We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo

CancelonUS$ 86*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 86*
Great Deal
US$ 88*
US$ 88*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

825 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 266: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
 Click to rate
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The first thing that hits you on arrival is the smell, stale air mixed with bleach! The room smelled bad too, like a school changing room with poor drains. The room was so plain and bare it was like being in a hospital cell, and the single bed was very single... breakfast was poor too. What a shame.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice C
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review

Dear Alice C, we read your review and we are wondering if it was placed under the right name of the Hotel or maybe another Hotel with the same name but in another city (the name Hotel Mediterraneo is very common in many Cities). The reason why we wonder this is because you mention that you could smell bleach which...

Inverness, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 18 December 2016

We enjoyed it here and returned,We had a very similar room but on a higher floor, this time. The bedroom was very quiet. There is a gym but we always do so much walking from the station to the hotel and around Catania we are aways too tired to use it. The room is big, with a sofa, fridge and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 223marianneg
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review

Thank you 223marianneg for your second visit and your very positive and detailed review. You highlighted many different details, including the availability of Sky Gold in all our rooms with a lot of free channels and movies also in Original Language. We are sorry we forgot to offer the welcome cocktail on the first day, but glad you had it...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location with good prize.Very pleasent staff.Near the center of Catania.The room are very clean and comfortable.Breakfest is exellent.If you need some information about Sicily ,you'll get them on reception from kind recepcionist.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dalibor S
rome, italy
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is not excellent (about 20 minutes walk fron the duomo) but not bad either. The hotel is ugly outside but the rooms are good, with all conforts. Service is good, depending on who's at the desk: there is a guy with a beard who is really rude and unprofessional and a lady who is exactly the opposite (kind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank depinniped
UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I travelled on my own to Catania and stayed at the Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was very spacious with a very large double bed, a balcony and en-suite bathroom. Breakfast was only continental but there was plenty of it, tea, coffee, juices, breads,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malleycats
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is well situated, in a quiet location and just a short walk from the old city centre. Staff were always extremely pleasant and we really enjoyed Antonella's smile and friendly nature at check-in and every subsequent time we had a question at the reception area. It's always the people that make the difference and the staff here made our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice0333
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

We sent 7 nights in BW mediterraneo and what I could say is just how amazing the Hotel is! High standard of customer service! The hotel has excellent location. Close to the Via Etna and the main square. The room was clean and nice. Had a great overlooking for the Mountain. I can just recommend this hotel. They made us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kitti E
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Very friendly good location. Wifi and sky TV in rooms. Clean and nice breakfast. Friendly helpful staff great place to explore Etna and other places of interest. Trips can be booked by reception. Well worth a stay if in the area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Negative: 1. the pasta al pesto ordered in the hotel was a-tro-cious!! It was rubbery, some bits were uncooked and I was told that it was like that since it had been deep-frozen (cooked pasta out of the deep-freeze and the microwaved, in Italy??) 2. I couldn't work the thermostat and set it to low. 3. There is a constant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank l-a d
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review

Dear l-a d, thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. First of all we have to apologize because, reading your words, we understand that there was a problem in communication on our side. You were not told that we do not have an internal Restaurant with a kitchen, therefore what we serve in our Snack-Bar is only salads (that...

Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in January for to attend a conference..The hotel has a very convenient location. It is a 10 minute walk to Via Etnea which is the center of the City and the signs on the way to hotel makes it very easy to find the hotel by walking.. Rooms are small but convenient and clean..Good breakfast..and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ebru A

287 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (147)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Room (34)
Viewed
Superior Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#6 of 50 in Catania
523 reviews
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
1,630 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
174 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
755 reviews
Centro Catania
Katane Palace Hotel
Katane Palace Hotel
#12 of 50 in Catania
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo is located in the centre of Catania, only few minutes far from artistical and cultural interest places of Catania, easily reachable from the railway station, the motorway and the airport. In addition to its central location, Hotel Mediterranean is particularly appreciated for the quality of services dedicated to the specific needs of the guests explained well , for example, with the pillow menu, the fitness room and the buffet with gluten-free products.The soul of BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo fully reflects the warmth and vitality of Catania.63 spacious and comfortable rooms, some with balconies and equipped for disabled guests with mobility difficulties, are avaliable into different types: single, double, twin and triple rooms without forgetting the business room dedicated to business traveler.BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, hotel in the centre of Catania, has a fitness room with its high quality services, free wi-fi, pillow menu, Sky (included cinema and football - original language avaliable) and custumised services for all travelers.You can take advantage of a private garage with 8 parking spaces (fee required) to book in advance. The hotel has a breakfast room and a welcome bar, furnished with warm tones that reflect the style of the hotel, where you can enjoy a wide variety of high quality and fresh products. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Via Dottor Consoli 27, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Price Range: ₹ 4,439 - ₹ 10,115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mediterraneo
Best Western Catania
Catania Best Western
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo Catania, Sicily
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Catania
#7 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#8 Business Hotel in Catania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room facing the back area & it was very quiet (aside from the neighbouring room one night) - which was perfect for a light sleeper”
Janice0333, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“wheelchair users can get a very spacious bed- and bathroom”
  • next to the toilet: railing and shower is in the corner; no steps anywhere.
626lad, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“corner suits are large and sunny”
Scorpion2014, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My room was at the back of the hotel so it was less noisy.”
MaltaSylvana, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our lovely room was at the back, with a balcony.”
223marianneg, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$ 86* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 88
Orbitz.comUS$ 88
AMOMAUS$ 152
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates