 of 5 bubbles hazelc979, 16 Oct 2015 | Read review
“try and get a family room - slightly more spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles pops1940, 29 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay