We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 351: English reviews
Ventura, United States
Reviewed 11 November 2016

The hotel and staff are very nice. The "free parking" however is not what we expected. We booked 5 nights but when checking in we were advised that parking was actually at a different location and we would have to give a 45 minute lead time when requesting our car be brought to the hotel. The earliest we could get...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stephen A
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are happy you loved our Hotel and staff and we want explain you about parking. We are in the historical centre of the city, in front of the sea, for this reason it's not always very easy to find a free parking and sometimes our service of Car Valet needs more time to come back. However we...

Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

The good: location and the breakfast The bad: building is old, not well kept. Cleaning is mediocre. Bad toiletries. Bad bed, flat pillows. Not really helpfull staff. The worst: OMG the noise!!... is unbearable!!.. my room had a "balcony" (with a view to the back of a building) so it made the noise worst!! Mine was the only room with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adri V
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosed and stayed at the Hotel Des Etrangers and for appreciated the location and the breakfast service and selection. I'd like to give you some explanations about your comment: our Hotel is located in the historic centre, near the famous Piazza Duomo and as you can see here there is the most high concentration of...

Utah
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We stayed in room #314, which has two balconies, the view from both is an amazing sea view, but unfortunately you can’t sit on either due to the size. This hotel is very quaint and has an old world charm with antique furniture, old-fashion bathroom fixtures (they work great and are probably new) and turn down service. We stayed two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SFlaHales
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to provide us with such valuable and positive feedback about your stay at Des Étrangers Hotel & SPA. We are pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your experience and appreciated the location and the view from your balcony room and the breakfast room with...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I must admit we chose to pay a bit more and have the "room with a view" - ah, what a great decision! This city is a real gem and in order to enjoy the whole "package" you must stay here. It is located behind the fountain of Arethusa (check your Ovid) and the view over the sea is wonderful!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zvoomb
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others travellers at our Hotel that you compared at “a place to be happy”. I am so pleased you had a beyond exceptional stay with us, it is wonderful to receive such positive feedback from our guests regarding the level of service and attention to detail...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We made a non-refundable reservation at this hotel and immediately realized that we were not actually going to stay in Syracusa. We called immediately and asked to cancel; they said that they would not refund the money. We understood and asked if that money could be used for a stay in their hotel in Taormina (owned by the same group)....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ross42523
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, tha kind of reservation is not refundable and for that reason it's no possbile to change, anyway we gave you the possibility to change dates that you refused. We inform and we remind you San Domenico Hotel in Taormina doesn't belong to our group now. Cordially Francesco Caselli Hotel Manager Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Wonderful old palazzo hotel, oval stair case, restaurant on the roof terrace, beautiful view of the whole port and old city of Ortigia, sea view, beautiful design, very nice and courteous services, beaches close by the hotel

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cathmanc144
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We sincerely thank you for your confidence in our Hotel and for this review posted on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you appreciate the style and design of our Hotel and the rooftop restaurant overlooking the Gulf of Siracusa. I hope you also had a chance to try our good Sicilian cuisine with typical local dishes...

Reviewed 27 October 2016

(+) Excellent location, right in the center but quiet. We loved the charming and elegant old fashioned staircase. The room was nice and clean. We enjoyed tasty breakfast with a special Sicilian section of local foods. (-) For swimming pool you need to have a swimming cap. This was nowhere to be found online when booking, so slightly weird (I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hanna Z
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Madam Hanna, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Des Étrangers Hotel & Spa. I would like to thank you for the kind words concerning the position of the Hotel, the cleanliness and beauty of the room and I'm very glad you tried our Sicilian products included in the breakfast....

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our 3 day stay very much in this historic hotel at a very nice place in acient Syracuse. Even if some refreshment would be indicated, we can recommend it without hesitation. The hotel is ideally placed to explore the town and sea view with the snall park on front is phantastic. The breakfast is excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mr Peten, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your vacation in Syracuse and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I am very grateful that you have appreciated the Hotel location perfect to explore the old town of Ortigia by walking and the excellent breakfast. Thank you again for giving us a generous 5 stars and I...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

I had the opportunity to book a lastminute room in this hotel and take advantage of a 50% discount on the normal rates. Arriving on Monday also allow us to be upgraded to a room with sea view on the 4th floor. With the conditions above this hotel should be rated 5 stars regardless the points reported in the other...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Scodeggio_official
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The hotel overall is in need of a facelift but some things cannot be changed like one lift to service too many floors. The location is excellent and the staff were generally very pleasant and helpful. We had to move room due to the excessive noise from live bands playing in the street outside. The system of parking your car...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank barrys693
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you sincerely for having stayed at the Des Ètrangers Hotel & SPA and for taking the time to let us know your opinion on our services. We are pleased that you spent your stay in Syracuse with us, enjoying the excellent position of the Hotel, the breakfast buffet and the breakfast room with sea view and...

917 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (524)
Viewed
Room/Suite (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (101)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (222)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (364)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Double Classic Room (44)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (47)
Viewed
Junior Suite (63)
Viewed
Dining (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#14 of 72 in Syracuse
563 reviews
0.6 km away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
2.8 km away
UNA Hotel One
UNA Hotel One
#12 of 72 in Syracuse
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
0.2 km away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#15 of 72 in Syracuse
407 reviews
0.3 km away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 72 in Syracuse
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The magnificent neoclassical facade of the Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa dominates the harbour of Siracusa in Sicily, from its position on the island of Ortigia. This five-star historical hotel has the elegance and style typical of the grand European hotels and features refined balconies overlooking the sea. Step in style into the grand entrance hall and admire the precious marble floors, the stucco works and gold decor of the walls and high ceilings. This luxury hotel offers world class services in a unique environment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa

Address: Passaggio Adorno 10/12 | Passeggio Adorno 10/12, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Price Range: ₹ 4,880 - ₹ 14,708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Etrangers Hotel Syracuse
Des Etrangers Hotel And Spa
Des Etrangers Et Miramare Hotel
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#19 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#20 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Camarillo, California
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Chinnor, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“sea view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Travelspy2, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best rooms are above entrance in the main building”
 of 5 bubbles biztraveller22, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Road sweeper starts at 0730 at the front of the hotel.......very very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles raphaelc390, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a Sea View if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles taffysdelight, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you have a sea view terrace”
 of 5 bubbles 754bobk, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5